Last reviewed: September 16, 2026 Last updated: September 16, 2026

Written by: Jay Hastings, CEO of PlexusDx

Jay Hastings is the CEO of PlexusDx, a precision health company focused on genetic testing, blood biomarker insights, and personalized wellness recommendations. He has more than 20 years of experience across healthcare innovation, genomics, laboratory operations, healthcare investing, and strategic finance. His work has included scaling healthcare startups, leading CLIA lab integrations, and helping expand consumer access to precision health tools.

Medically reviewed by: Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA

Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA, is the PlexusDx Medical Science Liaison with a PharmD and MBA specializing in pharmacogenomics and clinical product development, with a proven ability to bridge the gap between genomic research and practical patient outcomes. Dr. Lee has more than 10 years of professional experience in clinical pharmacy, academia, and research.

PlexusDx publishes this comparison and is one of the providers discussed. We use the same evidence rules for our own program and competing programs.

The short answer

BrightMeds' 3-month prepaid option costs less than its month-to-month plan for both semaglutide and tirzepatide—$360 less per year for each medication. Semaglutide runs $99 per month prepaid (our calculation: $297 upfront every three months) versus $129 month-to-month; tirzepatide runs $119 prepaid ($357 upfront) versus $149 month-to-month. Both figures were captured September 4, 2026, from brightmeds.com and labeled as a state-limited summer promotion. The prepaid discount is 23% for semaglutide and 20% for tirzepatide, but you pay the full quarter upfront each cycle. Both BrightMeds options cost less than PlexusDx for the same medications, and both include the provider visit, medication, follow-up, adjustments, and shipping with no membership or additional fees.

Exploring prepaid vs. flexible billing for GLP-1 treatment?

See all PlexusDx GLP-1 options, month-to-month and multi-month pricing included.

Compare PlexusDx Plans →

At a glance: BrightMeds monthly vs. prepaid

Feature Month-to-Month 3-Month Prepaid
Semaglutide $129/month $99/month equivalent ($297 upfront, prepaid)
Tirzepatide $149/month $119/month equivalent ($357 upfront, prepaid)
Included Provider visit, medication, follow-up, adjustments, shipping Provider visit, medication, follow-up, adjustments, shipping
Membership fee $0 $0
Upfront commitment None $297 (sema) or $357 (tirz) every 3 months
Promotional status Standard rate State-limited summer promotion (captured Sept 4, 2026)

All pricing captured September 4, 2026, from brightmeds.com. BrightMeds' prepaid figures are labeled as a summer promotion and state-limited; confirm availability at checkout.

Normalized 12-month cost comparison

To see the real difference, we calculate the total annual cost for each medication under each plan structure. All figures below are our calculations based on the per-month and per-quarter rates captured September 4, 2026.

BrightMeds semaglutide

  • Month-to-month: $129/month × 12 = $1,548 per year
  • 3-month prepaid: $297 upfront × 4 cycles = $1,188 per year (effective $99/month, prepaid)
  • Savings: $360 per year (23% discount)

BrightMeds tirzepatide

  • Month-to-month: $149/month × 12 = $1,788 per year
  • 3-month prepaid: $357 upfront × 4 cycles = $1,428 per year (effective $119/month, prepaid)
  • Savings: $360 per year (20% discount)

PlexusDx semaglutide injection (like-for-like comparison)

  • Month-to-month: $189/month × 12 = $2,268 per year
  • 3-month commitment: $169/month × 12 = $2,028 per year
  • Savings: $240 per year (11% discount)

PlexusDx tirzepatide injection (like-for-like comparison)

  • Month-to-month: $289/month × 12 = $3,468 per year
  • 3-month commitment: $269/month × 12 = $3,228 per year
  • Savings: $240 per year (7% discount)

BrightMeds' advertised rates—both month-to-month and prepaid—are lower than PlexusDx for both medications. The prepaid option delivers the steepest discount within BrightMeds' own pricing structure, but it requires paying the full quarter upfront every three months.

See if you qualify for PlexusDx GLP-1 treatment

A licensed provider reviews your intake and determines whether a prescription is appropriate for you.

Start My 60-Second Intake →

About 60 seconds · $0 charged until provider approval.

What the prepaid discount buys—and what it costs

BrightMeds' 3-month prepaid plan saves $360 per year on either medication compared to its month-to-month rate. That discount is larger in percentage terms than PlexusDx offers for a 3-month commitment (23% vs. 11% for semaglutide; 20% vs. 7% for tirzepatide). The trade-off is liquidity: every three months you pay the full quarter upfront—$297 for semaglutide, $357 for tirzepatide. If you need to pause or switch medications mid-quarter, the evidence does not document a refund or proration policy; confirm cancellation and pause terms at signup.

The month-to-month option eliminates that upfront commitment but costs $30 more per month for each medication. Over a year, that flexibility carries a $360 price tag for each compound.

Evidence limitations and promotional caveats

BrightMeds labeled both the prepaid and month-to-month rates as a "state-limited summer promotion" captured September 4, 2026. The evidence does not specify which states are included, how long the promotion runs, or what pricing applies after the campaign ends. Confirm availability and any post-promotion rate changes at checkout. If you are considering a long-term commitment, ask BrightMeds in writing whether the prepaid rate is locked for future quarters or subject to change.

Service quality and review record

BrightMeds holds a 4.8-star rating on Trustpilot with more than 900 reviews, captured September 4, 2026. No negative themes were captured in this research pass. PlexusDx holds a 4.3-star rating on Trustpilot, with 79% of reviews at five stars and 83% at four stars or higher, captured September 9, 2026 from trustpilot.com/review/plexusdx.com. Both programs include the provider visit, medication, follow-up, and shipping in the advertised price with no separate membership fee.

Choose BrightMeds month-to-month if…

  • You want the lowest per-month rate available without prepaying a quarter at a time.
  • You are uncertain about tolerance, dose adjustments, or how long you will continue treatment.
  • You prefer the flexibility to pause or cancel without forfeiting prepaid funds.
  • You are in a state where BrightMeds' summer promotion is available and want to lock in the $129 semaglutide or $149 tirzepatide rate.

Choose BrightMeds 3-month prepaid if…

  • You are confident in your medication choice and plan to continue for at least a full quarter.
  • You can afford to pay $297 or $357 upfront every three months.
  • Saving $360 per year justifies the reduced billing flexibility.
  • You are in a state where the promotion is available and BrightMeds confirms the prepaid rate is locked for subsequent quarters.

Where PlexusDx fits

PlexusDx charges higher per-month rates than BrightMeds for both semaglutide and tirzepatide under both month-to-month and multi-month structures. If BrightMeds' promotional pricing is unavailable in your state, ends, or increases after the summer campaign, PlexusDx may become cost-competitive. PlexusDx offers 6-month commitment pricing ($149/month for semaglutide injection, $249/month for tirzepatide injection) that was not matched in the BrightMeds evidence. PlexusDx also offers oral semaglutide capsules ($289 month-to-month) and tirzepatide capsules ($349 month-to-month), and a microdose semaglutide injection protocol ($129 month-to-month) for patients who do not require or tolerate standard doses. Every PlexusDx plan includes the provider visit, prescription, compounded medication, and shipping in one price with no membership fee.

Methodology and freshness

All BrightMeds pricing was captured September 4, 2026, from brightmeds.com and labeled as a state-limited summer promotion. PlexusDx pricing is current as of September 16, 2026. The 12-month cost calculations, effective per-month figures for prepaid plans, percentage discounts, and annual savings are our calculations derived from the captured per-month and per-quarter rates. Review ratings and volumes were captured from Trustpilot: BrightMeds on September 4, 2026; PlexusDx on September 9, 2026. We did not independently verify cancellation, refund, proration, or rate-lock policies for BrightMeds' prepaid plan; confirm those terms at signup.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does BrightMeds charge a membership fee on top of the medication price?

No. Both the month-to-month and 3-month prepaid plans include the provider visit, medication, follow-up, adjustments, and shipping in the advertised price with no separate membership, lab, or prescribing fee, according to evidence captured September 4, 2026.

How much do I save per year by choosing BrightMeds' prepaid option over month-to-month?

You save $360 per year for either semaglutide or tirzepatide by paying quarterly upfront. That is a 23% discount for semaglutide and 20% for tirzepatide, calculated over 12 months. The savings require paying $297 or $357 upfront every three months.

Is BrightMeds' prepaid rate locked in for future quarters, or can it increase?

The evidence does not document whether the prepaid rate is guaranteed for subsequent quarters or whether BrightMeds can adjust pricing after the summer promotion ends. Ask BrightMeds in writing to confirm rate-lock terms before committing to the prepaid plan.

What happens if I need to pause or cancel mid-quarter on the prepaid plan?

The evidence captured does not describe refund, proration, or pause policies for the 3-month prepaid option. Confirm cancellation and pause terms at signup to understand whether you forfeit unused prepaid funds if you stop treatment early.

Which states are included in BrightMeds' summer promotion?

BrightMeds labeled the pricing as state-limited but did not specify which states qualify in the evidence captured September 4, 2026. Confirm availability in your state at checkout before committing to either plan.

Sources

  • BrightMeds pricing and plan structure, brightmeds.com, accessed September 4, 2026
  • BrightMeds Trustpilot reviews, trustpilot.com, accessed September 4, 2026
  • PlexusDx pricing and product specifications, plexusdx.com, accessed September 16, 2026
  • PlexusDx Trustpilot reviews, trustpilot.com/review/plexusdx.com, accessed September 9, 2026

Ready to see if PlexusDx GLP-1 treatment is right for you?

One all-inclusive price covers your online provider visit, prescription, medication, and shipping—no membership, no hidden fees. Complete a short intake and a licensed provider reviews your fit.

Start My Intake →

Compounded medication disclosure: Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient. PlexusDx works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies.

Medical and Editorial Standards

Medical review process: This article was reviewed for medical accuracy, scientific clarity, evidence alignment, and appropriate discussion of genetics, medications, supplements, biomarkers, and health-related claims.

Sources and evidence: PlexusDx educational content is developed using peer-reviewed research, clinical literature, reputable medical references, and, where applicable, public health or regulatory guidance. References are included at the end of the article when scientific, medical, or health-related claims are discussed.

Commercial transparency: PlexusDx offers genetic testing, blood biomarker testing, personalized supplement recommendations, and related precision wellness services. Product mentions are intended to help readers understand available options and should not be interpreted as medical advice.

Important disclaimer: PlexusDx educational content is for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before making decisions about medications, supplements, genetic testing, lab testing, or health-related care.

Real prescribers. Published prices. No surprises.

Licensed providers in all 50 states. Online intake. No insurance, no membership required.

Start My Intake

~60 seconds · $0 charged until your provider approves