Last reviewed: September 4, 2026
Last updated: September 4, 2026
Written by: Jay Hastings, CEO of PlexusDx
Jay Hastings is the CEO of PlexusDx, a precision health company focused on genetic testing, blood biomarker insights, and personalized wellness recommendations. He has more than 20 years of experience across healthcare innovation, genomics, laboratory operations, healthcare investing, and strategic finance. His work has included scaling healthcare startups, leading CLIA lab integrations, and helping expand consumer access to precision health tools.
Medically reviewed by: Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA
Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA, is the PlexusDx Medical Science Liaison with a PharmD and MBA specializing in pharmacogenomics and clinical product development, with a proven ability to bridge the gap between genomic research and practical patient outcomes. Dr. Lee has more than 10 years of professional experience in clinical pharmacy, academia, and research.
PlexusDx publishes this comparison and is one of the providers discussed. We use the same evidence rules for our own program and competing programs.
The short answer
PlushCare operates as a prescription-facilitation service: you pay $19.99 per month for platform membership after a 30-day free trial, plus $129 for your initial self-pay visit, then fill branded GLP-1 prescriptions (Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic, Mounjaro, Saxenda) at an external pharmacy. Medication cost and lab work are not included and are billed separately by your pharmacy or lab provider. PlushCare does not publish medication pricing; total monthly cost therefore depends on your pharmacy's cash price or insurance coverage. If you have commercial insurance and pay typical copays for Wegovy or Zepbound, PlushCare's model may deliver savings. If you are paying cash for medication at retail pharmacy prices—often $1,000–$1,400 per month for branded semaglutide or tirzepatide—an all-in compounded program will almost certainly cost less. PlexusDx charges $189 per month for compounded semaglutide or $289 per month for compounded tirzepatide, with provider visit, medication, and shipping included in one price; no membership fee, no separate pharmacy bill, no lab fees.
Do you want one predictable monthly price or a multi-vendor billing model?
Compare PlushCare's membership-plus-pharmacy structure with all-in compounded programs.
See All Weight-Management Options →
At-a-glance comparison
| Item |
PlushCare |
PlexusDx Semaglutide |
PlexusDx Tirzepatide |
| Monthly membership |
$19.99 after 30 days free |
$0 |
$0 |
| Initial visit |
$129 self-pay |
Included |
Included |
| Follow-up visits |
Not documented |
Included |
Included |
| Medication |
External pharmacy; cost not disclosed |
$189/mo (MTM) |
$289/mo (MTM) |
| Labs |
Extra; cost not disclosed |
Included |
Included |
| Shipping |
Pharmacy dependent |
Included |
Included |
| Total monthly cost |
Membership + visits + pharmacy medication + labs |
$189 |
$289 |
PlushCare pricing captured September 4, 2026. PlexusDx prices are month-to-month; 3-month and 6-month prepay options reduce per-month cost.
Breaking down PlushCare's weight-loss costs
Membership: $19.99 per month after 30 days free
PlushCare offers two membership tiers. The monthly plan is free for the first 30 days, then $19.99 per month with no minimum commitment. The annual plan costs $149 prepaid, which works out to $12.42 per month. Both plans can be canceled at any time. Membership grants platform access but does not include provider visits, medication, or lab work.
Initial visit: $129 self-pay
The initial weight-loss consultation is billed separately at $129 for self-pay patients. This visit covers medical history, eligibility assessment, and—if appropriate—a prescription sent to an external pharmacy. PlushCare does not document follow-up visit frequency or cost in public materials; ongoing visit expenses are therefore unknown.
Medication: external pharmacy, cost not disclosed
PlushCare prescribes branded GLP-1 medications: Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic, Mounjaro, and Saxenda. Prescriptions are sent to a pharmacy of your choice, which bills you directly. PlushCare states that "medication price depends on pharmacy and coverage" and does not publish cash pricing or typical copay ranges. Retail cash prices for branded semaglutide (Wegovy, Ozempic) and tirzepatide (Zepbound, Mounjaro) commonly range from $1,000 to $1,400 per month. If you have commercial insurance with GLP-1 coverage, your copay may be substantially lower; if you are paying cash, the pharmacy bill will be the dominant cost in your monthly total.
Labs: extra charge
Laboratory work is listed as an additional expense beyond membership and visit fees. PlushCare does not publish lab pricing or specify which tests are recommended and when.
Calculating your 12-month cost with PlushCare
To estimate total spending over 12 months, you must add membership, the initial visit, medication, and any lab work. Using the monthly membership plan as the example:
-
Membership: Month 1 free, then 11 months × $19.99 = $219.89 over 12 months, or $18.32 average per month (our calculation).
-
Initial visit: $129 one-time charge.
-
Follow-up visits: Frequency and cost not documented; cannot calculate.
-
Medication: Cost depends on your pharmacy and insurance; not disclosed by PlushCare.
-
Labs: Cost not disclosed.
If you assume no follow-up visits and zero medication cost (insurance covers 100%), your 12-month minimum is $348.89 in membership and initial visit fees (our calculation). In practice, medication will be your largest recurring expense. If your pharmacy charges $1,200 per month cash for Wegovy, your 12-month total would be approximately $14,749 (membership + visit + 12 months of medication, our calculation). If your insurance copay is $25 per month, your 12-month total would be approximately $649 (membership + visit + copays, our calculation).
Want a single monthly price with no pharmacy surprises?
A licensed PlexusDx provider will review your intake and determine whether compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide is appropriate for you.
Start My 60-Second Intake →About 60 seconds · $0 charged until provider approval.
Decision factors: when PlushCare's model works and when it does not
PlushCare's structural advantage: branded medication with insurance leverage
PlushCare prescribes FDA-approved branded drugs and assists with prior-authorization paperwork. If your commercial insurance plan covers Wegovy or Zepbound and your copay is modest, PlushCare's low membership fee ($19.99/month) and one-time visit charge ($129) make it a cost-effective prescription-writing service. Branded medications carry the full FDA approval that compounded drugs do not.
PlushCare's cost uncertainty: no published medication pricing
The absence of medication cost transparency makes budgeting difficult. If you are paying cash or if your insurance denies coverage, you will face retail pharmacy pricing—often $1,000 to $1,400 per month—on top of PlushCare's membership and visit fees. PlushCare does not operate its own pharmacy and cannot guarantee any medication price. You learn the total cost only after your prescription reaches the pharmacy.
All-in compounded programs: predictable monthly cost, no pharmacy variable
PlexusDx charges $189 per month for compounded semaglutide injection or $289 per month for compounded tirzepatide injection, with provider visits, medication, labs, and shipping included in one price. There is no membership fee, no separate pharmacy bill, and no prior-authorization process. The trade-off is that compounded medications are not FDA-approved; a licensed clinician determines whether they are appropriate for an individual patient, and the same active pharmaceutical ingredients are used, but the final product does not carry the FDA's full-approval imprimatur that Wegovy or Zepbound does.
Choose PlushCare if…
- Your insurance covers Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic, or Mounjaro with a low copay, and you need a clinician to prescribe and manage prior authorization.
- You strongly prefer FDA-approved branded medication over compounded alternatives.
- You are comfortable with a multi-vendor billing model (membership to PlushCare, medication to your pharmacy, labs to a separate lab provider).
- You have an existing pharmacy relationship or prefer to use your local pharmacy for fills and have the flexibility to shop for the best cash price if insurance does not cover the medication.
Choose PlexusDx if…
- You want one all-inclusive monthly price with no separate membership, visit, pharmacy, or lab charges.
- You are paying cash for GLP-1 medication and need a cost-predictable alternative to $1,000+ monthly retail pricing.
- You want compounded semaglutide starting at $189/month or compounded tirzepatide starting at $289/month, with visits, labs, and shipping included.
- You value budget certainty: the price you see at enrollment is the price you pay each month, with no pharmacy bill variability.
Methodology and freshness
PlushCare pricing, plan structure, and service inclusions were captured from public website materials on September 4, 2026. The $19.99 monthly membership rate, 30-day free trial, $149 annual membership option, and $129 self-pay initial visit fee were verified through the company's published service-pricing pages and intake-verification passes. Medication and lab costs are explicitly listed as extra charges on PlushCare's website; no specific pricing for drugs or lab work is published. The statement that medication price depends on pharmacy and insurance coverage is quoted directly from PlushCare's help materials. Retail cash-price ranges for branded semaglutide and tirzepatide ($1,000–$1,400 per month) are general market observations, not PlushCare-specific data. All 12-month membership cost calculations, including the $18.32 average monthly cost over 12 months for the monthly plan and the $12.42 monthly rate for the annual plan, are our calculations. PlexusDx pricing is current as of September 4, 2026, and reflects standard month-to-month rates; 3-month and 6-month prepay options are available at lower per-month rates on the PlexusDx website.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does PlushCare's membership fee include my weight-loss medication?
No. PlushCare's $19.99 monthly membership (after 30 days free) grants platform access but does not cover medication, provider visits, or lab work. You pay $129 for the initial visit, then fill prescriptions at an external pharmacy, which bills you separately. Total medication cost depends on your pharmacy's pricing and your insurance coverage.
How much does Wegovy or Zepbound cost through PlushCare?
PlushCare does not publish medication pricing because prescriptions are filled at external pharmacies. Retail cash prices for Wegovy and Zepbound typically range from $1,000 to $1,400 per month. If you have commercial insurance that covers GLP-1s for weight loss, your copay may be significantly lower; confirm coverage and copay details with your insurer and pharmacy before your visit.
What is the total monthly cost with PlushCare if I am paying cash for medication?
Using the monthly membership plan, you would pay $19.99 per month for membership (free the first month), plus pharmacy charges for your medication (commonly $1,000–$1,400/month for branded semaglutide or tirzepatide), plus any lab work your provider orders. The initial visit is $129. Follow-up visit frequency and cost are not documented in PlushCare's public materials, so ongoing visit expenses are unknown.
Does PlushCare offer compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide?
No. PlushCare prescribes only FDA-approved branded medications: Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic, Mounjaro, and Saxenda. If you are looking for lower-cost compounded GLP-1 medication with an all-in monthly price, you will need a provider like PlexusDx that works with compounding pharmacies. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved, and a licensed clinician must determine appropriateness for each patient.
Can I cancel my PlushCare membership at any time?
Yes. Both the monthly and annual membership plans can be canceled at any time with no minimum commitment. If you prepaid the $149 annual membership, confirm PlushCare's refund policy for unused months before canceling. Membership fees are separate from visit and medication costs, so canceling your membership does not affect prescriptions already written or filled.
Sources
- PlushCare company profile, business model, and branded medication list – captured September 4, 2026
- PlushCare membership pricing (monthly and annual plans, 30-day free trial) – captured September 4, 2026
- PlushCare self-pay initial visit fee and service inclusions – captured September 4, 2026
- PlushCare intake verification pass (no payment submitted, no protected data transmitted) – captured September 4, 2026
- PlushCare Trustpilot profile existence confirmed (rating/volume not captured in this research pass) – accessed September 4, 2026
Ready for one transparent monthly price?
One all-inclusive price covers your online provider visit, prescription, medication, and shipping—no membership, no hidden fees. Complete a short intake and a licensed provider reviews your fit.
Start My Intake →
Compounded medication disclosure: Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient. PlexusDx works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies.
Medical and Editorial Standards
Medical review process: This article was reviewed for medical accuracy, scientific clarity, evidence alignment, and appropriate discussion of genetics, medications, supplements, biomarkers, and health-related claims.
Sources and evidence: PlexusDx educational content is developed using peer-reviewed research, clinical literature, reputable medical references, and, where applicable, public health or regulatory guidance. References are included at the end of the article when scientific, medical, or health-related claims are discussed.
Commercial transparency: PlexusDx offers genetic testing, blood biomarker testing, personalized supplement recommendations, and related precision wellness services. Product mentions are intended to help readers understand available options and should not be interpreted as medical advice.
Important disclaimer: PlexusDx educational content is for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before making decisions about medications, supplements, genetic testing, lab testing, or health-related care.
Share:
Found GLP-1 Costs Explained: Insurance Track, Cash Plans and Prepaymen
Zealthy Semaglutide Cost: What "$151 per Month" Really Requires