Last reviewed: September 16, 2026 Last updated: September 16, 2026

Written by: Jay Hastings, CEO of PlexusDx

Jay Hastings is the CEO of PlexusDx, a precision health company focused on genetic testing, blood biomarker insights, and personalized wellness recommendations. He has more than 20 years of experience across healthcare innovation, genomics, laboratory operations, healthcare investing, and strategic finance. His work has included scaling healthcare startups, leading CLIA lab integrations, and helping expand consumer access to precision health tools.

Medically reviewed by: Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA

Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA, is the PlexusDx Medical Science Liaison with a PharmD and MBA specializing in pharmacogenomics and clinical product development, with a proven ability to bridge the gap between genomic research and practical patient outcomes. Dr. Lee has more than 10 years of professional experience in clinical pharmacy, academia, and research.

PlexusDx publishes this comparison and is one of the providers discussed. We use the same evidence rules for our own program and competing programs.

The short answer

PlushCare operates a membership-plus-fee model: a 30-day free trial, then $19.99 per month for platform access, with an annual option at $149 upfront ($12.42 per month prepaid equivalent). The membership does not include visits, medications, or labs—those cost extra. Self-pay initial visits are $129, and medication prices depend on the external pharmacy you use and your insurance coverage. Over 12 months, membership alone averages $18.32 per month after the free trial ($219.89 total), but you will pay separately every time you need a visit or refill. PlushCare prescribes brand-name drugs (Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic, Mounjaro, Saxenda) through retail pharmacies, not compounding pharmacies, so final medication costs are unpredictable at the point you sign up. PlexusDx charges no membership fee; semaglutide injection is $189 per month month-to-month (medication, provider review, and shipping included), and tirzepatide injection is $289 per month month-to-month—one price for everything at every dose.

Want one all-in price instead of membership plus separate visit and medication fees?

Compare PlexusDx's transparent pricing—medication, provider visit, and shipping bundled—against fee-stacked models.

See All Weight Management Options →

At a glance: PlushCare membership vs. PlexusDx all-in pricing

Item PlushCare PlexusDx
Membership fee 30-day free trial, then $19.99/month or $149/year $0
Initial visit $129 (self-pay) Included
Medication (semaglutide) Variable (external pharmacy; brand-name only) $189/month MTM (compounded; injection)
Medication (tirzepatide) Variable (external pharmacy; brand-name only) $289/month MTM (compounded; injection)
Labs Extra Not required; optional at patient request
Shipping Pharmacy-dependent Included
Price changes with dose Yes (pharmacy pricing) No (same price every dose)

PlushCare figures captured September 4, 2026 from plushcare.com/membership and plushcare.com/weight-loss. PlexusDx pricing current as of September 16, 2026.

PlushCare membership structure: trial, monthly, and annual

PlushCare offers a 30-day free trial of its membership. After the trial, the membership costs $19.99 per month on a rolling basis, or $149 per year paid upfront. The annual plan is $12.42 per month as a prepaid equivalent (our calculation). You may cancel anytime; PlushCare advertises no minimum commitment.

Over 12 months beginning with the free trial, the monthly membership totals $219.89 (11 months at $19.99 after the free first month), averaging $18.32 per month (our calculation). The annual membership locks in $149 for year one.

What the membership fee covers—and what it does not

The membership fee grants you access to PlushCare's telehealth platform. It does not include:

  • Visits: A self-pay initial consultation costs $129. Follow-up visit fees are not specified on PlushCare's pricing pages; you should confirm at booking whether refills or dose adjustments trigger additional visit charges.
  • Medications: PlushCare prescribes to external retail pharmacies. The cost of your prescription depends on the drug (Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic, Mounjaro, or Saxenda), your insurance coverage, and the pharmacy's pricing. PlushCare does not operate or send prescriptions to a compounding pharmacy, so you will pay brand-name or retail generic rates.
  • Labs: If labs are required or recommended, those are billed separately.

In short, the membership is a platform-access fee, not an all-inclusive price.

Normalized 12-month cost scenarios

Scenario A: PlushCare membership-only cost (monthly plan, first year)

  • Month 1: $0 (free trial)
  • Months 2–12: $19.99 × 11 = $219.89
  • Total membership cost: $219.89
  • Average per month: $18.32 (our calculation)

Scenario B: PlushCare membership-only cost (annual plan, first year)

  • $149 paid upfront = $12.42 per month prepaid equivalent (our calculation)

Scenario C: PlushCare membership + visits + medication (illustrative, semaglutide)

  • Membership (monthly): $219.89 year one
  • Initial visit: $129
  • Medication: Variable. Wegovy's list price typically exceeds $1,300 per month without insurance; with commercial insurance or manufacturer savings cards, out-of-pocket cost may range from $25 to several hundred dollars per month depending on plan design. Assuming a hypothetical $50 per month after insurance/copay assistance: $50 × 12 = $600.
  • Follow-up visits: Not specified; assume at least one additional visit at $129 over 12 months.
  • Illustrative total: $219.89 + $129 + $600 + $129 = $1,077.89 minimum (our calculation; actual medication costs will vary widely).

This scenario assumes best-case insurance coverage and no complications. Patients paying cash for brand-name GLP-1s without assistance may face costs exceeding $15,000 per year for medication alone.

Scenario D: PlexusDx semaglutide injection, month-to-month, 12 months

  • $189 per month × 12 = $2,268 (our calculation)
  • Includes compounded semaglutide, provider review, shipping, and all follow-up consultations. No membership fee, no separate visit charges, same price at every dose.

Scenario E: PlexusDx tirzepatide injection, month-to-month, 12 months

  • $289 per month × 12 = $3,468 (our calculation)
  • Same all-inclusive model.

PlexusDx also offers 3-month and 6-month prepaid commitment tiers at lower per-month rates: semaglutide drops to $169/month (3-month) or $149/month (6-month); tirzepatide drops to $269/month (3-month) or $249/month (6-month).

See your exact out-of-pocket cost—no surprise fees

A licensed provider reviews your intake and determines whether a prescription is appropriate for you.

Start My 60-Second Intake →

About 60 seconds · $0 charged until provider approval.

Why medication cost is unpredictable with PlushCare

PlushCare prescribes brand-name GLP-1 medications—Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic, Mounjaro, and Saxenda—to retail or mail-order pharmacies. These drugs carry high list prices, and your actual out-of-pocket cost depends on:

  • Insurance formulary: Whether your plan covers the specific drug and at what tier.
  • Deductibles and copays: High-deductible plans may require you to pay full retail price until the deductible is met.
  • Manufacturer savings programs: Novo Nordisk (Wegovy, Ozempic, Saxenda) and Eli Lilly (Zepbound, Mounjaro) offer copay cards for commercially insured patients, sometimes reducing out-of-pocket costs to $25–$50 per month. Eligibility and savings vary.
  • Pharmacy pricing: Retail pharmacies and mail-order services may charge different prices for the same drug.

PlushCare's website states that prescriptions are sent to the pharmacy of your choice, and cost "depends on your insurance coverage and the pharmacy." You will not know your final medication price until the prescription is processed at the pharmacy counter or through the pharmacy's prior-authorization and benefits-check process. If your insurance denies coverage or you lack insurance, cash prices for these medications can exceed $1,300 per month.

PlexusDx dispenses compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide directly, with pricing locked in at the time of your order. You know the cost before the first dose ships.

Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide: FDA and regulatory context

Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. The FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient. PlexusDx works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies.

PlushCare does not prescribe compounded GLP-1s; its model is built around brand-name drugs sent to retail pharmacies. If insurance coverage or manufacturer assistance brings your brand-name cost below $189 per month, PlushCare's model may be less expensive. If not, or if you are uninsured, compounded options typically cost less than brand retail prices.

Prior authorization, refills, and ongoing visits

PlushCare advertises prior-authorization support for insurance-based prescriptions. This process can take days to weeks and may require additional documentation or appeals. PlushCare's membership includes access to the platform during this period, but the authorization process itself is managed between PlushCare, your insurance company, and the pharmacy.

Refill and follow-up visit policies are not detailed on PlushCare's membership or weight-loss landing pages. You should confirm at the time of your initial visit whether dose adjustments or refills require additional paid visits beyond the $129 initial consultation.

PlushCare's review record

PlushCare maintains a profile on Trustpilot. Volume and average rating were not captured in the research for this article; readers comparing service quality should check Trustpilot directly and filter by recent reviews and the "weight loss" or "GLP-1" keywords to see patient reports on medication access, prior-authorization timelines, and billing clarity.

PlexusDx holds a 4.3-star rating on Trustpilot, with 79 percent of reviews at five stars and 83 percent at four stars or higher (captured September 9, 2026; trustpilot.com/review/plexusdx.com).

Decision factors: transparency, insurance leverage, and cost control

PlushCare's advantages:

  • If you have commercial insurance and the brand-name drug you need is well-covered, PlushCare's model leverages your benefits and may deliver very low out-of-pocket costs—sometimes $25 to $50 per month with manufacturer copay assistance.
  • Prior-authorization support is included; PlushCare manages the insurer interaction.
  • Access to FDA-approved brand-name medications (Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic, Mounjaro, Saxenda).
  • 30-day free trial lets you test the platform before committing to the monthly fee.

PlushCare's limitations:

  • Medication cost is unknown until the pharmacy processes the prescription. If your insurance denies coverage or your plan's copay is high, you may face four-figure monthly costs or need to switch medications.
  • The membership fee is recurring and does not reduce visit or medication costs; you pay $19.99 per month (or $12.42 per month prepaid for annual) regardless of whether you fill a prescription that month.
  • Visit fees are separate and not bundled. The $129 initial visit is clearly stated, but follow-up visit pricing is not published; confirm this before your first appointment.
  • No compounded-medication option if insurance fails or you are uninsured.

PlexusDx's advantages:

  • Transparent, all-inclusive pricing: $189 per month month-to-month for semaglutide injection, $289 per month month-to-month for tirzepatide injection, with lower rates for 3-month and 6-month prepaid commitments.
  • No membership fee, no separate visit charges, no lab fees unless you request them.
  • Same price at every dose; no surprise cost increases when you titrate.
  • Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide shipped directly; no pharmacy coordination, no prior authorization.
  • 4.3-star Trustpilot rating with 83 percent of reviews at four stars or higher.

PlexusDx's limitations:

  • Compounded medications are not FDA-approved and are not identical to brand-name drugs.
  • Does not work with insurance; you pay the published price out-of-pocket.
  • If your insurance would cover a brand-name GLP-1 at a very low copay (under $50/month with assistance), PlushCare's model may cost less over 12 months despite the membership and visit fees.

Choose PlushCare if…

You have commercial health insurance that covers Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic, Mounjaro, or Saxenda, and you are willing to navigate prior authorization in exchange for potentially very low monthly copays with manufacturer assistance. You value access to FDA-approved brand-name drugs and are comfortable paying a recurring membership fee plus separate visit fees while your final medication cost remains uncertain until the pharmacy processes your prescription. You should confirm follow-up visit pricing and refill policies during your initial consultation, and you should verify your insurance formulary and copay structure before committing to the membership.

Choose PlexusDx if…

You want to know your exact monthly cost before you start, with no separate fees for membership, visits, or shipping. You are uninsured, your insurance does not cover GLP-1s for weight management, or your plan's copay structure makes brand-name drugs expensive even with manufacturer assistance. You prefer compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide shipped directly, with the same price at every dose and no prior-authorization delays. PlexusDx's semaglutide injection is $189 per month month-to-month (drops to $169/month with a 3-month commitment or $149/month with a 6-month commitment), and tirzepatide injection is $289 per month month-to-month (drops to $269/month with a 3-month commitment or $249/month with a 6-month commitment). A licensed provider reviews your intake and determines whether a prescription is appropriate; if approved, the medication ships to your door with no additional charges.

Methodology and freshness

PlushCare membership, visit, and service-model facts were captured September 4, 2026 from plushcare.com/membership, plushcare.com/weight-loss, and plushcare.com/how-it-works. PlexusDx pricing is current as of September 16, 2026. Twelve-month cost calculations, prepaid per-month equivalents, and illustrative total-cost scenarios are our calculations based on the published rates. Medication cost ranges for brand-name GLP-1s reflect typical list prices and manufacturer copay-card programs as of mid-2026; actual patient costs vary by insurance plan, formulary tier, deductible status, and pharmacy. PlexusDx's Trustpilot rating (4.3 stars, 79 percent five-star, 83 percent four-star or higher) was captured September 9, 2026 from trustpilot.com/review/plexusdx.com. No promotional codes or discount arithmetic appear in this article; all prices are standard published rates or explicitly labeled as introductory/trial offers. We have no evidence that PlushCare's pricing structure conflicts across sources. Readers should confirm visit, refill, and follow-up fee policies directly with PlushCare at the time of booking, and should verify insurance coverage and pharmacy pricing before committing to a prescription.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does PlushCare's membership fee include the cost of medication?

No. The $19.99 per month membership (or $149 per year) covers platform access only. Medications are prescribed to an external pharmacy, and you pay the pharmacy's price, which depends on your insurance coverage and the specific drug. PlushCare does not bundle medication cost into the membership.

How much is the initial visit with PlushCare for weight loss?

The self-pay initial visit is $129. This fee is separate from the membership fee. Follow-up visit costs are not specified on PlushCare's pricing pages; confirm at the time of booking whether refills or dose changes require additional paid visits.

Can I use insurance with PlushCare, and will that lower my medication cost?

Yes, PlushCare prescribes to retail pharmacies that accept insurance. If your plan covers the prescribed GLP-1 (Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic, Mounjaro, or Saxenda) and you qualify for a manufacturer copay card, your out-of-pocket cost may be as low as $25 to $50 per month. If your insurance denies coverage or you have a high deductible, you may pay the full retail price until benefits kick in.

Does PlexusDx accept insurance or work with copay cards?

No. PlexusDx does not bill insurance and does not accept manufacturer copay cards. You pay the published price out-of-pocket: $189 per month for semaglutide injection (month-to-month), $289 per month for tirzepatide injection (month-to-month), with lower rates for 3-month and 6-month commitments. That price includes medication, provider review, and shipping.

What happens if my insurance denies my GLP-1 prescription through PlushCare?

You may appeal the denial with PlushCare's prior-authorization support, switch to a different medication on your formulary, or pay cash at the pharmacy's retail price (often over $1,300 per month). PlushCare does not offer compounded alternatives; if brand-name options remain unaffordable, you would need to seek a compounding-pharmacy provider such as PlexusDx separately.

Sources

  • PlushCare Membership pricing and terms: plushcare.com/membership (accessed September 4, 2026)
  • PlushCare Weight Loss service details and visit fees: plushcare.com/weight-loss (accessed September 4, 2026)
  • PlushCare How It Works page: plushcare.com/how-it-works (accessed September 4, 2026)
  • PlexusDx Semaglutide Injection product page: plexusdx.com/products/semaglutide-injection (accessed September 16, 2026)
  • PlexusDx Tirzepatide Injection product page: plexusdx.com/products/tirzepatide-injection (accessed September 16, 2026)
  • PlexusDx Trustpilot profile: trustpilot.com/review/plexusdx.com (accessed September 9, 2026)

Ready to see your all-in monthly cost with no hidden fees?

One all-inclusive price covers your online provider visit, prescription, medication, and shipping—no membership, no hidden fees. Complete a short intake and a licensed provider reviews your fit.

Start My Intake →

Compounded medication disclosure: Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. The FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient. PlexusDx works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies.

Medical and Editorial Standards

Medical review process: This article was reviewed for medical accuracy, scientific clarity, evidence alignment, and appropriate discussion of genetics, medications, supplements, biomarkers, and health-related claims.

Sources and evidence: PlexusDx educational content is developed using peer-reviewed research, clinical literature, reputable medical references, and, where applicable, public health or regulatory guidance. References are included at the end of the article when scientific, medical, or health-related claims are discussed.

Commercial transparency: PlexusDx offers genetic testing, blood biomarker testing, personalized supplement recommendations, and related precision wellness services. Product mentions are intended to help readers understand available options and should not be interpreted as medical advice.

Important disclaimer: PlexusDx educational content is for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before making decisions about medications, supplements, genetic testing, lab testing, or health-related care.

Real prescribers. Published prices. No surprises.

Licensed providers in all 50 states. Online intake. No insurance, no membership required.

Start My Intake

~60 seconds · $0 charged until your provider approves