Last reviewed: September 5, 2026 Last updated: September 5, 2026

Written by: Jay Hastings, CEO of PlexusDx

Jay Hastings is the CEO of PlexusDx, a precision health company focused on genetic testing, blood biomarker insights, and personalized wellness recommendations. He has more than 20 years of experience across healthcare innovation, genomics, laboratory operations, healthcare investing, and strategic finance. His work has included scaling healthcare startups, leading CLIA lab integrations, and helping expand consumer access to precision health tools.

Medically reviewed by: Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA

Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA, is the PlexusDx Medical Science Liaison with a PharmD and MBA specializing in pharmacogenomics and clinical product development, with a proven ability to bridge the gap between genomic research and practical patient outcomes. Dr. Lee has more than 10 years of professional experience in clinical pharmacy, academia, and research.

PlexusDx publishes this comparison and is one of the providers discussed. We use the same evidence rules for our own program and competing programs.

The short answer

PlushCare and PlexusDx operate under fundamentally different commercial models, making dollar-for-dollar cost comparisons impossible. PlushCare charges $19.99 per month for membership (or $149 per year prepaid, which equals $12.42 per month—our calculation) plus a $129 initial visit fee; it prescribes branded GLP-1 medications—Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic, Mounjaro, Saxenda—that you purchase separately at a retail or mail-order pharmacy. Your medication cost depends on your insurance coverage, formulary placement, copay structure, and the pharmacy's cash or negotiated price; PlushCare does not disclose or control that figure. PlexusDx charges $189 per month (month-to-month) or $149 per month (six-month commitment) for compounded semaglutide injection, and $289 per month (month-to-month) or $249 per month (six-month commitment) for compounded tirzepatide injection; those prices include the medication, provider consultations, and shipping in a single recurring charge. Because PlushCare's medication cost is external, variable, and unknown at the point of comparison, the only factual statement we can make is: PlushCare's clinical services cost $348.89 over twelve months (monthly membership path) or $278 over twelve months (annual prepaid membership), plus whatever your pharmacy charges for the medication itself. PlexusDx's all-in twelve-month cost for semaglutide injection ranges from $1,788 (six-month commitment) to $2,268 (month-to-month), and for tirzepatide injection from $2,988 (six-month commitment) to $3,468 (month-to-month). Without PlushCare's medication cost, no total-cost winner can be determined.

Comparing all-in medication pricing or visit-only platforms?

See PlexusDx's compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide options with provider access included.

Compare PlexusDx protocols →

At a glance: PlushCare vs PlexusDx service models

Component PlushCare PlexusDx
Service model Telehealth visit platform; prescriptions sent to external pharmacy Compounded medication subscription; medication fulfilled by 503A pharmacy partner
Medications available Branded: Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic, Mounjaro, Saxenda Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide (injection, oral); microdose GLP-1
Membership fee $19.99/month (first 30 days free) or $149/year prepaid ($12.42/month, our calculation) None
Initial visit $129 self-pay Included in medication price
Medication cost Purchased separately at pharmacy; variable (insurance/cash price) Included: semaglutide injection $189–$149/month; tirzepatide injection $289–$249/month
Labs Extra, not included Per provider discretion; may be included or recommended externally
Commitment None; cancel membership anytime None (MTM) or 3-month/6-month prepaid for lower per-month rate

Sources: PlushCare website captured September 4, 2026; PlexusDx canonical pricing September 5, 2026.

Twelve-month cost: clinical services only vs all-in medication

PlushCare's twelve-month cost for clinical services only (excluding the medication itself) is $348.89 under the monthly membership path, or $278 under the annual prepaid membership path. Here is the monthly-membership calculation:

  • Month 1: $0 membership (first 30 days free introductory offer) + $129 initial visit = $129
  • Months 2–12: $19.99/month × 11 months = $219.89
  • Total (services only): $348.89 over twelve months
  • Effective monthly (services only): $29.07 per month (our calculation)

Under the annual prepaid membership path:

  • Month 1: $0 membership (30-day trial) + $129 initial visit = $129
  • At or after trial: $149 annual membership prepaid (which equals $12.42 per month, our calculation)
  • Total (services only): $278 over twelve months
  • Effective monthly (services only): $23.17 per month (our calculation)

Medication cost is not included in either figure. PlushCare sends your prescription to a retail or mail-order pharmacy; you pay the pharmacy's price, which may be your insurance copay, a negotiated plan rate, or the cash price. Branded GLP-1 list prices range from approximately $900 to $1,400 per month; actual out-of-pocket cost depends on your insurance formulary, prior-authorization approval, manufacturer copay cards, and pharmacy contracts. PlushCare does not disclose or control this variable.

PlexusDx's twelve-month cost is all-inclusive: medication, provider consultations, and shipping in one recurring charge.

PlexusDx option Monthly rate 12-month total
Semaglutide injection (MTM) $189/month $2,268
Semaglutide injection (6-month prepaid) $149/month $1,788
Tirzepatide injection (MTM) $289/month $3,468
Tirzepatide injection (6-month prepaid) $249/month $2,988

PlexusDx twelve-month totals are our calculation (monthly rate × 12); rates captured September 5, 2026.

Because PlushCare's medication cost is external and unknown, we cannot calculate a total program cost or determine which option costs less over twelve months. If your insurance covers a branded GLP-1 with a low copay and no prior-authorization delay, PlushCare's visit-and-prescription model may be less expensive than paying out-of-pocket for compounded medication. If your insurance does not cover GLP-1s for weight management, requires high deductibles, or denies prior authorization, paying cash at a retail pharmacy for a branded medication often exceeds $900 per month, making PlexusDx's all-in compounded price the lower total cost. The decision hinges on your insurance benefits and pharmacy access, which PlushCare does not control or disclose.

See your all-in monthly rate in about 60 seconds

A licensed provider reviews your intake and determines whether compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide is appropriate for you.

Start My 60-Second Intake →

About 60 seconds · $0 charged until provider approval.

What each model includes and excludes

PlushCare operates as a telehealth visit platform. You pay a membership fee—$19.99 per month (first 30 days free) or $149 per year prepaid—and a $129 initial visit fee for a consultation with a provider who may prescribe a branded GLP-1 if appropriate. PlushCare sends your prescription to a retail or mail-order pharmacy of your choice; you pay the pharmacy directly. The membership covers access to telehealth visits for a range of conditions (not limited to weight management), prior-authorization support, and ongoing refill coordination. Labs are extra and arranged separately. There is no minimum commitment; you may cancel the membership at any time. PlushCare prescribes only branded medications—Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic, Mounjaro, and Saxenda—so your medication cost depends entirely on your insurance formulary, copay, deductible, and whether prior authorization is approved. If you have commercial insurance with GLP-1 coverage and a manageable copay, PlushCare's visit-and-prescription model gives you access to FDA-approved branded medications at a potentially lower total cost than paying out-of-pocket for compounded alternatives. If you do not have insurance coverage or your plan denies GLP-1s for weight management, you will pay the pharmacy's cash price, which often exceeds $900 per month for branded semaglutide or tirzepatide.

PlexusDx operates as an all-in compounded-medication subscription. You pay a single monthly rate that includes the compounded medication (semaglutide or tirzepatide, injection or oral), provider consultations, and shipping. There is no separate membership fee, no separate visit charge, and no external pharmacy invoice. The same monthly rate applies at every dose, so titration does not increase your cost. PlexusDx works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies; compounded medications are not FDA-approved and are prepared under state and federal quality standards but have not undergone the same clinical-trial or manufacturing oversight as FDA-approved branded drugs. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient. Because the medication is included in the subscription price, your total monthly cost is fixed and visible before you start. Labs may be included or recommended externally, depending on the provider's clinical judgment. PlexusDx offers month-to-month, three-month, and six-month commitment terms; longer commitments lower the per-month rate but require upfront payment.

Decision factors: insurance, medication preference, and cost predictability

Insurance coverage and formulary access: If your insurance plan covers Wegovy, Zepbound, or another branded GLP-1 for weight management with a low copay, PlushCare's visit-and-prescription model allows you to use that benefit. You pay PlushCare's membership and visit fees for clinical services, then pay your copay at the pharmacy. If your plan does not cover GLP-1s for weight loss, requires prior authorization that is often denied, or imposes a high deductible, your out-of-pocket medication cost at a retail pharmacy will likely exceed the all-in price of a compounded alternative. Check your plan's formulary and prior-authorization requirements before choosing a visit-only platform.

Medication preference: branded vs compounded: PlushCare prescribes only FDA-approved branded medications. These products have undergone clinical trials for safety and efficacy, carry FDA-regulated manufacturing standards, and are covered by many insurance plans. PlexusDx dispenses compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide; compounded medications are not FDA-approved, have not undergone the same clinical-trial or manufacturing oversight, and are not covered by insurance. Compounding is legal and regulated under state pharmacy boards and, for 503A facilities, the FDA's quality standards for compounding pharmacies, but compounded drugs are not the same as branded-drug products and have not undergone the same approval process. If FDA approval and insurance eligibility are priorities, PlushCare's branded-only model aligns with that preference. If cost predictability and access without insurance are priorities, PlexusDx's compounded model provides a fixed monthly rate.

Cost transparency and predictability: PlushCare's membership and visit fees are transparent and disclosed upfront; the medication cost is not. You will not know your total monthly program cost until you check your insurance benefits, confirm prior-authorization status, and receive a pharmacy quote. PlexusDx publishes its all-in medication prices on its website; you know your total monthly cost before intake, and that cost does not change with dose titration or pharmacy negotiations.

Prior authorization and access friction: Many insurance plans require prior authorization for branded GLP-1s prescribed for weight management, and approval rates vary. PlushCare offers prior-authorization support as part of its membership, but approval is not guaranteed and can take days to weeks. If prior authorization is denied, you may pay the full cash price at the pharmacy or seek an alternative. PlexusDx does not require insurance or prior authorization; a licensed provider determines eligibility based on clinical appropriateness, and the compounded medication ships directly if approved.

Service scope: PlushCare's membership covers telehealth visits for many conditions beyond weight management, so the $19.99 monthly fee may offer value if you use the platform for primary care, urgent care, or other consultations. PlexusDx's service is focused on weight management and hormone optimization; there is no separate membership because provider access is included in the medication subscription.

Choose PlushCare if…

  • Your insurance plan covers a branded GLP-1 (Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic, Mounjaro, Saxenda) for weight management with a manageable copay, and you prefer to use that benefit rather than pay out-of-pocket for compounded medication.
  • You value FDA-approved branded medications and are willing to navigate prior-authorization requirements and potential pharmacy fulfillment delays in exchange for that regulatory assurance.
  • You want a telehealth platform that covers visits for multiple health concerns, not only weight management, and the $19.99 monthly membership fee (or $149 annual prepaid) offers value across those use cases.
  • You have an established relationship with a retail or mail-order pharmacy and prefer to purchase medication through that channel rather than receive it directly from a compounding pharmacy partner.

Choose PlexusDx if…

  • Your insurance does not cover GLP-1 medications for weight management, requires prior authorization that is frequently denied, or imposes a high deductible that makes branded medications unaffordable at retail prices.
  • You want cost predictability: a single monthly rate that includes the medication, provider consultations, and shipping, with no separate membership fee, no visit charges, and no pharmacy invoice.
  • You are comfortable with compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide and understand that compounded medications are not FDA-approved and are prepared by licensed 503A compounding pharmacies under state and federal quality standards but have not undergone the same approval process as branded drugs.
  • You prefer a weight-management-focused service without a separate membership or multi-condition telehealth platform.
  • You value the same-price-at-every-dose policy, so titration from a starter dose to a maintenance dose does not increase your monthly cost.

Review and reliability context

PlexusDx holds a 4.2-star rating on Trustpilot, with 76% of reviews at five stars and 81% at four stars or higher (captured September 4, 2026). Review evidence for PlushCare was captured on September 4, 2026, but the research packet does not include quantitative rating, volume, or thematic excerpts, so we cannot report verified review data for PlushCare in this comparison. Both platforms operate under their respective regulatory frameworks—PlushCare as a telehealth visit service prescribing FDA-approved medications, PlexusDx as a compounded-medication subscription working with 503A compounding pharmacies—and neither structure guarantees eligibility, medication approval, or treatment outcomes. A licensed provider reviews every intake and determines clinical appropriateness.

Methodology and freshness

All PlushCare pricing, service-model descriptions, and membership terms were captured from the PlushCare website on September 4, 2026. PlexusDx pricing reflects the company's canonical rates as of September 5, 2026. The twelve-month cost calculations—$348.89 for PlushCare's monthly membership path, $278 for PlushCare's annual prepaid path, and the PlexusDx medication totals—are our calculations, derived by multiplying monthly rates by twelve or summing known upfront and recurring fees. PlushCare's medication cost is not included in any calculation because it is external to PlushCare's service and variable; no pharmacy pricing data was available at the time of research. We did not apply discounts, coupons, or promotional codes beyond PlushCare's publicly advertised first-30-days-free membership offer, which we labeled as an introductory rate and presented alongside the standard $19.99 monthly rate. No insurance reimbursement, manufacturer copay cards, or employer benefits are assumed in any figure. Review data for PlexusDx (4.2 stars, 76% five-star, 81% four-star-or-higher) was captured September 4, 2026. Confirm all pricing, insurance coverage, prior-authorization requirements, and pharmacy costs at checkout or with your plan administrator before committing to either service.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does PlushCare include the cost of GLP-1 medication in its membership fee?

No. PlushCare charges a membership fee ($19.99 per month or $149 per year prepaid) and a $129 initial visit fee for clinical services. The medication itself is prescribed and sent to an external retail or mail-order pharmacy; you pay the pharmacy directly. Your medication cost depends on your insurance coverage, copay, and the pharmacy's pricing.

Can I use insurance to pay for PlexusDx compounded medication?

No. Compounded medications are not covered by insurance. PlexusDx's pricing is out-of-pocket; the monthly rate you see is the rate you pay. If your insurance covers a branded GLP-1 with a low copay, using that benefit through a visit-and-prescription service like PlushCare may result in a lower total cost than paying out-of-pocket for compounded medication.

Which service costs less over twelve months?

We cannot determine a total-cost winner because PlushCare's medication cost is external, variable, and unknown at the point of comparison. PlushCare's clinical services cost $348.89 (monthly membership) or $278 (annual membership) over twelve months, plus your pharmacy's medication price. PlexusDx's all-in cost for semaglutide injection is $2,268 to $1,788 per year, and for tirzepatide injection $3,468 to $2,988 per year, including medication and provider access. The lower-cost option depends on your insurance benefits and pharmacy pricing.

Does PlushCare require prior authorization for GLP-1 prescriptions?

PlushCare does not require prior authorization, but your insurance plan may. Many commercial insurance plans require prior authorization before covering branded GLP-1 medications for weight management. PlushCare offers prior-authorization support as part of its membership, but approval is not guaranteed and processing times vary. If prior authorization is denied, you may pay the full cash price or seek an alternative.

Are compounded GLP-1 medications as safe and effective as branded medications?

Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide are prepared by licensed 503A compounding pharmacies under state and federal quality standards, but they have not undergone the same clinical trials or manufacturing oversight as FDA-approved branded drugs. A licensed clinician determines whether a compounded prescription is appropriate for an individual patient.

Sources

  • PlexusDx canonical pricing and service-model documentation, accessed September 5, 2026
  • PlushCare website: service model, medication availability, membership and visit fees, accessed September 4, 2026
  • PlushCare membership terms and pricing tiers, accessed September 4, 2026
  • PlexusDx Trustpilot profile: 4.2-star rating, 76% five-star, 81% four-star-or-higher, accessed September 4, 2026

Ready to see your all-in monthly rate?

One all-inclusive price covers your online provider visit, prescription, medication, and shipping—no membership, no hidden fees. Complete a short intake and a licensed provider reviews your fit.

Start My Intake →

Compounded medication disclosure: Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient. PlexusDx works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies.

Medical and Editorial Standards

Medical review process: This article was reviewed for medical accuracy, scientific clarity, evidence alignment, and appropriate discussion of genetics, medications, supplements, biomarkers, and health-related claims.

Sources and evidence: PlexusDx educational content is developed using peer-reviewed research, clinical literature, reputable medical references, and, where applicable, public health or regulatory guidance. References are included at the end of the article when scientific, medical, or health-related claims are discussed.

Commercial transparency: PlexusDx offers genetic testing, blood biomarker testing, personalized supplement recommendations, and related precision wellness services. Product mentions are intended to help readers understand available options and should not be interpreted as medical advice.

Important disclaimer: PlexusDx educational content is for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before making decisions about medications, supplements, genetic testing, lab testing, or health-related care.

Real prescribers. Published prices. No surprises.

Licensed providers in all 50 states. Online intake. No insurance, no membership required.

Start My Intake

~60 seconds · $0 charged until your provider approves