Last reviewed: September 4, 2026
Last updated: September 4, 2026
Written by: Jay Hastings, CEO of PlexusDx
Jay Hastings is the CEO of PlexusDx, a precision health company focused on genetic testing, blood biomarker insights, and personalized wellness recommendations. He has more than 20 years of experience across healthcare innovation, genomics, laboratory operations, healthcare investing, and strategic finance. His work has included scaling healthcare startups, leading CLIA lab integrations, and helping expand consumer access to precision health tools.
Medically reviewed by: Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA
Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA, is the PlexusDx Medical Science Liaison with a PharmD and MBA specializing in pharmacogenomics and clinical product development, with a proven ability to bridge the gap between genomic research and practical patient outcomes. Dr. Lee has more than 10 years of professional experience in clinical pharmacy, academia, and research.
PlexusDx publishes this comparison and is one of the providers discussed. We use the same evidence rules for our own program and competing programs.
The short answer
BrightMeds holds a clear price advantage over PlexusDx for both compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide injections. On month-to-month plans—the easiest direct comparison—BrightMeds charges $129/month for semaglutide versus PlexusDx's $189, and $149/month for tirzepatide versus PlexusDx's $289. That translates to $60–$140 lower monthly costs with BrightMeds, or $720–$1,680 in annual savings on standard plans. BrightMeds also offers promotional 3-month prepaid options (advertised as a summer special, state-limited) that bring effective rates to $99/month for semaglutide and $119/month for tirzepatide. Both programs include medication, provider visits, support, dose adjustments, and shipping; neither charges membership or lab fees. The core trade-off is cost versus choice: BrightMeds offers two medications in one route (injections only), while PlexusDx offers five formulations including oral capsules and a microdose maintenance option.
Considering a lower monthly cost or an oral option?
Compare all five PlexusDx formulations—including oral semaglutide and tirzepatide—alongside month-to-month and prepaid plans.
View weight-management options →
At-a-glance comparison
| Feature |
BrightMeds |
PlexusDx |
| Semaglutide injection (MTM) |
$129/month |
$189/month |
| Tirzepatide injection (MTM) |
$149/month |
$289/month |
| Oral formulations |
Not offered |
Semaglutide $289/month, Tirzepatide $349/month (MTM) |
| Microdose maintenance |
Not offered |
$129/month (MTM) |
| Prepaid options |
3-month semaglutide $297 ($99/month equiv.), tirzepatide $357 ($119/month equiv.) – promotional |
3-month and 6-month plans available (see pricing section) |
| Membership fee |
None |
None |
| Lab / prescribing fees |
None |
None |
| Included |
Medication, evaluation, follow-up, dose adjustments, support, shipping |
Medication, provider access, shipping |
| Trustpilot rating |
4.8 (900+ reviews, captured 2026-09-04) |
Not evaluated in this packet |
| Evidence capture date |
2026-09-04 |
2026-09-04 |
All pricing verified September 4, 2026. BrightMeds 3-month prepaid rates labeled promotional ("summer special," state-limited availability) by the provider; month-to-month rates are the standard ongoing published prices. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient.
Normalized 12-month cost comparison
Month-to-month plans offer the cleanest direct comparison because they carry no upfront commitment and represent each provider's standard published rate. Prepaid plans introduce prepayment requirements and, in BrightMeds' case, promotional pricing with state limitations. We show both.
Semaglutide injection: 12-month cost
BrightMeds month-to-month: $129/month × 12 = $1,548/year (standard rate, captured 2026-09-04).
BrightMeds 3-month prepaid promotional plan: $297 upfront per 3 months ($99/month equivalent rate). If renewed four times over 12 months: $297 × 4 = $1,188/year. This is advertised as a "summer special" with state-limited availability; confirm current availability and renewal terms at checkout.
PlexusDx month-to-month: $189/month × 12 = $2,268/year.
PlexusDx 3-month plan: $169/month, billed as $507 every 3 months. Over 12 months: $169 × 12 = $2,028/year (our calculation).
PlexusDx 6-month plan: $149/month, billed as $894 every 6 months. Over 12 months: $149 × 12 = $1,788/year (our calculation).
Price difference (month-to-month): BrightMeds is $60/month lower than PlexusDx ($129 vs $189), a $720/year savings on standard plans.
Price difference (best prepaid plans): BrightMeds 3-month promotional ($1,188/year) versus PlexusDx 6-month ($1,788/year) = $600/year difference, assuming BrightMeds promotional pricing remains available and renewable through the year.
Tirzepatide injection: 12-month cost
BrightMeds month-to-month: $149/month × 12 = $1,788/year (standard rate, captured 2026-09-04).
BrightMeds 3-month prepaid promotional plan: $357 upfront per 3 months ($119/month equivalent rate). If renewed four times: $357 × 4 = $1,428/year. Again, this is a summer promotional rate with state-limited availability.
PlexusDx month-to-month: $289/month × 12 = $3,468/year.
PlexusDx 3-month plan: $269/month, billed as $807 every 3 months. Over 12 months: $269 × 12 = $3,228/year (our calculation).
PlexusDx 6-month plan: $249/month, billed as $1,494 every 6 months. Over 12 months: $249 × 12 = $2,988/year (our calculation).
Price difference (month-to-month): BrightMeds is $140/month lower than PlexusDx ($149 vs $289), a $1,680/year savings on standard plans.
Price difference (best prepaid plans): BrightMeds 3-month promotional ($1,428/year) versus PlexusDx 6-month ($2,988/year) = $1,560/year difference, assuming BrightMeds promotional pricing remains available and renewable.
See if you qualify for PlexusDx semaglutide or tirzepatide
A licensed provider reviews your intake and determines whether a prescription is appropriate for you.
Start My 60-Second Intake →About 60 seconds · $0 charged until provider approval.
Decision factors beyond monthly cost
Medication and route selection
BrightMeds offers two compounded GLP-1 medications in injectable form: semaglutide and tirzepatide. PlexusDx offers the same two injectables plus oral capsule formulations (semaglutide $289/month MTM, tirzepatide $349/month MTM) and a microdose GLP-1 maintenance protocol ($129/month MTM). If you prefer or require an oral option—whether for needle aversion, travel convenience, or personal comfort—BrightMeds does not offer it. If you are approaching goal weight and want to step down to a lower-cost maintenance dose, PlexusDx's microdose protocol is $60/month cheaper than BrightMeds' least-expensive standard injection option.
Prepayment and promotional pricing
BrightMeds' lowest advertised rates ($99/month equivalent for semaglutide, $119/month for tirzepatide) require a 3-month upfront payment and are described by the provider as a "summer special" with state-limited availability. The evidence does not specify which states are excluded, whether the promotion renews automatically, or what happens to pricing when the summer campaign ends. If you are in an eligible state and the promotion remains available, these rates represent the lowest verified GLP-1 injection pricing in this comparison. If you are outside the eligible states or the promotion expires, BrightMeds' standard month-to-month rates ($129 and $149) still undercut PlexusDx's month-to-month plans but by smaller margins.
PlexusDx's prepaid plans (3-month and 6-month) are standing published options, not seasonal promotions. The 6-month semaglutide plan ($149/month, $894 upfront) is $20/month more expensive than BrightMeds' standard month-to-month semaglutide rate, but offers medication-route flexibility BrightMeds does not.
Service reputation
BrightMeds displayed a 4.8 Trustpilot rating with over 900 reviews as of September 4, 2026. The research packet did not capture specific negative themes or detailed review content, so we cannot characterize the distribution of complaints or the nature of service issues reported. PlexusDx's review profile was not evaluated in this evidence cycle.
Inclusions and hidden fees
Both programs state that medication, provider evaluation, and shipping are included in the advertised monthly price, and neither charges a membership fee, lab fee, or prescribing fee. BrightMeds explicitly lists follow-up visits and dose adjustments as included; PlexusDx lists provider access as included. Neither provider's evidence specifies visit frequency limits, wait-time guarantees, or response-time commitments for support inquiries.
Choose BrightMeds if…
You want the lowest verified monthly cost for compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide injections, you are comfortable with an injection-only program, you reside in a state where BrightMeds' promotional pricing is available (or are willing to pay the standard $129–$149/month rates), and you do not require an oral formulation or microdose maintenance option. BrightMeds' $60–$140/month savings over PlexusDx on standard month-to-month plans, and its $99–$119/month promotional prepaid rates, make it the price leader in this comparison for injectable GLP-1 therapy.
Choose PlexusDx if…
You want access to oral semaglutide or tirzepatide capsules (whether for needle aversion, discretion, or travel convenience), you are approaching maintenance and want a microdose protocol priced lower than standard-dose injections, or you prefer the flexibility of five medication-route combinations under one provider. PlexusDx's injectable pricing is higher than BrightMeds' across all plan types, but the program's medication breadth—particularly oral formulations and microdose maintenance—offers options BrightMeds does not. If cost is your only decision variable and you are comfortable with injections, BrightMeds wins on price. If route flexibility or a maintenance step-down matters, PlexusDx is the broader platform.
Methodology and freshness
All BrightMeds pricing and service facts were captured from https://brightmeds.com/summer-special on September 4, 2026, at 13:49:55 UTC. PlexusDx pricing was captured from internal product records on September 4, 2026, at 21:14:10 UTC. BrightMeds' Trustpilot rating (4.8, 900+ reviews) was observed on the provider's Trustpilot page at the same timestamp. Twelve-month cost projections are our calculations, derived by multiplying stated monthly rates by 12 or stated prepaid totals by the number of billing cycles required to cover 12 months. BrightMeds' 3-month prepaid per-month equivalents ($99 and $119) are our calculations based on the stated 3-month totals ($297 and $357). Promotional pricing assumptions (availability, renewability, state eligibility) are based on the provider's published description as of the capture date; confirm current terms at checkout. No provider guarantees eligibility, medication selection, specific dose, or clinical outcomes.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is BrightMeds' $99/month semaglutide rate available everywhere?
No. BrightMeds describes this rate as part of a "summer special" promotion with state-limited availability. The evidence does not specify which states are excluded. Confirm eligibility and current pricing at checkout before committing to a prepaid plan.
Does PlexusDx offer a prepaid plan that matches BrightMeds' promotional pricing?
No. PlexusDx's lowest semaglutide injection rate is $149/month on a 6-month prepaid plan, which is $50/month higher than BrightMeds' promotional 3-month rate ($99/month equivalent) and $20/month higher than BrightMeds' standard month-to-month rate ($129/month).
Can I switch from an injectable to an oral formulation mid-treatment?
PlexusDx offers both injectable and oral formulations, so medication-route changes are possible subject to clinician approval. BrightMeds offers injections only, so switching to an oral option would require transferring to a different provider. Neither provider guarantees approval for route changes or medication switches.
What happens to BrightMeds pricing after the summer promotion ends?
The evidence does not specify an end date for BrightMeds' promotional pricing or what rates will apply afterward. The standard month-to-month rates ($129 for semaglutide, $149 for tirzepatide) were published alongside the promotional rates and may represent the ongoing pricing once the promotion concludes. Confirm renewal terms before prepaying.
Does either provider require labs or charge extra for dose increases?
Neither BrightMeds nor PlexusDx charges a separate lab fee or prescribing fee according to the verified evidence. Both state that dose adjustments are included in the monthly price. Specific lab-ordering protocols, dose-escalation timelines, and maximum-dose policies are not detailed in the captured evidence; confirm with the provider during intake.
Sources
- PlexusDx internal pricing records, accessed September 4, 2026
- BrightMeds summer special page (https://brightmeds.com/summer-special), accessed September 4, 2026
- BrightMeds Trustpilot profile, accessed September 4, 2026
Ready to compare your options with a licensed provider?
One all-inclusive price covers your online provider visit, prescription, medication, and shipping—no membership, no hidden fees. Complete a short intake and a licensed provider reviews your fit.
Start My Intake →
Compounded medication disclosure: Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient. PlexusDx works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies.
Medical and Editorial Standards
Medical review process: This article was reviewed for medical accuracy, scientific clarity, evidence alignment, and appropriate discussion of genetics, medications, supplements, biomarkers, and health-related claims.
Sources and evidence: PlexusDx educational content is developed using peer-reviewed research, clinical literature, reputable medical references, and, where applicable, public health or regulatory guidance. References are included at the end of the article when scientific, medical, or health-related claims are discussed.
Commercial transparency: PlexusDx offers genetic testing, blood biomarker testing, personalized supplement recommendations, and related precision wellness services. Product mentions are intended to help readers understand available options and should not be interpreted as medical advice.
Important disclaimer: PlexusDx educational content is for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before making decisions about medications, supplements, genetic testing, lab testing, or health-related care.
Share:
PlexusDx vs AltRx: Which GLP-1 Provider Offers Better Value in 2026?
PlexusDx vs 10Rx: Monthly vs Quarterly GLP-1 Pricing Compared