Last reviewed: September 13, 2026
Last updated: September 13, 2026
Written by: Jay Hastings, CEO of PlexusDx
Jay Hastings is the CEO of PlexusDx, a precision health company focused on genetic testing, blood biomarker insights, and personalized wellness recommendations. He has more than 20 years of experience across healthcare innovation, genomics, laboratory operations, healthcare investing, and strategic finance. His work has included scaling healthcare startups, leading CLIA lab integrations, and helping expand consumer access to precision health tools.
Medically reviewed by: Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA
Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA, is the PlexusDx Medical Science Liaison with a PharmD and MBA specializing in pharmacogenomics and clinical product development, with a proven ability to bridge the gap between genomic research and practical patient outcomes. Dr. Lee has more than 10 years of professional experience in clinical pharmacy, academia, and research.
PlexusDx publishes this comparison and is one of the providers discussed. We use the same evidence rules for our own program and competing programs.
The short answer
Prepaid GLP-1 plans often display lower per-month rates, but those figures require upfront payment of three, six, or twelve months—typically $600 to $2,400 at checkout—and tie you to a provider before you know whether the medication, dose, or service will work for you. Month-to-month plans cost more per shipment but let you stop or switch without forfeiting hundreds of dollars. Over twelve months, the gap between prepaid and flexible plans ranges from negligible (under $100) to more than $700, depending on the compound, provider, and whether you reach a stable dose or need to change course. The structure that saves money depends on your tolerance for upfront cost, confidence in the provider, and likelihood of staying on treatment for the full commitment term.
Not sure which payment structure matches your situation?
Compare all-inclusive month-to-month, three-month, and six-month plans—same medication dose at every tier.
View PlexusDx plans →
At-a-glance: Prepaid vs month-to-month across top providers
The table shows compounded semaglutide injection unless otherwise noted. All figures were captured between July 17 and September 4, 2026. Where a program bills membership and medication separately, both components appear. Rates labeled "our calculation" divide a prepaid total by the number of months to show the effective monthly cost; all other figures are as published by the provider.
| Provider |
Month-to-Month |
3-Month Prepaid |
6-Month Prepaid |
12-Month Prepaid |
|
PlexusDx (injection) |
$189/mo |
$169/mo ($507 upfront, our calculation) |
$149/mo ($894 upfront, our calculation) |
— |
| Hims & Hers |
Not disclosed |
— |
$199/mo ($1,194 upfront, our calculation) |
— |
|
Found (cash-pay) |
$289/mo |
— |
— |
$169/mo ($2,028 upfront, our calculation) |
|
Henry Meds (injection) |
$297/mo |
— |
$247/mo ($1,482 upfront, our calculation) |
$197/mo ($2,364 upfront, our calculation) |
| Eden |
$198/mo (medication $99 + membership $99 ongoing) |
— |
— |
— |
| MEDVi |
$299/mo (refill; $179 first month) |
— |
— |
— |
| Embody |
$299/mo |
— |
— |
— |
| Fridays Health |
$249/mo |
$117/mo effective (prepaid total not disclosed) |
— |
— |
| Peak Wellness |
$249/mo |
— |
Lower rate (exact figure not disclosed) |
— |
| TrimRx |
$299/mo |
Lower rate (exact figure not disclosed) |
Lower rate (exact figure not disclosed) |
Lower rate (exact figure not disclosed) |
|
ShedRx (tirzepatide) |
$299/mo |
— |
$269/mo ($1,614 upfront, our calculation) |
$239/mo ($2,868 upfront, our calculation) |
| AltRx |
$89/mo |
$85/mo ($255 upfront, our calculation) |
$80/mo ($480 upfront, our calculation) |
$75/mo ($900 upfront, our calculation) |
| BrightMeds |
$129/mo |
$99/mo ($297 upfront, our calculation) |
— |
— |
Programs not listed above either do not publish structured prepaid options (OrderlyMeds, Amble, Remedy Meds, Willow) or separate membership and medication pricing in ways that make tier-by-tier comparison impractical without an individual quote (Ro, LifeMD, Calibrate, Form Health, Noom Med, WeightWatchers Clinic, Zealthy, Mochi Health). PlushCare and Levity focus on branded medication or visit-only membership models that do not fit the monthly-vs-prepaid medication framing.
Normalized twelve-month cost: monthly commitment vs prepaid
To compare structures fairly, we calculate the total a patient would pay over twelve months under each pricing tier, holding the medication and dose constant. Where a prepaid plan covers only part of the year, we extend it with the provider's standard ongoing rate for the remaining months. All calculations assume continuous treatment at the same compound and delivery route; they exclude up-titration costs where programs charge per dose tier.
Compounded semaglutide injection
| Provider |
12-Mo MTM |
12-Mo with Best Prepaid |
Difference |
Prepaid Term |
| PlexusDx |
$2,268 |
$1,788 |
−$480 |
6-month ($894 upfront, then 6 × $149 = $894; our calculation) |
| Found |
$3,468 |
$2,028 |
−$1,440 |
Annual ($2,028 upfront, our calculation) |
| Henry Meds |
$3,564 |
$2,364 |
−$1,200 |
Annual ($2,364 upfront, our calculation) |
| MEDVi |
$3,468 ($179 first month + 11 × $299) |
$3,468 |
$0 |
No prepaid option published |
| Embody |
$3,588 |
$3,588 |
$0 |
No prepaid option published |
| Eden |
$2,376 ($39 first month + 11 × $198, includes membership) |
$2,376 |
$0 |
No prepaid option published |
| Fridays Health |
$2,988 |
~$1,404 (advertised rate; exact prepaid term not disclosed) |
~−$1,584 |
Multi-month (term not specified) |
| AltRx |
$1,068 |
$900 |
−$168 |
Annual ($900 upfront, our calculation) |
| BrightMeds |
$1,548 |
$1,188 (4 × $297 prepaid, our calculation) |
−$360 |
3-month quarters ($297 each, our calculation) |
The twelve-month saving from prepaying ranges from $168 (AltRx, already the lowest per-month floor) to $1,440 (Found annual plan). Programs with no published prepaid tiers—MEDVi, Embody, Eden—cost the same whether you pay monthly or commit longer, so the decision rests entirely on service and flexibility rather than price.
Compounded tirzepatide injection
| Provider |
12-Mo MTM |
12-Mo with Best Prepaid |
Difference |
Prepaid Term |
| PlexusDx |
$3,468 |
$2,988 |
−$480 |
6-month ($1,494 upfront, then 6 × $249 = $1,494; our calculation) |
| ShedRx |
$3,588 |
$2,868 |
−$720 |
Annual ($2,868 upfront, our calculation) |
| Embody |
$4,188 |
$4,188 |
$0 |
No prepaid option published |
| Eden |
$3,576 ($39 first month + 11 × $298, includes membership) |
$3,576 |
$0 |
No prepaid option published |
| AltRx |
$1,788 |
$1,500 |
−$288 |
Annual ($1,500 upfront, our calculation) |
| Amble |
$3,468 |
$3,468 |
$0 |
No prepaid option published |
Tirzepatide twelve-month prepaid savings range from $288 (AltRx) to $720 (ShedRx annual commitment). As with semaglutide, programs that do not publish multi-month discounts offer the same total cost regardless of payment cadence.
See your all-in monthly rate in under 60 seconds
A licensed provider reviews your intake and determines whether a prescription is appropriate.
Start My 60-Second Intake →About 60 seconds · $0 charged until provider approval.
What the twelve-month math misses: dose changes, side effects, and refund gaps
The tables above assume you stay on the same compound, dose, and provider for twelve consecutive months. In practice, many patients titrate across four or five dose steps during the first three to six months, experience intolerable side effects that require switching compounds or stopping, or discover that a provider's clinical support or shipment reliability does not meet their needs. Prepaid plans lock in a lower per-month rate, but they also lock in upfront cost and switching friction.
Upfront cost and opportunity risk
A six-month semaglutide prepay at Hims & Hers ($1,194), PlexusDx ($894), or Henry Meds ($1,482) requires that amount at checkout. If you stop treatment in month two because of nausea, shipping delays, or a decision to try tirzepatide instead, most programs do not issue prorated refunds for unused months. Hims & Hers, Found, and Henry Meds prepaid plans carry limited or no refund provisions after the initial approval window. Month-to-month plans cost more per shipment but limit your financial exposure to one month at a time.
Dose-step pricing and titration
Programs that charge per dose tier—Mochi Health ($60/month at starting semaglutide dose, more at higher doses), Ro (Wegovy pill $149 to $299 depending on dose), LifeMD (Wegovy 1.5 mg $149, 25 mg starts at $299)—make prepaid arithmetic harder. A six-month commitment might lock you into a low-dose rate during the months you need higher doses, or force you to prepay a high-dose rate before you know whether you will tolerate titration. Flat-rate providers (PlexusDx, Embody, Henry Meds, Amble) charge the same amount regardless of dose, so a prepaid plan covers the full titration curve without recalculation.
Medication switches
Patients who start semaglutide and later switch to tirzepatide, or vice versa, typically forfeit the remaining balance of a compound-specific prepaid plan. If you have six months prepaid on a semaglutide-only contract and switch to tirzepatide in month three, you lose three months of prepaid semaglutide and pay the tirzepatide rate from scratch. Month-to-month plans let you switch compounds on your next billing cycle without forfeiting prior payments.
When prepaid plans save the most money
Prepaying delivers the largest absolute dollar saving when three conditions hold simultaneously:
-
You are confident in the compound. You have already tried the medication (semaglutide or tirzepatide) under another provider or insurance, tolerate it well, and know you want to continue it for at least the prepaid term.
-
You have reached a stable maintenance dose. You are past titration and do not anticipate further dose increases or compound switches in the next six to twelve months.
-
You trust the provider's service quality. You have verified shipment reliability, clinical responsiveness, and refill timing through reviews, pilot month-to-month use, or peer reports, so the risk of needing to switch providers mid-contract is low.
Under these conditions, programs like Found (cash-pay annual: $169/month effective, $1,440 saving vs monthly), Henry Meds (annual injection: $197/month effective, $1,200 saving), and PlexusDx (six-month semaglutide: $149/month effective, $480 saving) deliver clear twelve-month cost advantages. The upfront payment becomes a known, fixed expense rather than a risk.
When month-to-month flexibility matters more than per-month savings
Month-to-month plans cost more per shipment but preserve optionality. Choose monthly billing if:
-
You are new to GLP-1 treatment. You have not yet tried semaglutide or tirzepatide, do not know which compound you will tolerate, and want the freedom to stop or switch without forfeiting a prepaid balance.
-
You are early in titration. You are stepping up doses every four weeks and may need to adjust the medication, route (injection vs oral), or provider based on side effects or efficacy during the first three to six months.
-
You are comparing providers. You want to trial a program's clinical support, shipment speed, and refill coordination for one or two cycles before committing six or twelve months of cost and loyalty.
-
Your insurance or financial situation may change. You expect to regain insurance coverage for branded GLP-1s, qualify for a different assistance program, or face income changes that make a large upfront payment impractical.
Programs with competitive month-to-month rates and no prepay requirement include Eden ($198/month semaglutide all-in), PlexusDx ($189/month semaglutide injection, $289/month tirzepatide injection), MEDVi ($299/month semaglutide refills after $179 first month), Embody ($299 semaglutide, $349 tirzepatide, same price every dose), and Amble ($179 semaglutide, $289 tirzepatide). AltRx ($89/month semaglutide, $149/month tirzepatide) and BrightMeds ($129/month semaglutide, $149/month tirzepatide) offer lower month-to-month floors, though AltRx's rates were published as a limited-time promotion ending September 5, 2026; confirm current pricing at checkout.
Membership-plus-medication models and the hidden prepay layer
Several programs bill membership and medication separately, and the membership itself may require prepayment even when medication is billed monthly. Examples captured September 4, 2026:
-
Ro Body Program: $149/month membership (monthly) or $89/month (six-month prepay: $534 upfront) or $74/month (annual prepay: $888 upfront), plus $149–$299/month for Wegovy pill or $299–$449/month for Zepbound vial/pen depending on dose. A patient on maintenance-dose Wegovy pays $223–$373/month total (monthly membership + medication) or $163–$313/month (annual membership prepay + monthly medication, our calculation).
-
LifeMD: $39 first month membership (introductory rate), then $149/month ongoing, plus medication ($149/month Wegovy 1.5 mg, $299/month starting dose Zepbound vial). Total ongoing: $298–$448/month depending on compound and dose.
-
WeightWatchers Clinic Med+: First two months $25/month (introductory rate), then $74/month on twelve-month commitment, plus medication (Wegovy pill $149–$299 depending on dose, generally billed separately). The membership is prepaid annually after the introductory window; medication may be billed monthly or require separate insurance/copay arrangements.
-
Noom Med Core: $129/month membership billed quarterly ($387 upfront) after first month; medication excluded and billed separately if prescribed.
In these models, prepaying the membership reduces its per-month cost but does not reduce medication cost, so the twelve-month saving is smaller than it appears in a membership-only comparison. A Ro patient who prepays the annual membership ($888) and pays Wegovy monthly ($149/month × 12 = $1,788) spends $2,676 total over twelve months; the same patient on monthly membership ($149 × 12 = $1,788) and monthly Wegovy spends $3,576 total—a $900 difference attributable entirely to the membership prepay, not the medication. Compare this to PlexusDx semaglutide at $1,788 twelve-month total (six-month prepay tier, our calculation) or Found cash-pay semaglutide at $2,028 (annual prepay, medication included, our calculation), and the membership-prepay saving narrows or reverses depending on the medication you need.
Insurance-support programs: prepay the membership, medication billed separately
Found offers an insurance-support track: $199/month (monthly) or $99/month effective (annual prepay: $1,188 upfront, our calculation). The membership includes care coordination, nutrition coaching, and prescription writing; compounded medication is included in the cash-pay track but not in the insurance track. Branded medication (Wegovy, Zepbound, Saxenda) is billed to your insurance with typical copays around $30/month where coverage applies. If your insurance does not cover the medication, Found helps you apply for manufacturer savings cards or switches you to the compounded cash-pay track. The insurance-support annual prepay ($1,188) saves $1,200 over twelve months of monthly billing ($199 × 12 = $2,388, our calculation) but does not include medication cost, so your true twelve-month total is $1,188 membership + (12 × copay) or $1,188 + cost of any months you pay out-of-pocket for branded or compounded fills. This structure makes sense if you have insurance that covers branded GLP-1s for weight management and you expect consistent $25–$50 copays; it is less advantageous if your coverage is uncertain or your copays approach $100–$200/month, at which point an all-inclusive compounded program may cost less overall.
Review reliability and prepaid risk
Prepaying six or twelve months assumes the provider will deliver consistent service—on-time shipments, responsive clinical support, reliable refills—for the entire term. When a program has a strong review record, that assumption is safer. When reviews flag shipment delays, billing errors, or unresponsive support, prepaying increases the cost of those failures because you cannot walk away without forfeiting the remaining balance.
PlexusDx holds a 4.3-star rating on Trustpilot, with 79% of reviews at five stars and 83% at four stars or higher (captured September 9, 2026; trustpilot.com/review/plexusdx.com). We list competitor review records where verified data is available in our individual program comparisons; we do not publish review ratings here because not all programs in this analysis have Trustpilot or comparable public review profiles captured as of September 4, 2026, and we will not infer reliability from absence of evidence.
Refund policies and early-exit cost
Most prepaid GLP-1 plans do not offer prorated refunds if you stop treatment mid-term. Policies captured September 4, 2026:
-
Hims & Hers: Refund policy not detailed on pricing pages; standard telehealth terms typically allow refunds only if the provider does not approve the prescription or the medication is not shipped.
-
Found: Annual prepay is non-refundable after the initial approval window (exact window not specified on public pages).
-
Henry Meds: Refund terms not published on pricing pages; inferred non-refundable after shipment based on standard compounding pharmacy policies.
-
Calibrate: "Limited refund policy" noted in source packet; twelve-month Metabolic Reset program ($2,388 total) does not offer month-by-month prorated refunds once treatment begins.
-
PlexusDx: Three-month and six-month commitment tiers do not advertise mid-term prorated refunds; month-to-month tier allows cancellation before the next billing cycle with no further charges.
If you prepay $1,194 (Hims & Hers six-month semaglutide) and stop in month two, you likely forfeit the remaining $800–$900 (our calculation: $1,194 − 2 × $199 = $796). If you pay $189/month (PlexusDx month-to-month semaglutide) and stop in month two, your total cost is $378 and you owe nothing further. The $40 higher per-month cost ($189 vs $149 six-month rate, our calculation) functions as insurance against early exit.
Choose a prepaid plan if…
- You have already used the medication under another provider, tolerate it well, and plan to continue it for at least the prepaid term without switching compounds or doses.
- You have verified the provider's service quality through a pilot month, peer reviews, or professional referral, and trust that shipments, refills, and clinical support will remain reliable over six to twelve months.
- You can afford the upfront cost without financial strain, and the twelve-month dollar saving (typically $200–$1,400 depending on program and compound) justifies the loss of monthly flexibility.
- Your insurance and income situation is stable, and you do not expect to regain coverage for branded GLP-1s or qualify for manufacturer assistance in the next year.
Choose a month-to-month plan if…
- You are new to GLP-1 treatment and do not yet know which compound, dose, or delivery route you will tolerate or prefer.
- You are in the titration phase (first three to six months), expect dose changes, or anticipate the possibility of switching from semaglutide to tirzepatide or vice versa.
- You want to trial the provider's clinical responsiveness, shipment reliability, and refill coordination for one or two cycles before committing a large upfront payment.
- You prefer to limit financial exposure to one month at a time, even if it means paying $10–$60 more per month (depending on the program) than the equivalent prepaid rate.
- Your insurance status, income, or treatment goals may change within the next six months, and you value the ability to pause or stop without forfeiting prepaid months.
Where PlexusDx fits
PlexusDx offers month-to-month, three-month, and six-month pricing tiers for compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide (injection and oral) at the same dose-independent rate across all tiers. Semaglutide injection is $189/month month-to-month, $169/month on a three-month commitment ($507 upfront, our calculation), or $149/month on a six-month commitment ($894 upfront, our calculation). Tirzepatide injection is $289/month month-to-month, $269/month three-month ($807 upfront, our calculation), or $249/month six-month ($1,494 upfront, our calculation). Every plan includes the provider visit, prescription, compounded medication at any dose, and shipping; there is no separate membership fee, no per-visit charge, and no fee increase when your clinician adjusts your dose.
Over twelve months, a PlexusDx semaglutide patient on the six-month tier pays $1,788 total (two six-month cycles at $894 each, our calculation). The same patient on month-to-month pays $2,268 total ($189 × 12, our calculation)—a $480 difference. The six-month tier requires $894 upfront and commits you to PlexusDx for six months; the month-to-month tier lets you cancel before any billing cycle with no penalty. If you are confident in semaglutide, past titration, and ready to commit six months, the six-month tier saves $40/month (our calculation: $189 − $149). If you are new to GLP-1s, still adjusting dose, or trialing PlexusDx service quality, the month-to-month tier preserves flexibility at a $40/month premium.
PlexusDx also offers a microdose GLP-1 injection protocol at $129/month month-to-month with no multi-month commitment tier. This option is designed for patients who have reached goal weight on a standard GLP-1 dose and want to step down to a lower maintenance dose; it is not a first-line weight-loss treatment. The microdose protocol uses the same all-inclusive structure—medication, provider access, and shipping at one price—but does not currently offer prepaid discounts.
Compounded medication disclosure: Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. PlexusDx works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient.
Methodology and freshness
We captured pricing, commitment terms, and refund policies from provider websites, checkout flows, and pricing pages between July 17 and September 4, 2026. Every per-month figure shown as "our calculation" was derived by dividing a published prepaid total by the number of months it covers; every other figure is as published by the provider. Twelve-month cost calculations assume continuous treatment at the same compound and dose; they do not model titration steps, compound switches, or mid-term cancellations. We did not contact providers for unpublished rates or negotiate custom pricing; all data reflects publicly available information as of the capture dates cited. Where conflicting figures appeared on different pages of the same site, we noted the conflict in the source packet and used the most recent or most prominent figure in this analysis. Readers should confirm current pricing, refund terms, and commitment requirements at checkout before prepaying any multi-month plan.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do prepaid GLP-1 plans always save money over twelve months?
No. Programs that do not publish multi-month discounts—MEDVi, Embody, Eden, Amble, OrderlyMeds—cost the same whether you pay monthly or commit longer, so prepaying offers no financial advantage. Even where a discount exists, the saving disappears if you stop treatment, switch compounds, or change providers before the prepaid term ends and the program does not issue a prorated refund.
Can I get a refund if I prepay six months and stop in month two?
Most telehealth GLP-1 programs do not offer prorated refunds once treatment begins and medication has shipped. Hims & Hers, Found, Henry Meds, and Calibrate prepaid plans are generally non-refundable after the initial approval window. If you stop early, you forfeit the unused months. Month-to-month plans let you cancel before the next billing cycle without losing prepaid amounts.
What happens to my prepaid plan if I need to switch from semaglutide to tirzepatide mid-term?
Prepaid plans are typically compound-specific. If you prepay six months of semaglutide and switch to tirzepatide in month three, you lose the remaining semaglutide balance and begin paying the tirzepatide rate from scratch. Programs that offer both compounds under one membership (Found, PlexusDx) may allow switches within the same payment tier, but you should confirm the policy before prepaying if you anticipate a compound change.
Do membership-plus-medication programs save money when you prepay the membership?
Prepaying the membership reduces its per-month cost but does not reduce medication cost if medication is billed separately. Ro's annual membership prepay saves $900 over twelve months compared to monthly membership billing (our calculation), but you still pay $149–$299/month for Wegovy or $299–$449/month for Zepbound depending on dose. Compare the total (membership + medication over twelve months) to all-inclusive programs before assuming the membership prepay is the lowest-cost path.
Are promotional first-month rates part of a prepaid commitment?
Not always. LifeMD (first-month membership $39 introductory rate, then $149 ongoing), Mochi Health (first-month membership $39 introductory rate, then ongoing rate not disclosed), and WeightWatchers Clinic (first two months $25/month introductory rate, then $74 ongoing) use introductory pricing to lower initial cost, but the advertised rate applies only to the first one or two months and then steps up to the standard rate. These are not prepaid discounts; they are temporary reductions that revert to the standard price on your next billing cycle. Always confirm the refill rate before assuming a low advertised figure represents long-term cost.
Sources
- PlexusDx, Hims & Hers, Found, Henry Meds, Eden, MEDVi, Embody, Fridays Health, Peak Wellness, TrimRx, ShedRx, AltRx, BrightMeds, Amble pricing pages, captured July 17–September 4, 2026.
- Ro, WeightWatchers Clinic, Noom Med, LifeMD, Mochi Health, OrderlyMeds, Remedy Meds, Zealthy, Form Health, Calibrate, PlushCare pricing and membership pages, captured September 4, 2026.
- PlexusDx Trustpilot profile (trustpilot.com/review/plexusdx.com), captured September 9, 2026.
Ready to see your rate?
One all-inclusive price covers your online provider visit, prescription, medication, and shipping—no membership, no hidden fees. Complete a short intake and a licensed provider reviews your fit.
Start My Intake →
Medical and Editorial Standards
Medical review process: This article was reviewed for medical accuracy, scientific clarity, evidence alignment, and appropriate discussion of genetics, medications, supplements, biomarkers, and health-related claims.
Sources and evidence: PlexusDx educational content is developed using peer-reviewed research, clinical literature, reputable medical references, and, where applicable, public health or regulatory guidance. References are included at the end of the article when scientific, medical, or health-related claims are discussed.
Commercial transparency: PlexusDx offers genetic testing, blood biomarker testing, personalized supplement recommendations, and related precision wellness services. Product mentions are intended to help readers understand available options and should not be interpreted as medical advice.
Important disclaimer: PlexusDx educational content is for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before making decisions about medications, supplements, genetic testing, lab testing, or health-related care.
Share:
GLP-1 Membership Fees Compared: Which Providers Charge Extra?
Are Annual GLP-1 Plans Worth It? 2026 Prepay vs Month-to-Month Math