Last reviewed: September 13, 2026 Last updated: September 13, 2026

Written by: Jay Hastings, CEO of PlexusDx

Jay Hastings is the CEO of PlexusDx, a precision health company focused on genetic testing, blood biomarker insights, and personalized wellness recommendations. He has more than 20 years of experience across healthcare innovation, genomics, laboratory operations, healthcare investing, and strategic finance. His work has included scaling healthcare startups, leading CLIA lab integrations, and helping expand consumer access to precision health tools.

Medically reviewed by: Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA

Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA, is the PlexusDx Medical Science Liaison with a PharmD and MBA specializing in pharmacogenomics and clinical product development, with a proven ability to bridge the gap between genomic research and practical patient outcomes. Dr. Lee has more than 10 years of professional experience in clinical pharmacy, academia, and research.

PlexusDx publishes this comparison and is one of the providers discussed. We use the same evidence rules for our own program and competing programs.

The short answer

Hims & Hers does not publicly disclose whether its advertised $199-per-month compounded semaglutide rate (a six-month prepaid per-month rate requiring $1,194 upfront) applies to all dose levels or changes when your provider increases your prescription. As of September 4, 2026, we found no published pricing tiers, dose-specific rates, or renewal-pricing terms on the company's website or in checkout flows. If you are considering Hims & Hers and expect your dose to escalate—standard clinical practice for GLP-1 therapy—confirm the price at your prescribed dose level before committing to the six-month prepaid plan.

Need a provider that publishes the same price at every dose?

PlexusDx holds one flat rate from starter doses through maintenance—no surprise tier changes, no prepay requirement.

Compare pricing across all five PlexusDx GLP-1 options →

What Hims & Hers publicly discloses about compounded semaglutide pricing

On September 4, 2026, Hims & Hers advertised compounded semaglutide injection at $199 per month. That figure is a six-month prepaid per-month rate: the plan requires $1,194 upfront and delivers six months of medication and clinical access. No separate membership or monthly service fee appeared in the offer.

The advertised rate is labeled as a starting price; eligibility and prescribed dose may affect the final offer. The company also offers branded options (Wegovy, Ozempic, Zepbound, Mounjaro) and oral formulations, with pricing that varies by product. Tirzepatide compounded pricing was not captured in our September 4, 2026 review.

What is not publicly disclosed: dose-escalation pricing

GLP-1 therapy typically follows a dose-escalation protocol: patients start at a low dose and increase gradually to minimize side effects and reach therapeutic effectiveness. A common semaglutide schedule begins at 0.25 mg weekly, advancing to 0.5 mg, 1 mg, 1.7 mg, and finally 2.4 mg over several months.

We found no evidence—on the Hims & Hers website, in checkout flows, or in terms of service—that answers:

  • Does the $199-per-month rate apply to all dose levels, or only to starting doses?
  • If your provider increases your dose mid-plan, does your price change?
  • What is the renewal price after the initial six-month prepaid term?
  • Are higher doses assigned to a different pricing tier?

This gap is material: a prepaid commitment that appears affordable at a starter dose may become more expensive—or may remain constant—as your prescription strength increases. Without published dose-tier pricing, you cannot calculate the true 12-month cost of therapy.

How PlexusDx pricing works across dose levels

PlexusDx publishes one flat price for compounded semaglutide injection regardless of dose. The same monthly rate applies whether your provider prescribes 0.25 mg weekly or 2.4 mg weekly. No dose escalation triggers a price change, and no prepayment is required.

Plan length Per-month rate Upfront cost Dose policy
Month-to-month $189 $189 Same price at every dose
3-month plan $169 (prepaid per-month rate) $507 Same price at every dose
6-month plan $149 (prepaid per-month rate) $894 Same price at every dose

All PlexusDx plans include the provider visit, prescription, compounded medication, and shipping. There is no separate membership fee, and dose increases never trigger a price adjustment.

Get the same semaglutide price from starter dose to maintenance

A licensed provider reviews your intake and determines whether compounded semaglutide is appropriate for you.

Start My 60-Second Intake →

About 60 seconds · $0 charged until provider approval.

Normalized 12-month cost comparison

Because Hims & Hers does not disclose dose-escalation pricing or post-prepay renewal rates, we can calculate a 12-month cost only under the assumption that the $199-per-month rate remains constant across all doses and renews at the same price. That assumption is unverified.

Provider Medication Plan structure Advertised per-month rate 12-month total (our calculation)
Hims & Hers Compounded semaglutide injection 6-month prepaid ($1,194 upfront) $199 (prepaid per-month rate) $2,388 (assumes same rate at renewal and all doses)
PlexusDx Compounded semaglutide injection Month-to-month $189 $2,268 (same price at every dose)
PlexusDx Compounded semaglutide injection 6-month prepaid $149 (prepaid per-month rate) $1,788 (same price at every dose)

If the Hims & Hers rate increases at higher doses or upon renewal, the 12-month total would rise above $2,388. If it remains constant, the prepaid Hims & Hers plan costs $120 more over 12 months than PlexusDx month-to-month and $600 more than PlexusDx six-month prepaid—while requiring two $1,194 upfront payments instead of PlexusDx's $894 six-month commitment.

Questions to ask Hims & Hers before prepaying

If you are considering the Hims & Hers six-month prepaid plan, ask the company directly—before committing $1,194—whether:

  • The $199-per-month rate applies to your prescribed starting dose and all subsequent dose increases.
  • Dose escalation during the six-month term triggers a price adjustment or requires a new contract.
  • The renewal price after six months matches the initial $199-per-month rate or resets to a different rate.
  • Higher doses (for example, semaglutide 2.4 mg weekly) are priced at the same $199-per-month rate as starter doses.
  • Any cancellation, refund, or plan-modification terms apply if your provider changes your prescription mid-term.

Confirm the answers in writing or at checkout before authorizing the upfront charge.

Why dose-escalation pricing matters

Most patients beginning GLP-1 therapy do not remain at their starting dose. Clinical protocols increase the dose every four weeks until the patient reaches a maintenance level that balances efficacy and tolerability. For semaglutide, that process typically spans three to five months; for tirzepatide, up to five months.

A pricing model that increases cost with dose can double or triple the monthly expense as therapy progresses. Conversely, a flat-rate model—where the same price applies regardless of dose—offers predictable budgeting and removes financial pressure from clinical dose decisions. When a provider's pricing structure is opaque, you cannot forecast your out-of-pocket cost over a full year of therapy.

Hims & Hers review themes: efficacy, side effects, and billing concerns

On September 4, 2026, Hims & Hers held 10,094 reviews on Trustpilot (rating not captured). Individual reports on Trustpilot and Reddit described perceived lack of efficacy, side effects, and regret after an uncancelled renewal charged automatically. These are individual anecdotes; they do not establish a pattern or typical experience, but they illustrate friction points some customers report when managing prepaid subscriptions and dose adjustments.

PlexusDx holds a 4.3-star rating on Trustpilot, with 79% of reviews at five stars and 83% at four stars or higher (captured September 9, 2026; trustpilot.com/review/plexusdx.com).

Choose Hims & Hers if…

Hims & Hers may be the right fit if you confirm—before prepaying—that the $199-per-month rate applies to all doses you are likely to need, you are comfortable committing $1,194 upfront for six months, and you prefer the brand's established telehealth platform and broad product portfolio (compounded and branded GLP-1 options, oral formulations, and other wellness services). The company's scale and multi-product catalog offer convenience for patients managing multiple conditions through one provider.

Choose PlexusDx if…

PlexusDx is the simpler option if you want one published price that applies to every dose—no prepay requirement on month-to-month plans, no hidden tier changes, no need to ask whether your next dose level costs more. The month-to-month plan ($189/month compounded semaglutide injection) costs $10 less per month than the Hims & Hers advertised prepaid per-month rate, requires no upfront commitment, and holds the same rate whether your provider prescribes 0.25 mg or 2.4 mg weekly. The six-month prepaid plan ($149/month, $894 upfront) saves $300 per six months versus the Hims & Hers $1,194 prepaid option (our calculation, assuming the Hims & Hers rate holds constant). All PlexusDx plans include the provider visit, prescription, medication, and shipping in one flat fee—no membership, no per-dose surcharges.

Methodology and freshness

We captured Hims & Hers pricing and plan terms on September 4, 2026 from the company's website. PlexusDx pricing was verified between July 17 and July 23, 2026 from live product pages. Review data was captured from Trustpilot on September 4 and September 9, 2026, and from Reddit on September 4, 2026. All 12-month cost totals are our calculations based on advertised per-month rates; Hims & Hers calculations assume the $199-per-month rate remains constant across all doses and renewal periods, an assumption that is not verified by public evidence. We do not make assumptions about eligibility, prescribed dose, clinical outcomes, or side effects. If pricing or terms conflict at checkout, confirm with the provider before committing.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Hims & Hers charge more when my semaglutide dose increases?

Hims & Hers does not publicly disclose whether its $199-per-month compounded semaglutide rate (six-month prepaid per-month rate) applies to all dose levels or changes upon dose escalation. Confirm the price at your prescribed dose level before committing to the prepaid plan.

What is the upfront cost for Hims & Hers compounded semaglutide?

The advertised six-month prepaid plan requires $1,194 upfront, which works out to $199 per month over six months. The company also offers branded GLP-1 options and oral formulations, with pricing that varies by product. Tirzepatide compounded pricing was not publicly available as of September 4, 2026.

Does PlexusDx charge the same price for all semaglutide doses?

Yes. PlexusDx publishes one flat rate for compounded semaglutide injection regardless of dose: $189 per month on month-to-month, $169 per month on three-month prepaid, and $149 per month on six-month prepaid. Dose increases never trigger a price change, and no separate membership fee applies.

How much does PlexusDx compounded semaglutide cost over 12 months?

On the month-to-month plan, $189 per month totals $2,268 over 12 months. On the six-month prepaid plan, $149 per month (prepaid per-month rate) totals $1,788 over 12 months, requiring two $894 upfront payments. These are our calculations; the same dose-independent rate applies at every prescription strength.

Can I switch from Hims & Hers to PlexusDx mid-plan?

You can start a PlexusDx intake at any time. A licensed PlexusDx provider will review your medical history and current regimen to determine whether continuing GLP-1 therapy with PlexusDx is appropriate. Confirm Hims & Hers cancellation, refund, and prepayment-forfeiture terms before switching to understand any financial impact of ending your existing plan early.

Sources

  • Hims & Hers website, compounded semaglutide pricing and plan terms (accessed September 4, 2026)
  • PlexusDx product pages and pricing (accessed July 17–23, 2026)
  • Trustpilot: Hims & Hers review count (accessed September 4, 2026); PlexusDx rating and distribution (accessed September 9, 2026; trustpilot.com/review/plexusdx.com)
  • Reddit: Hims & Hers user-reported experiences (accessed September 4, 2026)

Ready to lock in one flat semaglutide price at every dose?

One all-inclusive price covers your online provider visit, prescription, medication, and shipping—no membership, no hidden fees. Complete a short intake and a licensed provider reviews your fit.

Start My Intake →

Compounded medication disclosure: Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. PlexusDx works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient.

Medical and Editorial Standards

Medical review process: This article was reviewed for medical accuracy, scientific clarity, evidence alignment, and appropriate discussion of genetics, medications, supplements, biomarkers, and health-related claims.

Sources and evidence: PlexusDx educational content is developed using peer-reviewed research, clinical literature, reputable medical references, and, where applicable, public health or regulatory guidance. References are included at the end of the article when scientific, medical, or health-related claims are discussed.

Commercial transparency: PlexusDx offers genetic testing, blood biomarker testing, personalized supplement recommendations, and related precision wellness services. Product mentions are intended to help readers understand available options and should not be interpreted as medical advice.

Important disclaimer: PlexusDx educational content is for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before making decisions about medications, supplements, genetic testing, lab testing, or health-related care.

Real prescribers. Published prices. No surprises.

Licensed providers in all 50 states. Online intake. No insurance, no membership required.

Start My Intake

~60 seconds · $0 charged until your provider approves