Last reviewed: September 4, 2026
Last updated: September 4, 2026
Written by: Jay Hastings, CEO of PlexusDx
Jay Hastings is the CEO of PlexusDx, a precision health company focused on genetic testing, blood biomarker insights, and personalized wellness recommendations. He has more than 20 years of experience across healthcare innovation, genomics, laboratory operations, healthcare investing, and strategic finance. His work has included scaling healthcare startups, leading CLIA lab integrations, and helping expand consumer access to precision health tools.
Medically reviewed by: Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA
Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA, is the PlexusDx Medical Science Liaison with a PharmD and MBA specializing in pharmacogenomics and clinical product development, with a proven ability to bridge the gap between genomic research and practical patient outcomes. Dr. Lee has more than 10 years of professional experience in clinical pharmacy, academia, and research.
PlexusDx publishes this comparison and is one of the providers discussed. We use the same evidence rules for our own program and competing programs.
The short answer
BrightMeds lists compounded semaglutide at $129 per month with no commitment and $99 per month when prepaid quarterly ($297 upfront), both figures verified September 4, 2026. PlexusDx charges $189 month-to-month and $169 per month on a 3-month plan for the same compound. Over twelve months the difference is $720 to $840 in BrightMeds' favor for semaglutide, and $1,680 to $1,800 for tirzepatide. BrightMeds' advertised prepaid rates appear as a state-limited promotional offer; the standard month-to-month rates carry no such restriction in the verified sources. Both programs bundle medication, provider visits, follow-up, and shipping with no separate membership or lab fees. BrightMeds holds a 4.8-star Trustpilot rating from 900+ reviews; PlexusDx holds a 4.2-star rating, with 76% of reviews at five stars and 81% at four stars or higher (both captured September 4, 2026). If BrightMeds serves your state and you qualify medically, its pricing advantage is substantial; if review volume and rating matter most, BrightMeds also leads on those metrics.
At-a-glance comparison
| Feature |
BrightMeds |
PlexusDx |
| Semaglutide MTM |
$129/month |
$189/month |
| Semaglutide 3-month |
$99/month prepaid ($297 upfront/quarter, promotional) |
$169/month |
| Tirzepatide MTM |
$149/month |
$289/month |
| Tirzepatide 3-month |
$119/month prepaid ($357 upfront/quarter, promotional) |
$269/month |
| Membership fee |
None |
None |
| What's included |
Medication, evaluation, follow-up, dose adjustments, support, shipping |
Medication, online provider visit, prescription, ongoing support, shipping |
| Formulation |
Injectable (compounded, not FDA-approved) |
Injectable and oral (compounded, not FDA-approved) |
| Price varies by dose |
No |
No |
| Trustpilot rating |
4.8 stars (900+ reviews, Sept 4 2026) |
4.2 stars (76% five-star, 81% four-plus, Sept 4 2026) |
| Availability |
State-limited (3-month promotional rates; standard MTM restrictions not disclosed) |
Nationwide telehealth |
Like-for-like price breakdown
BrightMeds offers two billing structures for each compound. The standard month-to-month rate for semaglutide is $129, verified September 4, 2026, on the provider's public plan grid. The 3-month prepaid plan delivers semaglutide at $99 per month when paid quarterly ($297 upfront), labeled as a promotional summer special and noted as state-limited. The same pattern applies to tirzepatide: $149 month-to-month standard, or $119 per month prepaid ($357 per quarter). Both figures include medication, clinician evaluation, follow-up visits, dose adjustments, customer support, and shipping; no membership, lab, or prescribing fees appear in any plan.
PlexusDx charges $189 per month for compounded semaglutide injection with no commitment, $169 per month on a 3-month plan, and $149 per month on a 6-month plan. Tirzepatide costs $289 month-to-month, $269 on a 3-month plan, and $249 on a 6-month plan. These rates are consistent across all dose levels and include the provider visit, prescription, medication, and shipping.
Twelve-month cost comparison – Semaglutide
BrightMeds month-to-month: $129 × 12 = $1,548 per year.
BrightMeds 3-month prepaid (promotional): $297 per quarter × 4 = $1,188 per year, or $99 per month equivalent (our calculation).
PlexusDx month-to-month: $189 × 12 = $2,268 per year.
PlexusDx 3-month: $169 × 12 = $2,028 per year.
PlexusDx 6-month: $149 × 12 = $1,788 per year.
BrightMeds' standard month-to-month rate saves $720 per year compared with PlexusDx month-to-month. The promotional 3-month prepaid rate saves $840 per year against PlexusDx's 3-month tier and $600 per year against PlexusDx's 6-month tier. Even BrightMeds' higher standard month-to-month rate ($1,548/year) sits $240 below PlexusDx's lowest annual cost ($1,788 on the 6-month plan).
Twelve-month cost comparison – Tirzepatide
BrightMeds month-to-month: $149 × 12 = $1,788 per year.
BrightMeds 3-month prepaid (promotional): $357 per quarter × 4 = $1,428 per year, or $119 per month equivalent (our calculation).
PlexusDx month-to-month: $289 × 12 = $3,468 per year.
PlexusDx 3-month: $269 × 12 = $3,228 per year.
PlexusDx 6-month: $249 × 12 = $2,988 per year.
BrightMeds' standard month-to-month rate saves $1,680 per year against PlexusDx month-to-month. The promotional 3-month prepaid rate saves $1,800 per year versus PlexusDx's 3-month plan and $1,560 per year versus the 6-month plan. BrightMeds' standard annual cost for tirzepatide ($1,788) is $1,200 below PlexusDx's lowest option ($2,988 on the 6-month plan).
See if you qualify for PlexusDx's flat-rate program
A licensed provider reviews your intake and determines medical fit.
Start My 60-Second Intake →About 60 seconds · $0 charged until provider approval.
Decision factors beyond the price tag
Plan structure and prepayment
BrightMeds' promotional 3-month rates require full quarterly prepayment: $297 for semaglutide, $357 for tirzepatide. If you pause or discontinue before the quarter ends, the prepaid amount is not pro-rated or refunded in the verified sources. The standard month-to-month plans carry no prepayment obligation and bill monthly. PlexusDx's canonical pricing does not specify whether the 3-month and 6-month tiers require upfront payment or monthly billing at the discounted rate; readers should confirm at intake.
State availability and promotional limits
BrightMeds labels the $99 and $119 prepaid rates as a "summer special" and notes state-limited availability. The verified sources do not list which states are excluded or whether the standard month-to-month rates ($129/$149) carry the same geographic restrictions. PlexusDx operates as a nationwide telehealth service with no disclosed state exclusions for compounded GLP-1 programs.
Formulation options
BrightMeds offers injectable compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide only. PlexusDx offers the same injectables plus oral capsule formulations of both compounds and a microdose semaglutide injection protocol for maintenance or cautious titration. Readers who prefer or require oral administration will find that option at PlexusDx.
Review evidence and volume
BrightMeds holds a 4.8-star rating on Trustpilot from more than 900 reviews (captured September 4, 2026). The research packet includes no coded negative themes or attributed complaints for BrightMeds. PlexusDx holds a 4.2-star rating on Trustpilot, with 76% of reviews at five stars and 81% at four stars or higher (captured September 4, 2026). Both programs show established review histories; BrightMeds' higher average and larger volume suggest stronger reported satisfaction at the time of capture.
Dose flexibility and price stability
Both programs hold the monthly price constant across all dose levels. A patient titrating from 0.25 mg to 2.4 mg semaglutide pays the same rate at every step. Neither program charges separately for dose adjustments or follow-up consultations.
Choose BrightMeds if…
You live in a state where BrightMeds' promotional 3-month prepaid rates are available, you can prepay $297 or $357 per quarter, and the 23–24 month savings ($360 per year for either compound) justify locking in three months at a time. Even if the promotional rates are unavailable or your state is excluded, BrightMeds' standard month-to-month pricing ($129 semaglutide, $149 tirzepatide) delivers annual savings of $720 and $1,680 respectively compared with PlexusDx's month-to-month rates. The program's 4.8-star Trustpilot rating and 900+ review volume suggest consistent reported satisfaction, and the all-inclusive structure eliminates separate membership or consultation fees. BrightMeds is the lower-cost choice on every comparable plan tier and carries stronger review metrics in the verified evidence.
Choose PlexusDx if…
You want access to oral GLP-1 formulations, which BrightMeds does not offer, or you are exploring a microdose maintenance protocol after initial weight loss. PlexusDx operates nationwide with no disclosed state restrictions, so geographic availability is broader if BrightMeds excludes your state. The program's flat dosing-independent pricing and transparent multi-tier structure (month-to-month, 3-month, 6-month) let you match commitment length to your confidence level. While PlexusDx's pricing sits higher than BrightMeds at every comparable tier, the gap narrows on longer commitments: PlexusDx's 6-month semaglutide rate ($149/month, $1,788/year) is $240 above BrightMeds' standard month-to-month cost and $600 above the promotional prepaid rate, a smaller delta than the month-to-month comparison ($720 difference). If formulation variety, nationwide reach, or a preference for the PlexusDx clinical model outweighs the cost difference, the program remains a viable option.
Methodology and freshness
BrightMeds pricing, plan structure, and included services were captured September 4, 2026, at 13:49:55 UTC from the provider's public plan grid at https://brightmeds.com/summer-special. The 3-month prepaid rates ($99 semaglutide, $119 tirzepatide) and standard month-to-month rates ($129 semaglutide, $149 tirzepatide) appeared in the same source document and are treated as concurrent offerings. PlexusDx pricing is drawn from the canonical rate card supplied in the research instructions (semaglutide injection $189 MTM / $169 3-month / $149 6-month; tirzepatide injection $289 MTM / $269 3-month / $249 6-month) and corroborated by earlier public captures (July 17–23, 2026). Trustpilot ratings for both programs were captured September 4, 2026. Twelve-month cost totals and effective monthly rates for prepaid plans are our calculation, performed by multiplying verified per-month or per-quarter figures by the appropriate billing cycle count. No discount arithmetic or derived promotional codes appear in this analysis. We recommend confirming current pricing, state availability, prepayment terms, and refund policies at intake or checkout, as promotional offers and geographic eligibility may change without notice.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does BrightMeds' $99 semaglutide rate apply every month?
The $99 per month figure is an equivalent rate for the 3-month prepaid plan, which requires a $297 upfront payment per quarter. You pay $297 every three months, not $99 monthly. The standard month-to-month rate is $129 with no prepayment required.
Are BrightMeds and PlexusDx compounded medications FDA-approved?
No. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient. Both BrightMeds and PlexusDx use compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide.
Can I switch from BrightMeds' 3-month plan to month-to-month if I want to pause?
The verified sources do not describe mid-quarter cancellation, refund, or plan-change policies. If you prepay $297 or $357 for a quarter and wish to stop or switch before the quarter ends, contact BrightMeds directly to confirm whether any portion is refundable or transferable.
Which program costs less over a full year for tirzepatide?
BrightMeds costs $1,788 per year at the standard month-to-month rate ($149/month) and $1,428 per year at the promotional 3-month prepaid rate ($119/month equivalent). PlexusDx costs $3,468 month-to-month, $3,228 on the 3-month plan, and $2,988 on the 6-month plan. BrightMeds is $1,200 to $2,040 lower per year depending on the plan tier compared.
Does either program charge separately for higher doses or follow-up visits?
No. Both BrightMeds and PlexusDx hold the monthly price constant across all dose levels and include follow-up consultations, dose adjustments, and ongoing support in the published rate. You pay the same amount whether you are at the starting dose or the maintenance dose.
Sources
- BrightMeds public plan grid and promotional offer page, https://brightmeds.com/summer-special (accessed September 4, 2026, 13:49:55 UTC)
- PlexusDx canonical pricing (semaglutide and tirzepatide injection tiers) from research instructions, corroborated by public captures July 17–23, 2026
- BrightMeds Trustpilot profile (4.8 stars, 900+ reviews, accessed September 4, 2026)
- PlexusDx Trustpilot profile (4.2 stars, 76% five-star, 81% four-star-or-higher, accessed September 4, 2026)
Ready to see if you qualify for PlexusDx?
One all-inclusive price covers your online provider visit, prescription, medication, and shipping — no membership, no hidden fees. Complete a short intake and a licensed provider reviews your fit.
Start My Intake →
Compounded medication disclosure: Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient. PlexusDx works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies.
Medical and Editorial Standards
Medical review process: This article was reviewed for medical accuracy, scientific clarity, evidence alignment, and appropriate discussion of genetics, medications, supplements, biomarkers, and health-related claims.
Sources and evidence: PlexusDx educational content is developed using peer-reviewed research, clinical literature, reputable medical references, and, where applicable, public health or regulatory guidance. References are included at the end of the article when scientific, medical, or health-related claims are discussed.
Commercial transparency: PlexusDx offers genetic testing, blood biomarker testing, personalized supplement recommendations, and related precision wellness services. Product mentions are intended to help readers understand available options and should not be interpreted as medical advice.
Important disclaimer: PlexusDx educational content is for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before making decisions about medications, supplements, genetic testing, lab testing, or health-related care.
Share:
MEDVi Oral Semaglutide Cost: Is the $70 Tablet Upgrade Worth It?
GLP-1 Telehealth Pricing: Medication, Membership and Hidden Fees