Last reviewed: September 10, 2026 Last updated: September 10, 2026

Written by: Jay Hastings, CEO of PlexusDx

Jay Hastings is the CEO of PlexusDx, a precision health company focused on genetic testing, blood biomarker insights, and personalized wellness recommendations. He has more than 20 years of experience across healthcare innovation, genomics, laboratory operations, healthcare investing, and strategic finance. His work has included scaling healthcare startups, leading CLIA lab integrations, and helping expand consumer access to precision health tools.

Medically reviewed by: Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA

Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA, is the PlexusDx Medical Science Liaison with a PharmD and MBA specializing in pharmacogenomics and clinical product development, with a proven ability to bridge the gap between genomic research and practical patient outcomes. Dr. Lee has more than 10 years of professional experience in clinical pharmacy, academia, and research.

PlexusDx publishes this comparison and is one of the providers discussed. We use the same evidence rules for our own program and competing programs.

The short answer

PlushCare operates a membership-based telehealth platform: $19.99/month after a free 30-day introductory period, plus $129 for a self-pay initial visit (plushcare.com, captured September 4, 2026). The platform does not sell medication directly; clinicians send prescriptions to your pharmacy of choice, and your final medication cost depends on your insurance coverage and the pharmacy's retail or co-pay rate. That means PlushCare's advertised fees—membership and visit—represent only a fraction of your total monthly outlay. By contrast, compounded semaglutide programs like PlexusDx bundle medication, clinician oversight, and shipping into a single fixed monthly price ($189 month-to-month for compounded semaglutide injection), with no separate membership or visit charges. The best choice depends on your insurance coverage and whether you prefer brand-name drugs dispensed through a retail pharmacy or transparent, all-in pricing for a compounded formulation.

Looking for a single monthly price that includes medication and care?

Compare all-inclusive compounded semaglutide programs with transparent, fixed-rate pricing.

See All Weight-Loss Options →

At-a-glance comparison: PlushCare vs. PlexusDx semaglutide programs

Component PlushCare PlexusDx Semaglutide Injection
Monthly membership $0 first 30 days (introductory), then $19.99/month ongoing
(plushcare.com, captured Sep 4, 2026)
None
Initial visit $129 self-pay
(plushcare.com, captured Sep 4, 2026)
Included
Medication model Prescription sent to pharmacy; cost depends on insurance/pharmacy
(plushcare.com, captured Sep 4, 2026)
Compounded semaglutide included at every dose
All-in monthly cost $19.99 membership + visit amortized + pharmacy cost (varies) $189 month-to-month, $169/month prepaid 3-mo, $149/month prepaid 6-mo
Labs Not included; cost varies
(plushcare.com, captured Sep 4, 2026)
Optional; $75 initial panel, $49 follow-up
Cancellation Cancel anytime, no minimum
(plushcare.com, captured Sep 4, 2026)
Month-to-month plan: cancel anytime
Prepaid plans: 6-mo or 3-mo commitment

PlushCare's fee structure: membership, visits, and pharmacy costs

PlushCare offers a free 30-day introductory membership period; after that trial, ongoing membership is $19.99 per month billed monthly, or $149 per year upfront—$12.42 per month when prepaid annually (plushcare.com, captured September 4, 2026). The membership itself does not include clinician visits, medication, or labs. A self-pay initial weight-management visit costs $129 (plushcare.com, captured September 4, 2026). Once a clinician writes a prescription for Wegovy, Ozempic, or another brand semaglutide, PlushCare sends that prescription to a pharmacy you choose, and the medication cost is determined by your insurance coverage, co-pay structure, or the pharmacy's cash price—not by PlushCare.

Over 12 months on the monthly membership track, membership fees total $219.89 (our calculation: $0 month one, then $19.99 × 11 months), yielding an average of $18.32 per month. Add the $129 initial visit, amortized across 12 months ($10.75 per month, our calculation), and your baseline service cost is approximately $29 per month before medication, labs, or any renewal visits. The medication itself—your largest monthly expense—remains a variable, ranging from a low insurance co-pay to several hundred dollars cash at retail pharmacies.

PlexusDx compounded semaglutide: all-inclusive fixed pricing

PlexusDx month-to-month compounded semaglutide injection is $189 per month and includes the medication at every dose, clinician oversight, and shipping (plexusdx.com, captured July 17–23, 2026). Patients who commit to three months pay $169 per month (prepaid rate, our calculation), and a six-month commitment brings the rate to $149 per month (prepaid rate, our calculation). There is no separate membership fee, no per-visit charge, and the price does not change as your dose increases. Labs are optional: a baseline metabolic panel is $75, and follow-up panels are $49.

Over 12 months on the month-to-month plan, total cost is $2,268 (our calculation: $189 × 12). On the six-month commitment, the 12-month total is $1,788 (our calculation: $149 × 12). Both figures include medication, clinician time, and delivery—nothing extra unless you choose optional lab work.

See your all-in monthly cost in about 60 seconds

A licensed clinician reviews your intake and determines whether compounded semaglutide is appropriate.

Start My 60-Second Intake →

About 60 seconds · $0 charged until provider approval.

The structural difference: telehealth platform vs. direct medication supplier

PlushCare is a telehealth platform that connects you with licensed clinicians who can prescribe brand-name semaglutide products—Wegovy for weight management or Ozempic off-label when a clinician deems it appropriate. The platform does not manufacture, compound, or dispense medication; it facilitates the prescription and (where applicable) prior-authorization paperwork, then your prescription is filled at a retail or mail-order pharmacy under your insurance plan or at the pharmacy's cash price. That means your total monthly cost has three layers: membership ($19.99/month after the trial), visits ($129 initial, frequency and cost of renewals not specified on the site), and medication (highly variable).

PlexusDx, by contrast, is a direct supplier of compounded semaglutide. The platform works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies to prepare individual patient formulations, and the monthly fee covers medication, clinician oversight, and shipping in one charge. Because compounded drugs are not FDA-approved and do not carry the brand-name premium or insurance billing infrastructure, the cost is fixed and transparent.

Brand semaglutide vs. compounded semaglutide: what you're paying for

Wegovy and Ozempic are FDA-approved for specific indications (weight management and type 2 diabetes, respectively) and carry the development, trial, and regulatory costs reflected in their list prices—often over $1,000 per month before insurance. If your insurance covers the medication and your co-pay is low, PlushCare's prescription-referral model can deliver brand therapy at an affordable net cost. If you do not have coverage or your plan excludes weight-loss drugs, the cash price at a retail pharmacy may exceed $1,000 monthly, making PlushCare's $19.99 membership a small fraction of your total outlay.

Compounded semaglutide is not FDA-approved. The FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient. Compounded formulations use the same active pharmaceutical ingredient as the brand products but are prepared by a compounding pharmacy under a patient-specific prescription. PlexusDx works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies. Because these preparations bypass brand-name pricing and insurance billing, the cost is lower and predictable, but the formulation does not carry FDA approval or the extensive post-market surveillance that comes with a branded product.

Hidden variables: renewal visits, labs, and prior authorization

PlushCare's published pricing covers membership and the initial visit. The site does not specify how often follow-up visits are required, what those visits cost, or whether labs (baseline or monitoring) are included. The site states that medications and labs are excluded from membership and visit fees (plushcare.com, captured September 4, 2026), so every lab order and every renewal appointment will add to your monthly average. For patients whose insurance requires prior authorization for Wegovy, PlushCare offers support with that paperwork, but the time to approval and the likelihood of coverage remain insurer-dependent variables.

PlexusDx requires periodic clinician check-ins (included in the monthly fee) and offers optional lab panels at published rates ($75 initial, $49 follow-up). There is no separate visit charge and no prior-authorization process because compounded medications do not bill through insurance.

Deciding factors: insurance coverage and price predictability

Insurance makes the difference. If your plan covers Wegovy or Ozempic with a low co-pay—say $25 to $50 per month—and you value FDA-approved brand therapy, PlushCare's membership and visit fees are a reasonable add-on to access that coverage. Your total monthly cost might be $75 to $100 (co-pay plus membership and amortized visits), well below the uninsured cash price and competitive with some compounded options.

No coverage or high deductible? If you pay cash for brand semaglutide, the retail price often exceeds $1,000 monthly. In that scenario, PlushCare's service fees are minor compared to the medication cost, and a compounded alternative with all-in pricing under $200 per month may offer better value.

Price transparency. PlushCare's membership and visit fees are clear; the medication cost is not. If you prefer to know your total monthly commitment before the first charge, an all-inclusive compounded program eliminates pharmacy variability.

Choose PlushCare if…

  • Your insurance plan covers Wegovy or Ozempic with a manageable co-pay, and you want brand-name FDA-approved therapy.
  • You value the flexibility to use your existing pharmacy network and insurance benefits.
  • You are comfortable navigating prior-authorization requirements and potential coverage denials.
  • You prefer a telehealth platform that connects you with clinicians but leaves medication fulfillment to a separate pharmacy.

Where PlexusDx fits

PlexusDx is built for patients who want one predictable monthly charge that covers medication, clinician care, and shipping—no insurance billing, no pharmacy variability, no surprise renewal fees. At $189 month-to-month or $149 per month on a six-month commitment, compounded semaglutide injection offers transparent pricing at every dose. The program works well for self-pay patients, those with high-deductible plans, or anyone whose insurance excludes weight-loss drugs. You lose FDA approval and the brand-name assurance that comes with Wegovy, but you gain cost certainty and simplified logistics. PlexusDx holds a 4.3-star rating on Trustpilot, with 79% of reviews at five stars and 83% at four stars or higher (captured September 9, 2026; trustpilot.com/review/plexusdx.com).

Methodology and freshness

PlushCare pricing and service details were captured from plushcare.com on September 4, 2026. PlexusDx pricing was captured from plexusdx.com between July 17 and July 23, 2026. The 12-month cost calculations, prepaid per-month rates, and amortized visit figures are our calculations, derived by arithmetic from the published rates and labeled as such throughout the article. We do not publish promotional codes or discount arithmetic. Every competitor price carries its source and capture date. Where evidence is incomplete—such as PlushCare's renewal visit frequency or cost—the article states that limitation plainly and advises confirming details at checkout. Neither PlexusDx nor PlushCare guarantees eligibility, medication type, dose, or clinical outcomes; a licensed clinician makes those determinations after reviewing each patient's intake.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does PlushCare's membership fee include the medication cost?

No. PlushCare's $19.99 monthly membership (after a free 30-day trial) covers platform access and care coordination. Medication, labs, and clinician visits are billed separately. Your final drug cost depends on your insurance coverage and the pharmacy you choose.

How much does brand semaglutide cost at a pharmacy if I don't have insurance?

Wegovy and Ozempic typically list over $1,000 per month at retail pharmacies without insurance. Discount card programs and manufacturer coupons may lower that figure, but cash prices remain substantially higher than compounded alternatives. Confirm current pricing with your pharmacy before filling a prescription.

Can I use my insurance with PlexusDx compounded semaglutide?

No. Compounded medications do not bill through insurance. PlexusDx pricing is self-pay, but the monthly rate includes medication, clinician oversight, and shipping in one fixed charge. Some patients find the predictable cost preferable to navigating co-pays, prior authorizations, and coverage denials.

What is the difference between FDA-approved semaglutide and compounded semaglutide?

FDA-approved products like Wegovy undergo rigorous trials for safety and efficacy and are monitored post-market. Compounded semaglutide uses the same active ingredient but is prepared by a licensed compounding pharmacy under a patient-specific prescription. Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved; FDA does not review them for safety, effectiveness, or quality before marketing.

Does PlushCare charge for follow-up visits or lab work?

PlushCare states that medications and labs are not included in membership or visit fees. The initial self-pay visit is $129, but the site does not specify the cost or required frequency of follow-up visits. Patients should confirm visit and lab pricing with PlushCare before enrolling if ongoing costs are a deciding factor.

Sources

  • PlushCare pricing and service structure: plushcare.com (captured September 4, 2026)
  • PlexusDx compounded semaglutide pricing: plexusdx.com (captured July 17–23, 2026)
  • PlexusDx Trustpilot rating: trustpilot.com/review/plexusdx.com (captured September 9, 2026)

Ready to see if compounded semaglutide fits your goals?

One all-inclusive price covers your online provider visit, prescription, medication, and shipping—no membership, no hidden fees. Complete a short intake and a licensed provider reviews your fit.

Start My Intake →

Compounded medication disclosure: Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient. PlexusDx works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies.

Medical and Editorial Standards

Medical review process: This article was reviewed for medical accuracy, scientific clarity, evidence alignment, and appropriate discussion of genetics, medications, supplements, biomarkers, and health-related claims.

Sources and evidence: PlexusDx educational content is developed using peer-reviewed research, clinical literature, reputable medical references, and, where applicable, public health or regulatory guidance. References are included at the end of the article when scientific, medical, or health-related claims are discussed.

Commercial transparency: PlexusDx offers genetic testing, blood biomarker testing, personalized supplement recommendations, and related precision wellness services. Product mentions are intended to help readers understand available options and should not be interpreted as medical advice.

Important disclaimer: PlexusDx educational content is for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before making decisions about medications, supplements, genetic testing, lab testing, or health-related care.

Real prescribers. Published prices. No surprises.

Licensed providers in all 50 states. Online intake. No insurance, no membership required.

Start My Intake

~60 seconds · $0 charged until your provider approves