Last reviewed: September 18, 2026 Last updated: September 18, 2026

Written by: Jay Hastings, CEO of PlexusDx

Jay Hastings is the CEO of PlexusDx, a precision health company focused on genetic testing, blood biomarker insights, and personalized wellness recommendations. He has more than 20 years of experience across healthcare innovation, genomics, laboratory operations, healthcare investing, and strategic finance. His work has included scaling healthcare startups, leading CLIA lab integrations, and helping expand consumer access to precision health tools.

Medically reviewed by: Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA

Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA, is the PlexusDx Medical Science Liaison with a PharmD and MBA specializing in pharmacogenomics and clinical product development, with a proven ability to bridge the gap between genomic research and practical patient outcomes. Dr. Lee has more than 10 years of professional experience in clinical pharmacy, academia, and research.

PlexusDx publishes this comparison and is one of the providers discussed. We use the same evidence rules for our own program and competing programs.

The short answer

LifeMD separates membership from medication. The membership starts at $39 for the first month, then $149/month ongoing; medication is billed separately. Branded oral Wegovy (semaglutide) 1.5 mg costs $149/month for the medication, bringing your total to $188 the first month and $298/month thereafter—an average of $288.83/month over 12 months. Branded Zepbound (tirzepatide injection) starts at $299/month for medication, for a total of $338 the first month and $448/month thereafter—an average of $438.83/month over 12 months (higher doses cost more). Both options are FDA-approved branded medications dispensed through traditional pharmacies. You can cancel the membership anytime; there is no long-term contract. All figures verified September 4, 2026, from lifemd.com.

Looking for a simpler cash-pay GLP-1 structure?

See compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide options with no separate membership fee.

Compare weight management options →

LifeMD pricing at a glance

Component First Month Ongoing
Membership $39 $149/month
Wegovy pill 1.5 mg (oral semaglutide) $149 $149/month
Zepbound vial (tirzepatide injection, starting dose) $299 $299/month
Total (Wegovy pill) $188 $298/month
Total (Zepbound) $338 $448/month

Source: lifemd.com, captured September 4, 2026. The membership includes clinician access, coaching, and labs. Medication is billed separately. Higher doses of both Wegovy pill and Zepbound cost more than the starting-dose figures shown here; dose-specific pricing appears at checkout.

The membership-plus-medication model explained

LifeMD's structure splits your monthly cost into two charges. The membership fee covers your clinician visits, care team coaching, and lab work. The medication fee covers the FDA-approved branded drug—Wegovy (oral semaglutide) or Zepbound (injectable tirzepatide)—dispensed by a traditional pharmacy and shipped to you. You pay both every month. The first-month introductory membership rate is $39; from month two onward, the membership costs $149/month. Medication pricing remains the same every month for a given dose but increases if your clinician raises your dose.

LifeMD states you can cancel the membership anytime; there is no long-term contract (lifemd.com/weight-management, captured September 4, 2026). Canceling the membership means you lose access to the clinical team and can no longer receive medication through the program.

Wegovy pill: LifeMD's lower-cost option

The Wegovy pill is an oral formulation of semaglutide. LifeMD offers a 1.5 mg dose at $149/month for the medication alone (30-day supply). Add the $149/month ongoing membership, and your recurring total is $298/month. The first month costs $188 ($39 membership + $149 medication). Over 12 months, you pay $3,466 total, or an average of $288.83/month (our calculation, verified from primary pricing data captured September 4, 2026).

LifeMD also lists a 25 mg Wegovy pill starting at $299/month for the medication (lifemd.com/weight-management/wegovy-pill-25mg, captured September 4, 2026). That would bring your total to $448/month ongoing once you add the membership, though the 1.5 mg dose remains the entry point advertised on the main weight-management page.

Zepbound injection: tirzepatide at $448/month and up

Zepbound is the branded injectable form of tirzepatide. The starting dose costs $299/month for the medication (28-day supply), bringing your total to $448/month after the first month ($338 the first month with the introductory membership rate). Higher doses cost more, though LifeMD does not publish per-dose pricing publicly; dose-specific costs appear after your clinician prescribes.

Over 12 months at the starting dose, you pay $5,266 total, or an average of $438.83/month (our calculation). If your dose increases—common in GLP-1 therapy—your medication cost rises, and so does your monthly total. LifeMD's website states "higher doses vary" but does not specify the increments (lifemd.com, captured September 4, 2026).

Normalized 12-month cost comparison

To see the true recurring burden, we calculated total cost over 12 months for each LifeMD option and compared them to compounded GLP-1 programs with no separate membership fee. All figures are month-to-month, cancel-anytime pricing—no prepay required.

Option Medication Type 12-Month Total Avg/Month
LifeMD Wegovy pill 1.5 mg + membership Branded oral semaglutide (FDA-approved) $3,466 $288.83
PlexusDx semaglutide injection Compounded injectable semaglutide $2,268 $189.00
Difference (semaglutide) +$1,198 +$99.83
LifeMD Zepbound starting dose + membership Branded injectable tirzepatide (FDA-approved) $5,266 $438.83
PlexusDx tirzepatide injection Compounded injectable tirzepatide $3,468 $289.00
Difference (tirzepatide) — first-month advertised vs. ongoing rate +$1,798 first-year total +$149.83

All 12-month totals and averages are our calculation, derived from published month-to-month rates. LifeMD figures assume the starting dose for the full 12 months; dose escalation would increase the medication cost and widen the gap. PlexusDx pricing is the same at every dose. The LifeMD Wegovy pill comparison pairs oral branded semaglutide against injectable compounded semaglutide—different formulations and regulatory pathways.

Save over $1,000 per year with compounded semaglutide

A licensed provider reviews your intake to determine if compounded GLP-1 is appropriate for you.

Start My 60-Second Intake →

About 60 seconds · $0 charged until provider approval.

Branded FDA-approved vs compounded: what you're paying for

LifeMD dispenses Wegovy and Zepbound—branded medications that have completed FDA new-drug-application review for safety, effectiveness, and manufacturing quality. These drugs are made by Novo Nordisk (Wegovy) and Eli Lilly (Zepbound) and distributed through traditional pharmacies. The FDA monitors their production continuously.

Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide are mixed by state-licensed 503A compounding pharmacies under a clinician's prescription for an individual patient. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient. PlexusDx works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies. Compounded formulations typically cost less because they bypass branded-drug development and marketing overhead.

The price difference—$99.83/month on average for semaglutide, $149.83/month for tirzepatide—reflects the branded-versus-compounded distinction, the separate membership fee, and the coaching and lab infrastructure LifeMD includes. If you prioritize FDA-reviewed manufacturing and want built-in labs and coaching, LifeMD's model may justify the premium. If cost predictability and simplicity matter more, compounded options with no membership layer may fit better.

Oral versus injectable: formulation and convenience

LifeMD's Wegovy pill is one of the few cash-pay oral semaglutide options widely advertised. Oral GLP-1 formulations eliminate injections, which some patients prefer. However, oral semaglutide typically requires daily dosing (the Wegovy pill is taken once daily), while injectable semaglutide is dosed once weekly. Absorption and bioavailability differ between the two routes, and clinical response can vary by patient.

The injectable options—LifeMD's Zepbound and compounded tirzepatide—are both dosed weekly. The convenience advantage of injections (fewer doses per week) must be weighed against needle aversion. LifeMD's Zepbound vials come with syringes; compounded programs typically supply prefilled syringes or vials with needles.

What the membership covers

The $149/month ongoing membership ($39 first month) at LifeMD includes access to clinicians for follow-up, care-team coaching, and lab work (lifemd.com, captured September 4, 2026). The platform does not specify the frequency of included labs or whether all lab panels are covered without additional cost; confirm coverage details before enrollment if regular lab monitoring matters to your decision.

Programs that bundle clinical access into the medication price (like PlexusDx) do not charge a separate membership fee. PlexusDx includes clinician messaging, dose adjustments, and prescription refills in the $189/month (semaglutide) or $289/month (tirzepatide) flat rate; labs are available as add-ons. The LifeMD membership model may suit patients who want scheduled coaching touchpoints and proactive lab ordering as part of the service; the all-inclusive model may suit patients who want one predictable charge with no recurring fees beyond medication.

Dose escalation and cost predictability

LifeMD states that higher doses of both Wegovy pill and Zepbound cost more than the starting prices shown here, but does not publish a full dose-price schedule. If your clinician increases your dose, your medication cost will rise; the membership fee stays at $149/month. This makes long-term budgeting harder—you know the membership cost, but the medication cost is dose-dependent and opaque until after your clinician prescribes.

PlexusDx charges the same price at every dose: $189/month for semaglutide injection, $289/month for tirzepatide injection, whether you are at 0.25 mg weekly or the maximum maintenance dose. That flat-rate structure simplifies cost forecasting over a multi-month weight-management program.

Choose LifeMD if…

  • You want FDA-approved branded Wegovy or Zepbound and are willing to pay a premium for that regulatory pathway.
  • You prefer an oral daily medication (Wegovy pill) over weekly injections and the $288.83/month average fits your budget.
  • You value built-in care-team coaching and regular lab work as part of a membership structure.
  • You want the flexibility to cancel anytime without a contract, even though the cost is higher than compounded alternatives.

Choose compounded GLP-1 if…

  • Minimizing out-of-pocket cost is your priority, and you are comfortable with compounded medications that are not FDA-approved.
  • You want one flat monthly rate with no separate membership fee, and you prefer cost predictability across dose increases.
  • You are willing to use injectable medication weekly (compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide) rather than a daily oral pill.
  • You want the same price at every dose, so your budget does not change when your clinician raises your dose.

Where PlexusDx fits

PlexusDx works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies to provide semaglutide and tirzepatide injections. The month-to-month rate is $189 for semaglutide and $289 for tirzepatide—both below LifeMD's membership-plus-medication totals by $99.83 and $149.83 per month, respectively. There is no separate membership fee, and the price does not change when your dose increases. Your prescription, clinician visits, medication, and shipping are included in the single monthly charge. A licensed clinician reviews your intake to determine if a compounded GLP-1 prescription is appropriate; no cost is charged until you are approved and confirm your first order. PlexusDx also offers three-month and six-month commitment pricing at lower per-month rates for patients who want to prepay for additional savings.

Methodology and freshness

All LifeMD pricing and policy details were captured September 4, 2026, from lifemd.com/weight-management and lifemd.com/weight-management/wegovy-pill-25mg, using checkout-verified methodology. PlexusDx pricing was captured between July 17 and July 23, 2026, from plexusdx.com product pages. The 12-month total-cost figures and average monthly rates are our calculation, derived by multiplying published monthly rates and adding the first-month introductory membership fee for LifeMD. We assumed starting doses for the full 12 months; actual costs may differ if dose escalation occurs. We compared like formulations where possible (injectable tirzepatide to injectable tirzepatide) and noted formulation differences where comparisons crossed routes (oral branded semaglutide to injectable compounded semaglutide). All pricing is cash-pay; no insurance reimbursement is assumed.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does LifeMD require a long-term contract or prepayment?

No. LifeMD states you can cancel the membership anytime, and billing is monthly. There is no multi-month prepayment requirement. You pay $39 for the first month's membership, then $149/month ongoing, plus the separate medication cost each month.

Is the $39 first-month price the total cost, or do I also pay for medication?

The $39 is the first-month membership fee only. Medication is billed separately—$149/month for Wegovy pill 1.5 mg or $299/month for Zepbound starting dose. Your total first-month cost is $188 or $338, depending on which medication you choose.

Why does LifeMD cost more than compounded GLP-1 programs?

LifeMD dispenses FDA-approved branded medications (Wegovy, Zepbound) and charges a separate membership fee that covers clinician access, coaching, and labs. Compounded programs use non-FDA-approved formulations and bundle clinical access into a single medication price, which typically costs less.

Does PlexusDx charge a membership fee like LifeMD?

No. PlexusDx includes clinician visits, prescription management, medication, and shipping in one monthly medication price—$189 for semaglutide injection or $289 for tirzepatide injection. There is no separate membership or subscription fee.

Will my medication cost increase if my dose goes up with LifeMD?

Yes. LifeMD states that higher doses cost more than the starting prices shown here, though per-dose pricing is not published publicly. The membership fee stays at $149/month, but the medication charge will rise with dose escalation. Confirm dose-specific pricing with LifeMD before committing.

Sources

  • LifeMD weight management page: lifemd.com/weight-management (accessed September 4, 2026)
  • LifeMD Wegovy pill 25 mg page: lifemd.com/weight-management/wegovy-pill-25mg (accessed September 4, 2026)
  • PlexusDx semaglutide injection product page: plexusdx.com/products/semaglutide-injection (accessed July 17–23, 2026)
  • PlexusDx tirzepatide injection product page: plexusdx.com/products/tirzepatide-injection (accessed July 17–23, 2026)
  • PlexusDx Trustpilot profile: trustpilot.com/review/plexusdx.com (accessed September 9, 2026)

Ready to compare your cash-pay GLP-1 options?

One all-inclusive price covers your online provider visit, prescription, medication, and shipping—no membership, no hidden fees. Complete a short intake and a licensed provider reviews your fit.

Start My Intake →

Compounded medication disclosure: Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient. PlexusDx works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies.

Medical and Editorial Standards

Medical review process: This article was reviewed for medical accuracy, scientific clarity, evidence alignment, and appropriate discussion of genetics, medications, supplements, biomarkers, and health-related claims.

Sources and evidence: PlexusDx educational content is developed using peer-reviewed research, clinical literature, reputable medical references, and, where applicable, public health or regulatory guidance. References are included at the end of the article when scientific, medical, or health-related claims are discussed.

Commercial transparency: PlexusDx offers genetic testing, blood biomarker testing, personalized supplement recommendations, and related precision wellness services. Product mentions are intended to help readers understand available options and should not be interpreted as medical advice.

Important disclaimer: PlexusDx educational content is for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before making decisions about medications, supplements, genetic testing, lab testing, or health-related care.