Last reviewed: September 24, 2026 Last updated: September 24, 2026

Written by: Jay Hastings, CEO of PlexusDx

Jay Hastings is the CEO of PlexusDx, a precision health company focused on genetic testing, blood biomarker insights, and personalized wellness recommendations. He has more than 20 years of experience across healthcare innovation, genomics, laboratory operations, healthcare investing, and strategic finance. His work has included scaling healthcare startups, leading CLIA lab integrations, and helping expand consumer access to precision health tools.

Medically reviewed by: Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA

Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA, is the PlexusDx Medical Science Liaison with a PharmD and MBA specializing in pharmacogenomics and clinical product development, with a proven ability to bridge the gap between genomic research and practical patient outcomes. Dr. Lee has more than 10 years of professional experience in clinical pharmacy, academia, and research.

PlexusDx publishes this comparison and is one of the providers discussed. We use the same evidence rules for our own program and competing programs.

The short answer

Alan Meds presents two official but conflicting cash-pay pricing structures for compounded semaglutide injection. One page advertises a buy-one-get-one promotional offer—$315 prepaid for two months (a prepaid promotional rate of $158 per month)—while another official page lists a first-month introductory rate of $297 followed by $397 per month for standard refills. Over 12 months, the prepaid promotional scenario totals $1,890 (our calculation: $157.50/month effective) if the offer renews continuously; the first-month/refill structure totals $4,664 (our calculation: $388.67/month effective). PlexusDx compounded semaglutide injection runs $189/month month-to-month with no introductory pricing ($2,268 over 12 months) or $149/month prepaid on a six-month commitment ($1,788 over 12 months, our calculation). Both Alan Meds pages were captured September 4, 2026, from alanmeds.com. We recommend confirming which pricing model applies—and whether promotional rates renew—at Alan Meds' checkout before committing.

Comparing cash-pay GLP-1 options without insurance?

See transparent month-to-month and prepaid pricing with no promotional fine print.

View All Weight-Management Protocols →

At-a-glance comparison

Provider Medication Pricing Structure 12-Month Total Source / Captured
Alan Meds Compounded semaglutide injection Buy-one-get-one prepaid promotional: $315 for 2 months ($158/month effective, our calculation) $1,890 (our calculation, if promo renews) alanmeds.com/medications/personalized-compounded-semaglutide; Sep 4, 2026
Alan Meds Compounded semaglutide injection First-month introductory $297, then $397/month standard refills $4,664 (our calculation) alanmeds.com/resource/tirzepatide-supply-update; Sep 4, 2026
PlexusDx Compounded semaglutide injection $189/month month-to-month $2,268 plexusdx.com; Sep 24, 2026
PlexusDx Compounded semaglutide injection $149/month prepaid (6-month commitment) $1,788 (our calculation, 2 cycles) plexusdx.com; Sep 24, 2026
Alan Meds Compounded tirzepatide Offered; price requires intake Not verified alanmeds.com; Sep 4, 2026
PlexusDx Compounded tirzepatide injection $289/month month-to-month $3,468 plexusdx.com; Sep 24, 2026
PlexusDx Compounded tirzepatide injection $249/month prepaid (6-month commitment) $2,988 (our calculation, 2 cycles) plexusdx.com; Sep 24, 2026

The official-page conflict

On September 4, 2026, we captured two Alan Meds pricing presentations for compounded semaglutide injection from separate official pages, and they do not align. The product page for personalized compounded semaglutide (alanmeds.com/medications/personalized-compounded-semaglutide) advertises a "Buy one month, get one free" offer: $315 upfront for a two-month supply, which works out to a prepaid promotional rate of $158 per month (our calculation). The page labels this as including consult, medication, and shipping, billed as a single prepaid charge for two months.

A different Alan Meds page—a tirzepatide supply update at alanmeds.com/resource/tirzepatide-supply-update—lists compounded semaglutide at $297 for the first month (advertised first-month introductory rate), then $397 per month thereafter for standard refills, billed monthly for a one-month supply, also described as all-inclusive.

Both pages were live and accessible on the same day. We did not submit payment, so we cannot confirm which structure a new patient encounters at checkout, whether the buy-one-get-one offer renews beyond the initial two months, or whether the first-month/refill model remains active. This conflict is not a data-entry error on our part; it reflects the published state of Alan Meds' website as captured. We present both structures transparently and recommend confirming current pricing and renewal terms directly with Alan Meds before enrollment.

12-month cost breakdown: promotional scenario

If the buy-one-get-one offer renews continuously every two months, a patient would pay $315 six times over 12 months, for a total of $1,890 (our calculation). Divided across 12 months, that is an effective rate of $157.50 per month (our calculation, prepaid promotional). This scenario assumes the promotional offer is not limited to new patients only and that it applies to every two-month cycle without reverting to a higher refill rate—assumptions we could not verify from the captured pages.

By comparison, PlexusDx compounded semaglutide injection costs $189 per month on a month-to-month basis with no promotional period, totaling $2,268 over 12 months. On a six-month prepaid commitment, PlexusDx charges $149 per month; two six-month cycles total $1,788 over 12 months (our calculation, prepaid).

If Alan Meds' buy-one-get-one rate applies only to the first two months and subsequent months revert to the standard refill rate of $397, the 12-month picture changes sharply. Under that interpretation, months 1–2 cost $315 total, and months 3–12 cost $397 each (10 × $397 = $3,970), for a 12-month total of $4,285 (our calculation) and an effective monthly rate of approximately $357.08 (our calculation). The captured promotional page does not specify whether the offer is one-time or recurring, which is why we model both scenarios and flag the uncertainty.

12-month cost breakdown: first-month/refill scenario

Under the first-month/refill structure published on Alan Meds' tirzepatide update page, month one costs $297 (advertised first-month introductory rate) and months 2 through 12 each cost $397 (standard refill rate). The arithmetic: $297 + (11 × $397) = $297 + $4,367 = $4,664 over 12 months (our calculation), or approximately $388.67 per month effective (our calculation).

This structure is straightforward—no ambiguity about renewal—but it results in a materially higher annual cost than PlexusDx's month-to-month rate of $189 ($2,268 over 12 months) and more than double PlexusDx's six-month prepaid rate of $149 per month ($1,788 over 12 months, our calculation).

The first-month discount of $100 ($297 vs. $397) does not substantially alter the 12-month total when the standard refill rate holds for 11 months. Patients evaluating this model should focus on the $397 recurring cost, not the introductory figure.

Avoid guessing at renewal rates

PlexusDx publishes one transparent rate at every dose—no introductory period, no hidden refill jump. A licensed provider reviews your intake in about 60 seconds.

Start My 60-Second Intake →

About 60 seconds · $0 charged until provider approval.

What is included in these prices

Both Alan Meds pricing pages describe their rates as all-inclusive: online provider consultation, compounded medication, and shipping are bundled into the figures above. Neither page lists a separate membership fee or per-visit charge in the captured evidence. PlexusDx operates on the same all-in model: the published monthly price covers the provider visit, prescription review, compounded medication at any dose, and shipping, with no membership fee.

Alan Meds uses compounded semaglutide; PlexusDx likewise works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies for semaglutide and tirzepatide injection and oral formulations. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient. PlexusDx works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies.

Tirzepatide pricing

Alan Meds advertises compounded tirzepatide but does not publish a checkout price on its website; the captured evidence indicates that pricing requires completion of an intake (source: alanmeds.com, captured September 4, 2026). We cannot perform a like-for-like 12-month comparison without a verified Alan Meds tirzepatide figure.

For reference, PlexusDx compounded tirzepatide injection costs $289 per month month-to-month ($3,468 over 12 months) or $249 per month on a six-month prepaid commitment ($2,988 over 12 months, our calculation). Patients considering tirzepatide through Alan Meds should request the full monthly cost—including any introductory vs. refill pricing—before enrollment and calculate the 12-month total to compare directly.

Service quality and reviews

Alan Meds maintains a Trustpilot profile, but our September 4, 2026 research pass did not capture a numerical rating or review volume, and no specific customer feedback excerpts were indexed. We cannot characterize Alan Meds' service reputation from the available evidence.

PlexusDx holds a 4.3-star rating on Trustpilot, with 79 percent of reviews at five stars and 83 percent at four stars or higher (captured September 9, 2026; trustpilot.com/review/plexusdx.com).

Service quality, provider responsiveness, pharmacy fulfillment speed, and customer support are material considerations when monthly costs are similar or when promotional pricing introduces uncertainty about renewals. We recommend reviewing recent Trustpilot and Reddit reports for any provider before committing to a multi-month supply or prepaid plan.

Decision factors

Pricing transparency and renewal certainty

The conflict between Alan Meds' two official pricing pages creates uncertainty. If the buy-one-get-one promotional rate renews indefinitely and a patient qualifies every cycle, Alan Meds could offer the lowest 12-month cost among the options compared here—$1,890 (our calculation, prepaid promotional) vs. PlexusDx's $1,788 on a six-month prepaid plan (our calculation) or $2,268 month-to-month. But if the promotional rate is one-time only, or if a patient's subsequent orders revert to the $397 standard refill rate, Alan Meds becomes the highest-cost option by a wide margin.

PlexusDx publishes a single rate for each commitment tier—$189 month-to-month, $169 on a three-month plan, $149 on a six-month plan—with no introductory period, no promotional fine print, and the same price at every dose. This structure eliminates renewal surprise and allows straightforward annual budgeting.

Prepayment and commitment

Alan Meds' buy-one-get-one offer requires $315 upfront for two months of medication. PlexusDx's lowest rate ($149/month) requires a six-month prepaid commitment of $894 upfront. Patients who prefer to pay month-by-month without a prepayment obligation can choose PlexusDx's $189/month option or—if Alan Meds' first-month/refill model is the active structure—Alan Meds at $297 the first month and $397 thereafter, though the latter carries a significantly higher 12-month cost.

Medication options

Alan Meds offers compounded semaglutide injection and compounded tirzepatide (pricing for tirzepatide not verified). PlexusDx offers compounded semaglutide injection, compounded tirzepatide injection, oral semaglutide capsules, oral tirzepatide capsules, and a microdose GLP-1 maintenance protocol at $129/month month-to-month. Patients interested in oral formulations or a lower-dose maintenance option will find those explicitly priced and available at PlexusDx; we did not capture evidence of oral GLP-1 offerings from Alan Meds in this research pass.

Choose Alan Meds if…

You confirm at checkout that the buy-one-get-one promotional offer renews every two months without limitation, you are comfortable with the $315 prepaid billing cycle, and the effective prepaid promotional rate of $158/month (our calculation) holds over the duration you plan to use the medication. In that scenario, Alan Meds may deliver a lower per-month cost than PlexusDx's month-to-month option, though still slightly higher than PlexusDx's six-month prepaid rate of $149/month (our calculation: $1,890 vs. $1,788 over 12 months). You should also verify that no separate fees, visit charges, or dose-tier pricing apply, and request written confirmation of the renewal terms before your first payment.

Choose PlexusDx if…

You want one published rate with no introductory period, no promotional ambiguity, and no risk of a refill-rate jump. PlexusDx's $189/month month-to-month semaglutide injection plan costs $2,268 over 12 months with zero prepayment and no commitment; the six-month prepaid option at $149/month totals $1,788 over 12 months (our calculation) and is the lowest verified 12-month cost in this comparison. You pay the same price whether you are at 0.25 mg or 2.4 mg, the medication and shipping are included, and there is no membership fee. If you are considering tirzepatide or oral GLP-1 formulations, PlexusDx publishes transparent pricing for those options as well: tirzepatide injection runs $289/month month-to-month or $249/month prepaid for six months, and oral semaglutide is available at $289/month month-to-month. The 4.3-star Trustpilot rating and majority five-star reviews provide documented service feedback.

Methodology and freshness

We captured Alan Meds pricing from two official pages—alanmeds.com/medications/personalized-compounded-semaglutide and alanmeds.com/resource/tirzepatide-supply-update—on September 4, 2026. Both pages were live and accessible; we did not submit payment or create an account. The conflict between the buy-one-get-one promotional page and the first-month/refill page is documented as observed. PlexusDx pricing was verified September 24, 2026, from plexusdx.com. All 12-month totals and effective monthly rates labeled "our calculation" are arithmetic derivations from the captured per-month or per-cycle prices; we did not observe those totals on any provider's website. Alan Meds' Trustpilot profile link was verified September 4, 2026, but no rating or review count was captured in that pass. PlexusDx's Trustpilot rating (4.3 stars, 79% five-star, 83% four-star or higher) was captured September 9, 2026, from trustpilot.com/review/plexusdx.com. We recommend confirming all pricing, renewal terms, and service policies directly with each provider at checkout, as offers and page content may change after our capture dates.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Alan Meds' buy-one-get-one promotional rate renew every two months?

The promotional page captured September 4, 2026 does not specify whether the offer is limited to new patients or renews indefinitely. We recommend confirming renewal terms and any eligibility restrictions with Alan Meds directly before your first payment to avoid unexpected refill-rate increases.

Which Alan Meds pricing structure will I see at checkout?

We captured two conflicting official pricing pages on the same day: one advertising a buy-one-get-one prepaid offer ($315 for two months) and another listing a first-month introductory rate of $297 followed by standard refills at $397/month. Confirm the active pricing model and written renewal terms at Alan Meds' checkout before committing.

How does PlexusDx's six-month prepaid rate compare over 12 months?

PlexusDx compounded semaglutide injection at $149/month on a six-month commitment totals $894 per cycle. Two cycles over 12 months cost $1,788 (our calculation), which is the lowest verified 12-month total in this comparison and $102 less than Alan Meds' promotional scenario if that offer renews continuously.

Are Alan Meds' compounded medications FDA-approved?

No. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient. This applies to both Alan Meds and PlexusDx compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide.

Does PlexusDx charge more as my dose increases?

No. PlexusDx charges the same monthly price at every dose. Whether you are at 0.25 mg or 2.4 mg for semaglutide, or any tirzepatide dose, the rate remains $189/month month-to-month (or $149/month on a six-month plan) for semaglutide injection, with no dose-tier pricing or unexpected cost increases during titration.

Sources

  • PlexusDx product pricing and terms — plexusdx.com, plexusdx.com/products/semaglutide-injection; accessed September 24, 2026
  • Alan Meds compounded semaglutide buy-one-get-one promotional offer — alanmeds.com/medications/personalized-compounded-semaglutide; accessed September 4, 2026
  • Alan Meds compounded semaglutide first-month/refill pricing — alanmeds.com/resource/tirzepatide-supply-update; accessed September 4, 2026
  • Alan Meds compounded tirzepatide offering — alanmeds.com; accessed September 4, 2026
  • PlexusDx Trustpilot rating and review distribution — trustpilot.com/review/plexusdx.com; accessed September 9, 2026
  • Alan Meds Trustpilot profile verification — trustpilot.com; accessed September 4, 2026

Ready to start with transparent, all-inclusive pricing?

One all-inclusive price covers your online provider visit, prescription, medication, and shipping—no membership, no hidden fees. Complete a short intake and a licensed provider reviews your fit.

Start My Intake →

Compounded medication disclosure: Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient. PlexusDx works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies.

Medical and Editorial Standards

Medical review process: This article was reviewed for medical accuracy, scientific clarity, evidence alignment, and appropriate discussion of genetics, medications, supplements, biomarkers, and health-related claims.

Sources and evidence: PlexusDx educational content is developed using peer-reviewed research, clinical literature, reputable medical references, and, where applicable, public health or regulatory guidance. References are included at the end of the article when scientific, medical, or health-related claims are discussed.

Commercial transparency: PlexusDx offers genetic testing, blood biomarker testing, personalized supplement recommendations, and related precision wellness services. Product mentions are intended to help readers understand available options and should not be interpreted as medical advice.

Important disclaimer: PlexusDx educational content is for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before making decisions about medications, supplements, genetic testing, lab testing, or health-related care.

Real prescribers. Published prices. No surprises.

Licensed providers in all 50 states. Online intake. No insurance, no membership required.

Start My Intake →

~60 seconds · $0 charged until your provider approves