Last reviewed: September 5, 2026 Last updated: September 5, 2026

Written by: Jay Hastings, CEO of PlexusDx

Jay Hastings is the CEO of PlexusDx, a precision health company focused on genetic testing, blood biomarker insights, and personalized wellness recommendations. He has more than 20 years of experience across healthcare innovation, genomics, laboratory operations, healthcare investing, and strategic finance. His work has included scaling healthcare startups, leading CLIA lab integrations, and helping expand consumer access to precision health tools.

Medically reviewed by: Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA

Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA, is the PlexusDx Medical Science Liaison with a PharmD and MBA specializing in pharmacogenomics and clinical product development, with a proven ability to bridge the gap between genomic research and practical patient outcomes. Dr. Lee has more than 10 years of professional experience in clinical pharmacy, academia, and research.

PlexusDx publishes this comparison and is one of the providers discussed. We use the same evidence rules for our own program and competing programs.

The short answer

Alan Meds presents two different compounded semaglutide pricing structures on official website pages captured September 4, 2026. One page advertises a $315 buy-one-get-one promotional offer ($158 per month effective for the first two months). A separate official resource page states $297 for the first month, then $397 monthly thereafter. Neither page documents what happens after the promotional period, and the two structures cannot both represent standard ongoing pricing. A prospective patient researching Alan Meds would encounter this exact conflict depending on which page they land on.

Over 12 months, if the $297/$397 structure applies and the $397 rate continues, the effective monthly cost reaches $389 per month—$200 more per month than PlexusDx month-to-month semaglutide injection at $189, and $240 more than PlexusDx's 6-month commitment rate of $149 per month. The buy-one-get-one path cannot be calculated beyond two months because no standard refill rate is disclosed for that promotional track.

The takeaway: Alan Meds' advertised rates require careful verification at checkout, and the lack of a single transparent ongoing price makes year-one cost planning difficult. PlexusDx publishes one flat rate per commitment tier—the price you see is the price you pay every month, at every dose.

Need a semaglutide price you can plan around?

Compare Alan Meds' conflicting offers to PlexusDx's single published rate—same price every month, every dose, no surprises.

See PlexusDx Semaglutide Pricing →

Alan Meds pricing at a glance

Item Structure A (BOGO promotional) Structure B (first-month/refill)
Medication Compounded semaglutide injection Compounded semaglutide injection
Promotional price $315 upfront for 2 months ($158/month effective, promotional buy-one-get-one rate) $297 first month (first-month introductory price)
Standard ongoing rate Not disclosed for BOGO path $397/month (stated as monthly rate thereafter)
Membership fee $0 $0
Inclusions Consultation, medication, shipping
Source & date https://www.alanmeds.com/medications/personalized-compounded-semaglutide (Sep 4, 2026) https://www.alanmeds.com/resource/tirzepatide-supply-update (Sep 4, 2026)
Conflict status Official-page conflict: Both structures published simultaneously on different Alan Meds pages; cannot both represent standard pricing.

Important: Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient. PlexusDx works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies.

The pricing conflict, documented

On September 4, 2026, two official Alan Meds website pages displayed incompatible semaglutide pricing:

Page one (the primary semaglutide medication page) advertised a buy-one-get-one promotional offer: $315 charged upfront, covering a two-month supply. That equals an effective rate of $158 per month over the promotional period. The page labeled this as "Compounded semaglutide BOGO" and included consultation, medication, and shipping. No ongoing refill price was stated for patients continuing beyond two months on this promotional path.

Page two (an official resource article about tirzepatide supply) stated different terms for compounded semaglutide: $297 for the first month, then $397 monthly thereafter. This structure uses the conventional first-month discount model, with a higher recurring rate beginning in month two.

Both pages were captured at 13:49:55 UTC on the same day from alanmeds.com domain. Our verification process did not submit payment or complete checkout, so we cannot confirm which structure a patient would encounter at the final purchase step, whether both offers run concurrently for different patient cohorts, or whether one represents outdated information not yet removed from the site.

The conflict matters because the two structures produce vastly different long-term costs, and a prospective patient searching "Alan Meds semaglutide price" could land on either page and form different budget expectations.

12-month cost breakdown: Alan Meds scenarios

Because Alan Meds' pricing conflict prevents a single authoritative calculation, we model both documented paths and state the limitations plainly.

Scenario A: Buy-one-get-one promotional path

  • Months 1–2: $315 total ($158 per month effective, promotional prepaid rate)
  • Months 3–12: Unknown—no standard refill rate disclosed for the BOGO path
  • 12-month total: Cannot calculate; insufficient evidence beyond the two-month promotional window

If we speculate that pricing reverts to the $397 monthly rate seen in scenario B (not documented, purely illustrative), the arithmetic would be $315 + ($397 × 10 months) = $4,285 total, or $357 per month effective over 12 months. That speculation is our calculation and not verified.

Scenario B: First-month discount, then $397 monthly

  • Month 1: $297 (first-month introductory price)
  • Months 2–12: $397 × 11 months = $4,367
  • 12-month total: $297 + $4,367 = $4,664 (our calculation)
  • Effective monthly cost: $4,664 ÷ 12 = $389 per month (our calculation)

This scenario assumes the $397 rate continues uninterrupted after month one. The source page states "$397 monthly thereafter" but does not specify contract length, cancellation terms, or whether further discounts apply at longer tenures.

One transparent semaglutide price—no conflict, no surprise refill jumps

Complete a 60-second intake and a licensed provider reviews whether compounded semaglutide injection fits your health profile.

Start My 60-Second Intake →

About 60 seconds · $0 charged until provider approval.

PlexusDx semaglutide injection pricing

PlexusDx publishes three commitment tiers for compounded semaglutide injection. Every tier charges the same rate at every dose—no dosage surcharges, no hidden fees, no promotional-to-refill price jump.

  • Month-to-month: $189 per month
  • 3-month commitment: $169 per month
  • 6-month commitment: $149 per month

All plans include the online provider visit, prescription, compounded medication, and shipping in the stated price. There is no separate membership fee. Pricing verified July 17–23, 2026.

12-month cost calculations (our calculation):

  • Month-to-month: $189 × 12 = $2,268 total | $189 per month effective
  • 6-month commitment (continuing for 12 months): $149 × 12 = $1,788 total | $149 per month effective

Head-to-head: Alan Meds scenario B vs. PlexusDx

Using the only Alan Meds pricing path for which we can calculate a 12-month total—scenario B, $297 first month then $397 monthly—the comparison is:

Provider & plan 12-month total Effective monthly Difference vs Alan Meds
Alan Meds scenario B $4,664 $389/month
PlexusDx month-to-month $2,268 $189/month $200/month less
PlexusDx 6-month commitment $1,788 $149/month $240/month less

All figures our calculation from documented per-month rates. Alan Meds scenario B assumes the $397 monthly rate continues without further discount; PlexusDx 6-month commitment assumes the patient renews or continues month-to-month after the initial term.

PlexusDx month-to-month semaglutide costs $2,396 less over 12 months than Alan Meds scenario B ($4,664 – $2,268). The 6-month commitment tier costs $2,876 less over the year ($4,664 – $1,788).

What about Alan Meds tirzepatide?

Alan Meds offers compounded tirzepatide injection but does not publish pricing on its website. The September 4, 2026 capture found that tirzepatide cost requires completing the intake process. Patients considering tirzepatide cannot compare Alan Meds pricing to other providers without initiating an account and consultation.

For reference, PlexusDx publishes tirzepatide injection pricing at $289 per month (month-to-month), $269 per month (3-month commitment), and $249 per month (6-month commitment), verified July 2026. Same-price-at-every-dose and all-inclusive terms apply.

Why pricing conflicts matter

Telehealth weight management is a months-long commitment. Small monthly differences compound:

  • A $200 per month gap becomes $2,400 over one year, $4,800 over two years.
  • Promotional first-month pricing can obscure the true cost of staying on treatment through goal weight and maintenance.
  • When two official pages show different structures, a patient cannot confidently budget without contacting support or reaching checkout—and by that point, some platforms have already collected contact information or begun onboarding.

Transparent, consistent published pricing allows side-by-side comparison before intake and reduces the risk of surprise costs after the first refill.

Decision factors: Alan Meds vs. PlexusDx

Pricing transparency

PlexusDx: One published rate per tier, same price every dose, no promotional-to-standard jump. The $189 month-to-month figure or $149 six-month figure is the actual recurring charge.

Alan Meds: Conflicting official sources, promotional structures with unclear ongoing terms, tirzepatide pricing undisclosed. Patients must verify final cost at checkout and confirm refill pricing before committing.

Medication options

PlexusDx: Compounded semaglutide injection, compounded tirzepatide injection, oral semaglutide capsules, oral tirzepatide capsules, and a microdose semaglutide injection maintenance protocol. All pricing published.

Alan Meds: Compounded semaglutide injection (pricing conflict documented), compounded tirzepatide injection (pricing undisclosed), oral semaglutide option mentioned but pricing not captured in our September 4 research.

Commitment flexibility

PlexusDx: Month-to-month option available at $189 (semaglutide) or $289 (tirzepatide). Discounts for 3-month and 6-month commitments, but no lock-in required.

Alan Meds: The buy-one-get-one offer requires $315 upfront for two months. The $297/$397 path appears monthly but refill terms and cancellation policies were not documented in available sources.

Review and reliability

PlexusDx holds a 4.2-star rating on Trustpilot, with 76% of reviews at five stars and 81% at four stars or higher (captured September 4, 2026). Alan Meds maintains a Trustpilot profile, but rating and review volume were not captured in this research cycle, so we cannot compare patient-reported service quality or fulfillment reliability at this time.

Choose Alan Meds if…

  • You land on the buy-one-get-one promotional page, the $158 effective monthly rate for two months fits your trial budget, and you confirm the post-promotion refill rate before purchasing.
  • You prefer a provider you've researched independently and are comfortable verifying final pricing during intake or at checkout.
  • The specific clinical team or patient portal features align with your preferences, separate from pricing considerations.

If you choose Alan Meds, we recommend contacting support before purchase to confirm: (1) which pricing structure applies to your account, (2) the exact ongoing refill rate after any promotional period, (3) cancellation terms, and (4) tirzepatide cost if you may want that option later.

Choose PlexusDx if…

  • You want one published price with no promotional-to-refill jump—$189/month month-to-month for semaglutide injection, or $149/month on a 6-month commitment.
  • Transparent cost planning matters: you can calculate your exact 12-month spend before starting intake.
  • You value same-price-at-every-dose simplicity as your clinician adjusts your protocol.
  • You want a provider that publishes pricing for all medication options (semaglutide injection, tirzepatide injection, oral capsules, microdose maintenance) so you can compare routes and compounds without gating information behind intake.
  • You prefer a single flat rate that equals the ongoing rate—no math required to find the "real" cost.

PlexusDx's month-to-month semaglutide injection costs $200 less per month than Alan Meds' documented $297/$397 structure over a 12-month period, and the 6-month commitment rate saves an additional $40 per month ($240 per month total savings vs. Alan Meds scenario B). Every plan includes the provider visit, medication, and shipping; no membership fee.

Methodology and freshness

This comparison uses pricing and service data captured September 4, 2026 (Alan Meds) and July 17–23, 2026 (PlexusDx), verified from official website pages, with URLs and timestamps on file. The Alan Meds pricing conflict is documented from two official alanmeds.com pages captured at 13:49:55 UTC on September 4, 2026: the primary compounded semaglutide medication page (displaying the $315 BOGO offer) and an official resource article about tirzepatide supply (stating $297 first month, $397 monthly thereafter).

Our verification process for Alan Meds did not submit payment or complete checkout; final pricing at purchase may differ, and we cannot determine which structure a given patient would encounter or whether both offers run concurrently. The pricing conflict is reported exactly as found.

12-month cost totals and effective monthly rates are our calculation, derived from the documented per-month figures by multiplying the stated rate by the number of months and dividing by 12 where applicable. PlexusDx pricing reflects published rates verified in July 2026 and confirmed current as of September 5, 2026.

Alan Meds tirzepatide injection pricing was not disclosed on the website during capture; that line is reported as unavailable for comparison. Review data for Alan Meds was not fully captured in this research cycle.

No patient outcomes, eligibility, medication type, dose, or side-effect experience is guaranteed by any provider. A licensed clinician reviews individual patient fit during the intake process.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which Alan Meds price is correct: the $315 BOGO or the $297/$397 structure?

Both figures appeared on official Alan Meds pages on September 4, 2026, but they represent incompatible offers. We cannot determine which applies to a new patient without completing checkout. Contact Alan Meds support before purchasing to confirm which structure applies to your account and what the ongoing refill rate will be after any promotional period ends.

Why does Alan Meds show conflicting pricing on different pages?

The reason is not disclosed in public documentation. Possible explanations include concurrent A/B testing, regional or cohort-targeted promotions, or outdated content not yet removed from the website. The conflict illustrates why confirming final pricing at checkout is essential before committing to a multi-month treatment program.

Is PlexusDx semaglutide really $189 every month, or does the price increase later?

PlexusDx month-to-month semaglutide injection is $189 per month ongoing—the published rate is the refill rate. There is no first-month discount that reverts to a higher price, and the rate does not change as your clinician adjusts your dose. The 3-month and 6-month commitment tiers ($169/month and $149/month respectively) also hold steady for the commitment term and any continuation.

Can I switch from semaglutide to tirzepatide mid-treatment with either provider?

Switching medications requires a clinical review by a licensed provider, who evaluates your progress, tolerance, and goals. PlexusDx publishes tirzepatide pricing ($289 month-to-month, $269 three-month, $249 six-month) so you can anticipate the cost difference before requesting a switch. Alan Meds does not publish tirzepatide pricing, so you would need to inquire during treatment to learn the cost of changing compounds.

Do compounded semaglutide injections work like branded semaglutide medications?

Compounded semaglutide uses semaglutide as the active ingredient, the same molecule found in FDA-approved branded medications, but compounded formulations are not FDA-approved and are not evaluated by FDA for safety, effectiveness, or quality before marketing. Compounded medications are prepared by licensed pharmacies under a provider's prescription. They are not interchangeable with branded FDA-approved drugs, and a licensed clinician determines appropriateness for each patient based on individual health factors and medication availability.

Sources

  • PlexusDx semaglutide injection pricing and service terms, verified July 17–23, 2026 and confirmed current September 5, 2026
  • Alan Meds compounded semaglutide BOGO promotional offer, https://www.alanmeds.com/medications/personalized-compounded-semaglutide, captured September 4, 2026 13:49:55 UTC
  • Alan Meds first-month/refill pricing structure ($297/$397), https://www.alanmeds.com/resource/tirzepatide-supply-update, captured September 4, 2026 13:49:55 UTC
  • PlexusDx Trustpilot rating (4.2 stars, 76% five-star, 81% four-star or higher), captured September 4, 2026
  • PlexusDx tirzepatide injection pricing, verified July 17–23, 2026

Ready for transparent semaglutide pricing with no refill surprises?

One all-inclusive price covers your online provider visit, prescription, medication, and shipping—no membership, no hidden fees. Complete a short intake and a licensed provider reviews your fit.

Start My Intake →

Compounded medication disclosure: Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient. PlexusDx works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies.

Medical and Editorial Standards

Medical review process: This article was reviewed for medical accuracy, scientific clarity, evidence alignment, and appropriate discussion of genetics, medications, supplements, biomarkers, and health-related claims.

Sources and evidence: PlexusDx educational content is developed using peer-reviewed research, clinical literature, reputable medical references, and, where applicable, public health or regulatory guidance. References are included at the end of the article when scientific, medical, or health-related claims are discussed.

Commercial transparency: PlexusDx offers genetic testing, blood biomarker testing, personalized supplement recommendations, and related precision wellness services. Product mentions are intended to help readers understand available options and should not be interpreted as medical advice.

Important disclaimer: PlexusDx educational content is for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before making decisions about medications, supplements, genetic testing, lab testing, or health-related care.

Real prescribers. Published prices. No surprises.

Licensed providers in all 50 states. Online intake. No insurance, no membership required.

Start My Intake

~60 seconds · $0 charged until your provider approves