Last reviewed: September 21, 2026 Last updated: September 21, 2026

Written by: Jay Hastings, CEO of PlexusDx

Jay Hastings is the CEO of PlexusDx, a precision health company focused on genetic testing, blood biomarker insights, and personalized wellness recommendations. He has more than 20 years of experience across healthcare innovation, genomics, laboratory operations, healthcare investing, and strategic finance. His work has included scaling healthcare startups, leading CLIA lab integrations, and helping expand consumer access to precision health tools.

Medically reviewed by: Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA

Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA, is the PlexusDx Medical Science Liaison with a PharmD and MBA specializing in pharmacogenomics and clinical product development, with a proven ability to bridge the gap between genomic research and practical patient outcomes. Dr. Lee has more than 10 years of professional experience in clinical pharmacy, academia, and research.

PlexusDx publishes this comparison and is one of the providers discussed. We use the same evidence rules for our own program and competing programs.

The short answer

Alan Meds' official product pages describe a buy-one-get-one promotional offer ($315 prepaid for two months of compounded semaglutide, or an introductory rate of $158/month effective that then moves to an ongoing rate not explicitly stated on the BOGO page) and an older pricing structure ($297 first month, then $397 for refills), but neither source—nor any other captured official resource—addresses whether the monthly subscription price changes when a patient's GLP-1 dose is titrated upward during maintenance therapy. Without a published dose-tier pricing table, FAQ language about dose-based pricing, or documented customer reports tied to dose escalation, the question cannot be answered from available evidence. This review documents what is known about Alan Meds' pricing structures, highlights the gaps in publicly available policy information, and contrasts that opacity with providers that publish explicit flat-rate-at-every-dose policies.

Need predictable GLP-1 costs through every dose tier?

Compare flat-rate programs that publish dose-escalation guarantees alongside pay-per-tier models.

Explore weight-management protocols →

What the evidence shows

Alan Meds' primary semaglutide product page advertises a buy-one-get-one offer: $315 prepaid covers two months of compounded semaglutide injection, yielding an introductory rate of $158/month effective, with the ongoing refill rate after the promotional period not stated on that page. An older official resource page states pricing as "$297 first month then $397," suggesting a different cohort or superseded offer. Both structures were captured September 4, 2026, from alanmeds.com. The conflict creates ambiguity about which rate applies to new patients and what happens after the initial promotional period ends, but neither source mentions dose levels, milligram tiers, or titration schedules. Tirzepatide pricing requires completion of intake; no public checkout figure was captured.

A search of Alan Meds' FAQ pages, medication information sections, and indexed blog posts yielded no statements about dose-based pricing, dose-escalation policy, or whether monthly cost remains constant when a patient moves from 0.25 mg to 0.5 mg, 1.0 mg, or maintenance doses of semaglutide or tirzepatide. The absence of explicit policy language means patients considering Alan Meds should confirm dose-escalation pricing directly at intake or with customer support before committing to the initial subscription.

PlexusDx dose policy

PlexusDx publishes an explicit same-price-at-every-dose guarantee: compounded semaglutide injection costs $189/month month-to-month, $169/month on a three-month plan, or $149/month on a six-month plan, regardless of whether the patient is prescribed 0.25 mg, 0.5 mg, 1.0 mg, or a higher maintenance dose. Compounded tirzepatide injection follows the same flat-rate structure at $289/month month-to-month, $269/month three-month, or $249/month six-month. No membership fees, no per-visit charges, and no hidden dose-tier surcharges apply. Medication, provider access, and shipping are included in the published rates. (PlexusDx, plexusdx.com, captured September 21, 2026.)

Provider Medication Advertised Rate Refill / Standard Rate Published Dose-Escalation Policy
Alan Meds Compounded semaglutide injection Introductory $158/mo effective (BOGO: $315 prepaid for 2 months) Conflicting evidence: older page shows $397/mo; BOGO continuation rate not stated None found in official sources
PlexusDx Compounded semaglutide injection $189/mo (MTM), $169/mo (3-mo), $149/mo (6-mo) Same rate month-to-month; plan pricing remains constant on renewal Explicit: same price at every dose

Alan Meds figures captured September 4, 2026, from alanmeds.com; PlexusDx figures captured September 21, 2026, from plexusdx.com. BOGO effective rate is our calculation ($315 ÷ 2). Dose-escalation policies reported exactly as stated (or omitted) in official sources.

12-month cost comparison: what the available evidence permits

Because Alan Meds' official sources conflict and neither describes what happens after the initial promotional period, any 12-month estimate requires assumptions. If a patient uses the buy-one-get-one offer ($315 for two months) and then pays the older $397/month refill rate for the remaining ten months, total cost would be $315 + (10 × $397) = $4,285, or approximately $357/month average—our calculation combining two separate advertised figures. If the older $297 first month / $397 refill structure applies instead, 12 months total $297 + (11 × $397) = $4,664, or approximately $389/month average. Both scenarios assume no dose-tier surcharges; if Alan Meds does charge more at higher doses, actual cost would exceed these estimates.

PlexusDx compounded semaglutide injection on the month-to-month plan costs 12 × $189 = $2,268 over one year, or $189/month average. On two consecutive six-month commitments at $149/month, the same year totals 2 × (6 × $149) = $1,788, or $149/month average. Because PlexusDx publishes a same-price-at-every-dose guarantee, these figures hold whether the patient remains at 0.25 mg or titrates to 2.4 mg maintenance.

Scenario 12-Month Total Avg Monthly Assumptions
Alan Meds BOGO + $397 refill $4,285 ≈$357/mo BOGO ($315 for mo 1–2), then $397/mo × 10; no dose surcharges
Alan Meds $297 first / $397 refill $4,664 ≈$389/mo Older advertised structure; no dose surcharges
PlexusDx semaglutide (MTM) $2,268 $189/mo Month-to-month plan; same price at every dose
PlexusDx semaglutide (6-mo × 2) $1,788 $149/mo Two six-month commitments; same price at every dose

All 12-month totals and averages are our calculations. Alan Meds scenarios combine separate advertised rates and assume no additional dose-tier charges; actual cost may differ if dose-based pricing applies or if the BOGO continuation rate differs from $397. PlexusDx figures use published plan rates that apply uniformly across all prescribed doses.

Lock in $189/month semaglutide—guaranteed at every dose

A licensed provider reviews your intake and confirms fit; no surprise surcharges when your prescription advances.

Start My 60-Second Intake →

About 60 seconds · $0 charged until provider approval.

Why dose-escalation pricing matters

Standard GLP-1 therapy follows a gradual titration protocol: patients begin at a low dose—often 0.25 mg weekly for semaglutide—and escalate every four weeks until reaching the maintenance dose that balances efficacy and tolerability, typically 1.0 mg to 2.4 mg for semaglutide or 5 mg to 15 mg for tirzepatide. If a provider charges per milligram or uses dose-tier pricing, a patient's monthly cost can double or triple over the first three to five months of treatment, even though the subscription never changes. Programs that publish flat-rate-at-every-dose policies eliminate that uncertainty; programs that remain silent on dose-escalation pricing leave patients unable to forecast true long-term cost until after enrollment.

Alan Meds' advertised rates describe introductory and refill structures but provide no information about whether those rates apply uniformly across all prescribed doses. Patients who value budget predictability during titration should confirm the dose-pricing policy directly with Alan Meds before committing, or consider alternatives that publish explicit same-price guarantees.

Strengths and gaps in transparency

Alan Meds

Strengths: The buy-one-get-one offer delivers a lower introductory rate ($158/month effective for the first two months, prepaid) than many competitor introductory prices, and all-inclusive billing (consult, medication, shipping) simplifies checkout. No membership fees apply. Compounded semaglutide and oral semaglutide options are advertised.

Gaps: Official product pages conflict—one shows the BOGO structure, another cites $297 first month then $397—and neither explains which cohort each applies to or what happens after the promotional period ends. Most critically, no captured source addresses dose-tier pricing or dose-escalation policy, leaving patients unable to forecast costs beyond the initial offer. Tirzepatide pricing remains behind intake. The lack of published dose-escalation language is a transparency gap that competitors with explicit flat-rate guarantees do not share.

PlexusDx

Strengths: Published same-price-at-every-dose policy eliminates dose-tier uncertainty. Month-to-month semaglutide at $189 sits below Alan Meds' $397 standard refill figure (where documented), and the six-month plan ($149/month) undercuts both Alan Meds scenarios over 12 months. No membership fees, and pricing remains transparent across dose escalation. Trustpilot rating of 4.3 stars, with 83% of reviews four stars or higher, reflects service consistency (captured September 9, 2026, trustpilot.com/review/plexusdx.com).

Gaps: Multi-month plans require upfront commitment; month-to-month flexibility costs $40/month more than the six-month rate. No buy-one-get-one or first-month discount structure to lower entry cost.

Choose Alan Meds if…

  • The introductory rate of $158/month effective during the first two months (via the $315 BOGO prepay) fits your trial budget and you are comfortable confirming dose-escalation pricing and post-promotional rates directly with the provider before committing.
  • You prefer all-inclusive semaglutide injection or oral semaglutide without membership fees, and transparency about dose-tier pricing is less critical than introductory cost.

Choose PlexusDx if…

  • Budget predictability during GLP-1 titration is a priority and you want a published same-price-at-every-dose guarantee that holds whether you are prescribed 0.25 mg or 2.4 mg semaglutide.
  • You value one-year cost certainty: $2,268 total on the month-to-month plan or $1,788 on two six-month cycles, with no risk of dose-tier surcharges mid-treatment.
  • You want a provider with a documented Trustpilot profile (4.3 stars, 83% four stars or higher) and transparent all-inclusive pricing—medication, provider access, and shipping—published on the product page.

Methodology and freshness

Alan Meds pricing, plan structures, and official product-page content were captured September 4, 2026, from alanmeds.com/medications/personalized-compounded-semaglutide and alanmeds.com/resource/tirzepatide-supply-update. A systematic search of Alan Meds FAQ, blog, and medication-information pages was conducted September 4, 2026; no dose-tier pricing policy or dose-escalation language was identified in indexed sources. PlexusDx pricing and dose policy were captured September 21, 2026, from plexusdx.com and confirmed against live product pages. PlexusDx Trustpilot rating was captured September 9, 2026, from trustpilot.com/review/plexusdx.com. All 12-month cost totals and monthly averages are our calculations, applying the documented rates under the stated assumptions. Effective rates (e.g., $158/month for the BOGO offer) are our calculations dividing total prepaid cost by the number of months covered. Readers should confirm current pricing, dose-escalation policies, cancellation terms, and any promotional-offer continuation rates directly with each provider at checkout; plan structures and promotional offers may change after publication.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Alan Meds publish dose-tier pricing for semaglutide or tirzepatide?

No. Official product pages captured September 4, 2026, describe introductory and refill rate structures but contain no statements about whether monthly cost changes when a patient's prescribed dose increases during titration. Confirm dose-escalation pricing directly with Alan Meds before enrollment.

What is Alan Meds' current advertised semaglutide rate?

The primary product page advertises a buy-one-get-one offer: $315 prepaid for two months of compounded semaglutide injection, or an introductory rate of $158/month effective (our calculation). An older official page shows $297 first month then $397 refill. The sources conflict; confirm applicable rate at intake.

Does PlexusDx charge more when my GLP-1 dose increases?

No. PlexusDx publishes an explicit same-price-at-every-dose policy: compounded semaglutide injection costs $189/month month-to-month, $169/month three-month, or $149/month six-month, regardless of prescribed milligram level. No dose-tier surcharges, membership fees, or per-visit charges apply.

How much does 12 months of semaglutide cost with each provider?

Assuming Alan Meds' BOGO offer followed by the older $397 refill rate and no dose surcharges, 12 months total approximately $4,285 (our calculation). PlexusDx month-to-month totals $2,268; two six-month plans total $1,788. PlexusDx figures hold at every prescribed dose; Alan Meds' actual cost may differ if dose-based pricing applies.

Can I cancel my Alan Meds or PlexusDx subscription without penalty?

PlexusDx month-to-month plans carry no contract; multi-month commitments require completion of the chosen term. Alan Meds cancellation and refund terms were not documented in captured sources; confirm cancellation policy and any prepayment obligations directly with Alan Meds before subscribing.

Sources

  • Alan Meds, Personalized Compounded Semaglutide product page, alanmeds.com/medications/personalized-compounded-semaglutide, accessed September 4, 2026.
  • Alan Meds, Tirzepatide Supply Update resource page, alanmeds.com/resource/tirzepatide-supply-update, accessed September 4, 2026.
  • PlexusDx, Semaglutide Injection product page and dose-policy statement, plexusdx.com, accessed September 21, 2026.
  • Trustpilot, PlexusDx profile, trustpilot.com/review/plexusdx.com, accessed September 9, 2026.

Ready for transparent GLP-1 pricing at every dose?

One all-inclusive price covers your online provider visit, prescription, medication, and shipping—no membership, no hidden fees. Complete a short intake and a licensed provider reviews your fit.

Start My Intake →

Compounded medication disclosure: Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. PlexusDx works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient.

Medical and Editorial Standards

Medical review process: This article was reviewed for medical accuracy, scientific clarity, evidence alignment, and appropriate discussion of genetics, medications, supplements, biomarkers, and health-related claims.

Sources and evidence: PlexusDx educational content is developed using peer-reviewed research, clinical literature, reputable medical references, and, where applicable, public health or regulatory guidance. References are included at the end of the article when scientific, medical, or health-related claims are discussed.

Commercial transparency: PlexusDx offers genetic testing, blood biomarker testing, personalized supplement recommendations, and related precision wellness services. Product mentions are intended to help readers understand available options and should not be interpreted as medical advice.

Important disclaimer: PlexusDx educational content is for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before making decisions about medications, supplements, genetic testing, lab testing, or health-related care.

Real prescribers. Published prices. No surprises.

Licensed providers in all 50 states. Online intake. No insurance, no membership required.

Start My Intake

~60 seconds · $0 charged until your provider approves