Last reviewed: September 19, 2026
Last updated: September 19, 2026
Written by: Jay Hastings, CEO of PlexusDx
Jay Hastings is the CEO of PlexusDx, a precision health company focused on genetic testing, blood biomarker insights, and personalized wellness recommendations. He has more than 20 years of experience across healthcare innovation, genomics, laboratory operations, healthcare investing, and strategic finance. His work has included scaling healthcare startups, leading CLIA lab integrations, and helping expand consumer access to precision health tools.
Medically reviewed by: Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA
Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA, is the PlexusDx Medical Science Liaison with a PharmD and MBA specializing in pharmacogenomics and clinical product development, with a proven ability to bridge the gap between genomic research and practical patient outcomes. Dr. Lee has more than 10 years of professional experience in clinical pharmacy, academia, and research.
PlexusDx publishes this comparison and is one of the providers discussed. We use the same evidence rules for our own program and competing programs.
The short answer
Alan Meds' official website presents two conflicting pricing structures for compounded semaglutide as of September 4, 2026. The first advertises a buy-one-get-one promotional offer—$315 upfront for two months, followed by $397 monthly refills. The second lists a first-month rate of $297, then $397 refills. Under the BOGO structure, the effective monthly average over 12 months is $357.08; under the introductory structure, it rises to $388.67. Both figures are our calculations and assume continuation on standard refills after the promotional period. By comparison, PlexusDx charges $189 per month for compounded semaglutide injection on a month-to-month basis with no promotional gating—$168.08 less per month than Alan Meds' BOGO average—or $149 per month on a six-month prepaid commitment. Readers should confirm Alan Meds' current offer and billing cadence at checkout, as the official-page conflict leaves the active pricing model uncertain.
At-a-glance comparison
| Feature |
Alan Meds BOGO |
Alan Meds Intro |
PlexusDx MTM |
PlexusDx 6-mo |
| Promotional period |
2 months at $158/mo (prepaid $315) |
1 month at $297 |
None |
None |
| Standard refill |
$397/month |
$397/month |
$189/month |
$149/month (prepaid) |
| Upfront commitment |
$315 (2 months) |
$297 (1 month) |
$189 (1 month) |
$894 (6 months) |
| 12-month total (our calculation) |
$4,285 |
$4,664 |
$2,268 |
$1,788 |
| Effective monthly average (our calculation) |
$357.08 |
$388.67 |
$189 |
$149 |
| Membership fee |
$0 |
$0 |
$0 |
$0 |
| Dose escalation charges |
Not disclosed |
Not disclosed |
Same price every dose |
Same price every dose |
| Evidence status |
Official-page conflict (captured 2026-09-04) |
Verified (captured 2026-07-17–23) |
All Alan Meds figures captured September 4, 2026 from official pages (alanmeds.com/medications/personalized-compounded-semaglutide and alanmeds.com/resource/tirzepatide-supply-update). PlexusDx figures captured July 17–23, 2026 from plexusdx.com. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient.
The pricing conflict and what it means for buyers
Alan Meds maintains two different official pages that describe two distinct pricing models for compounded semaglutide injection. The personalized-compounded-semaglutide product page advertises a buy-one-get-one promotion: pay $315 upfront and receive a two-month supply, then continue at $397 per month thereafter. A separate resource page—published in the context of a tirzepatide supply update—states a first-month price of $297 followed by $397 monthly refills. Both pages were live and accessible as of September 4, 2026. Neither page clarifies which offer is current, whether the two structures overlap, or whether a customer can choose between them.
This conflict matters because the two models produce meaningfully different economics. The BOGO structure front-loads savings into the first two months, yielding an effective rate of $158 per month during that window (our calculation, prepaid). The introductory model spreads the discount across only the first month. Over a 12-month horizon, the BOGO structure costs $4,285 in total—an average of $357.08 per month—while the introductory structure costs $4,664, or $388.67 per month on average (both our calculations, assuming standard $397 refills after the promotional period). The $379 difference over a year stems entirely from the BOGO model's steeper initial discount and the extra month of promotional pricing.
We cannot resolve the conflict from public evidence. Readers considering Alan Meds should confirm at checkout which pricing structure applies, whether both remain active, and whether any selection or eligibility criteria govern access to the BOGO offer. The analysis below proceeds under the assumption that the BOGO structure represents the best-case scenario and the introductory structure the fallback, but individual results may differ.
Normalized 12-month cost breakdown
To compare month-to-month and prepaid economics fairly, we calculate total cost over 12 months under each structure and express the result as an effective monthly average. All figures below are our calculations unless otherwise noted.
Alan Meds buy-one-get-one structure
-
Months 1–2: $315 total (prepaid, averaging $158/month)
-
Months 3–12: 10 refills at $397 each = $3,970
-
12-month total: $315 + $3,970 = $4,285
-
Effective monthly average: $4,285 ÷ 12 = $357.08
Alan Meds introductory structure
-
Month 1: $297
-
Months 2–12: 11 refills at $397 each = $4,367
-
12-month total: $297 + $4,367 = $4,664
-
Effective monthly average: $4,664 ÷ 12 = $388.67
PlexusDx semaglutide injection, month-to-month
-
Every month: $189
-
12-month total: 12 × $189 = $2,268
-
Effective monthly average: $189
PlexusDx semaglutide injection, six-month prepaid
-
Every month: $149 (prepaid, requires six-month commitment)
-
12-month total: 12 × $149 = $1,788
-
Effective monthly average: $149 (prepaid)
Under the best-case Alan Meds scenario—the BOGO structure—the effective monthly cost over a year is $357.08, or $168.08 more per month than PlexusDx's month-to-month rate and $208.08 more than PlexusDx's six-month prepaid rate. The introductory structure widens those gaps to $199.67 and $239.67 respectively. Over 12 months, the BOGO structure costs $2,017 more than PlexusDx month-to-month and $2,497 more than PlexusDx six-month prepaid (our calculations). The introductory structure costs $2,396 and $2,876 more respectively.
See if you qualify for $189/month semaglutide—no promotional gating
A licensed provider reviews your intake and determines whether a prescription is appropriate.
Start My 60-Second Intake →About 60 seconds · $0 charged until provider approval.
Decision factors: promotional savings vs ongoing predictability
The Alan Meds BOGO offer delivers tangible savings in months one and two—$158 per month effective versus the $397 standard refill rate. For a buyer certain they will remain on treatment for only two or three months, the BOGO structure could minimize total cost, though even in that window PlexusDx's $189 month-to-month rate remains lower on a per-month basis ($378 for two months at PlexusDx vs $315 for two months at Alan Meds under BOGO). The BOGO advantage evaporates by month three, when refills revert to $397 and the cumulative cost begins to climb steeply relative to flat-rate alternatives.
PlexusDx eliminates promotional complexity entirely. The month-to-month rate is $189 from the first prescription forward, with no price increase at refill and no difference in cost by dose level. A six-month prepaid commitment reduces the effective rate to $149 per month—$208.08 less than Alan Meds' BOGO average over 12 months—but requires a $894 upfront payment. The month-to-month option carries no prepayment obligation and still costs $168.08 less per month on average than the Alan Meds BOGO structure over a year.
Dose escalation economics also differ. Alan Meds does not publicly disclose whether the $397 refill rate applies uniformly across all semaglutide dose tiers or whether higher doses carry surcharges. PlexusDx publishes a same-price-every-dose policy, so a patient who escalates from 0.25 mg to 2.4 mg pays $189 per month throughout (month-to-month) or $149 per month (six-month prepaid). For buyers who anticipate dose increases, this structure removes a source of billing uncertainty.
Where tirzepatide data is missing
Alan Meds offers both compounded semaglutide and compounded tirzepatide, but tirzepatide pricing is not published on the website; the company requires intake completion to disclose cost. PlexusDx publishes tirzepatide injection pricing at $289 per month (month-to-month), $269 per month (three-month prepaid), and $249 per month (six-month prepaid), with the same flat-rate-every-dose policy that applies to semaglutide. Without Alan Meds tirzepatide figures, we cannot perform a like-for-like comparison on that compound. Readers interested in tirzepatide should request a quote from Alan Meds during intake and compare it against the published PlexusDx rates at that time.
Choose Alan Meds if…
- You are certain you will use compounded semaglutide for only two months and want to minimize cost in that narrow window, and you confirm at checkout that the BOGO offer is active and applies to your order.
- You prefer a provider whose promotional structures are fluid and you are comfortable navigating pricing conflicts or waiting for intake-stage clarification.
Choose PlexusDx if…
- You want a single published rate that applies from the first month forward, with no promotional period followed by a refill price increase.
- You plan to remain on treatment for six months or longer and want to lock in the lowest effective monthly cost through a prepaid commitment.
- You value the ability to compare all pricing—including tirzepatide—before starting intake, and you want dose escalation to carry no additional per-month charge.
- You prefer a provider with a verified 4.3-star Trustpilot rating (79% five-star, 83% four-star or higher, captured September 9, 2026; trustpilot.com/review/plexusdx.com) and transparent evidence-based content practices.
Methodology and freshness
All Alan Meds pricing captured September 4, 2026 from official company pages at alanmeds.com/medications/personalized-compounded-semaglutide and alanmeds.com/resource/tirzepatide-supply-update. The conflict between the two pages is a documented fact; both pages were accessible on that date. PlexusDx pricing captured July 17–23, 2026 from plexusdx.com. Trustpilot ratings captured September 9, 2026 from trustpilot.com/review/plexusdx.com. Twelve-month totals, effective monthly averages, and cost differences are our calculations based on the pricing structures described above. We assumed continuation on standard $397 monthly refills after Alan Meds' promotional periods ended, as no alternative refill structure is documented. Readers should confirm current pricing and billing cadence at checkout, as promotional offers and page content may change.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which Alan Meds pricing structure is actually available right now?
As of September 4, 2026, two official Alan Meds pages presented conflicting offers—a buy-one-get-one deal at $315 for two months, and a first-month rate of $297 followed by $397 refills. We cannot determine from public evidence which structure is current or whether both remain active. Confirm the applicable offer and billing cadence during checkout.
Does the Alan Meds BOGO offer beat PlexusDx pricing in the short term?
Over exactly two months, Alan Meds' BOGO structure costs $315 total, versus $378 at PlexusDx's $189 month-to-month rate—a $63 difference. By month three, however, Alan Meds charges $397 per refill, and cumulative cost overtakes PlexusDx. Over 12 months, the BOGO structure costs $4,285 versus $2,268 at PlexusDx month-to-month (our calculations).
Does PlexusDx charge more when I increase my semaglutide dose?
No. PlexusDx publishes a same-price-every-dose policy: $189 per month on month-to-month billing or $149 per month on a six-month prepaid commitment, regardless of whether you are taking 0.25 mg or 2.4 mg per week. Dose escalation carries no additional per-month charge.
Can I prepay for multiple months with Alan Meds to lower my effective rate?
The only multi-month prepaid structure we found documented for Alan Meds is the two-month BOGO offer at $315. No three-month, six-month, or annual prepaid options are published on the official website. Buyers interested in longer prepaid commitments should ask during intake whether such plans exist.
What happens if I need to stop treatment after one month with PlexusDx?
PlexusDx's month-to-month plan carries no long-term commitment. You pay $189 for the first month and can discontinue at any time. The six-month prepaid option requires a $894 upfront payment and a six-month commitment; early discontinuation terms should be confirmed before purchase.
Sources
- Alan Meds official pricing pages: alanmeds.com/medications/personalized-compounded-semaglutide and alanmeds.com/resource/tirzepatide-supply-update (accessed September 4, 2026)
- PlexusDx weight-management pricing: plexusdx.com (accessed July 17–23, 2026)
- PlexusDx Trustpilot profile: trustpilot.com/review/plexusdx.com (accessed September 9, 2026)
- Alan Meds Trustpilot profile: trustpilot.com/review/alanmeds.com (accessed September 4, 2026)
Ready to start at a flat $189 per month with no promotional gating?
One all-inclusive price covers your online provider visit, prescription, medication, and shipping—no membership, no hidden fees. Complete a short intake and a licensed provider reviews your fit.
Start My Intake →
Compounded medication disclosure: Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient. PlexusDx works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies.
Medical and Editorial Standards
Medical review process: This article was reviewed for medical accuracy, scientific clarity, evidence alignment, and appropriate discussion of genetics, medications, supplements, biomarkers, and health-related claims.
Sources and evidence: PlexusDx educational content is developed using peer-reviewed research, clinical literature, reputable medical references, and, where applicable, public health or regulatory guidance. References are included at the end of the article when scientific, medical, or health-related claims are discussed.
Commercial transparency: PlexusDx offers genetic testing, blood biomarker testing, personalized supplement recommendations, and related precision wellness services. Product mentions are intended to help readers understand available options and should not be interpreted as medical advice.
Important disclaimer: PlexusDx educational content is for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before making decisions about medications, supplements, genetic testing, lab testing, or health-related care.
Share:
10Rx Prepaid vs PlexusDx: Which GLP-1 Plan Costs Less in 2026?
AltRx Monthly vs Prepaid Plans: Which Option Costs Less Over Time?