Last reviewed: September 17, 2026 Last updated: September 17, 2026

Written by: Jay Hastings, CEO of PlexusDx

Jay Hastings is the CEO of PlexusDx, a precision health company focused on genetic testing, blood biomarker insights, and personalized wellness recommendations. He has more than 20 years of experience across healthcare innovation, genomics, laboratory operations, healthcare investing, and strategic finance. His work has included scaling healthcare startups, leading CLIA lab integrations, and helping expand consumer access to precision health tools.

Medically reviewed by: Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA

Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA, is the PlexusDx Medical Science Liaison with a PharmD and MBA specializing in pharmacogenomics and clinical product development, with a proven ability to bridge the gap between genomic research and practical patient outcomes. Dr. Lee has more than 10 years of professional experience in clinical pharmacy, academia, and research.

PlexusDx publishes this comparison and is one of the providers discussed. We use the same evidence rules for our own program and competing programs.

The short answer

PlushCare's advertised membership fee—$19.99 per month after a free 30-day trial—covers platform access and prior-authorization support, but excludes the three largest components of actual patient cost: the initial provider visit ($129), ongoing medication (priced through external pharmacies), and any lab work your provider orders. Over 12 months, membership and one initial visit total $348.89 in service fees (roughly $29 per month), but that figure does not include medication or labs—costs that typically run hundreds of dollars per month depending on your pharmacy, insurance coverage, and the specific branded GLP-1 prescribed (Wegovy, Ozempic, Zepbound, Mounjaro, or Saxenda). PlushCare's model routes prescriptions to external pharmacies rather than supplying medication directly, so final patient cost varies widely and remains uncertain until you reach the pharmacy counter. In contrast, PlexusDx publishes single, all-inclusive monthly prices—$189 month-to-month for compounded semaglutide injection, $289 for compounded tirzepatide injection—that cover your provider visit, prescription, compounded medication, and shipping with no membership fee, no separate visit charge, and no pharmacy markup.

Looking for transparent, all-in GLP-1 pricing?

Compare PlexusDx's flat monthly rates—medication, visits, and shipping included—to layered-fee telehealth models.

Explore Weight Management Protocols →

PlushCare fee structure at a glance

Fee Category PlushCare Cost Notes
Membership (monthly) First 30 days free, then $19.99/month Platform access and prior-authorization support; cancel anytime
Membership (annual) $149/year upfront $12.42/month prepaid equivalent (our calculation)
Initial provider visit $129 (self-pay) Separate charge; not included in membership
Medication Variable Prescription sent to external pharmacy; cost depends on pharmacy pricing and insurance coverage
Lab work Variable Excluded from membership; extra cost if provider orders labs
Shipping N/A Pharmacy-dependent

All PlushCare figures captured September 4, 2026, from plushcare.com/membership and public service pages; intake verification completed without payment submission.

Twelve-month cost: service fees only

PlushCare's membership and visit fees are predictable, but they represent only a fraction of total patient cost. Here's what the service layer costs over 12 months, excluding medication and labs:

Monthly membership path

  • Month 1: $0 membership (free trial) + $129 initial visit = $129
  • Months 2–12: $19.99/month × 11 months = $219.89 (membership only; additional visits billed separately at $129 each if needed)
  • 12-month total: $348.89 for membership plus one initial visit
  • Effective monthly service cost: $29.07/month (our calculation: $348.89 ÷ 12)

Annual membership path

  • Month 1: $149 annual membership prepaid + $129 initial visit = $278
  • 12-month total: $278 for annual membership plus one initial visit
  • Effective monthly service cost: $23.17/month (our calculation: $278 ÷ 12)

The annual membership saves $6 per month in platform fees compared to the monthly plan, but both calculations omit the largest line items: medication (typically $200–$1,400+ per month for branded GLP-1s, depending on pharmacy and insurance) and lab work (cost not specified in PlushCare's published pricing).

See your all-in monthly cost before you commit

A licensed provider reviews your intake and determines fit—no hidden fees, no pharmacy surprises.

Start My 60-Second Intake →

About 60 seconds · $0 charged until provider approval.

What the membership fee does and doesn't cover

PlushCare's membership grants access to the telehealth platform, prior-authorization support for insurance claims, and the ability to book provider visits. It does not include:

  • Provider visits: the initial consultation costs $129; follow-up visit pricing is not specified in the evidence, but each visit typically incurs a separate charge.
  • Medication: PlushCare sends your prescription to an external pharmacy (not stated which pharmacies or whether a preferred network exists), so you pay the pharmacy's retail or insurance-adjusted price for Wegovy, Ozempic, Zepbound, Mounjaro, or Saxenda. Pharmacy pricing for branded GLP-1s varies dramatically—often $200–$400 per month with discount programs like SingleCare or GoodRx, and $1,000+ without insurance or manufacturer coupons.
  • Lab work: if your provider orders baseline or monitoring labs, you pay the lab directly or through your insurance; cost not disclosed in PlushCare's membership terms.
  • Shipping: pharmacy-dependent; some mail-order pharmacies include shipping, others charge separately.

In effect, the $19.99 monthly membership is the smallest predictable component of your total cost. The largest—medication—remains variable until you fill the prescription.

PlexusDx pricing for comparison

PlexusDx publishes single monthly prices that include the provider visit, prescription, compounded medication, and shipping, with no separate membership fee:

Medication & Route Month-to-Month 3-Month Plan (per month, prepaid) 6-Month Plan (per month, prepaid)
Compounded semaglutide injection $189 $169 $149
Compounded tirzepatide injection $289 $269 $249
Compounded semaglutide oral $289 $269 $249
Compounded tirzepatide oral $349 $299 $279
Microdose GLP-1 $129

Compounded medication disclosure: Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient. PlexusDx works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies.

Every PlexusDx price covers your online provider visit, prescription, medication shipped to your door, and ongoing clinical support—no membership fee, no separate visit charge, no pharmacy markup. The month-to-month rate for compounded semaglutide injection ($189) is the most direct comparison to PlushCare's semaglutide-based prescriptions (Wegovy, Ozempic), and the 12-month cost is $2,268 all-in (our calculation: $189 × 12) versus PlushCare's $348.89 in service fees plus 12 months of branded medication and any lab costs.

Strengths and gaps in PlushCare's model

Strengths

  • Branded medications: PlushCare prescribes FDA-approved Wegovy, Ozempic, Zepbound, Mounjaro, and Saxenda. Patients who prefer branded drugs over compounded formulations, or whose insurance covers branded GLP-1s, may see lower out-of-pocket medication costs than the pharmacy's cash price.
  • No minimum commitment: the monthly membership can be canceled anytime, and there is no prepayment requirement.
  • Prior-authorization support: the membership includes help navigating insurance approvals, which can reduce medication cost for patients with coverage.
  • Low barrier to entry: the first 30 days of membership are free, and the $129 initial visit is a one-time charge.

Gaps and uncertainties

  • Unpredictable medication cost: because PlushCare routes prescriptions to external pharmacies, the final medication price is unknown until you fill the script. Branded GLP-1 retail prices often exceed $1,000 per month without insurance or manufacturer savings programs, and discount card pricing varies by pharmacy and geographic region.
  • Lab costs unspecified: if your provider orders labs for baseline screening or ongoing monitoring, you pay the lab separately; PlushCare does not disclose lab pricing or preferred lab networks.
  • Follow-up visit pricing unclear: the evidence documents the $129 initial visit but does not specify the cost of follow-up consultations (which are likely necessary for dose adjustments, side-effect management, and prescription renewals).
  • Multiple billing relationships: you pay PlushCare for membership and visits, a pharmacy for medication, and a lab for any blood work—three separate charges to track and reconcile.
  • No medication included: the monthly membership fee does not bring you closer to receiving medication; it simply keeps the platform accessible. Medication cost is entirely separate.

Choose PlushCare if…

  • You have insurance that covers branded GLP-1 medications (Wegovy, Ozempic, Zepbound, Mounjaro, or Saxenda) and need a telehealth provider to write the prescription and support prior authorization.
  • You prefer FDA-approved branded medications over compounded formulations and are willing to navigate pharmacy pricing variability.
  • You want the flexibility to cancel your membership monthly without a long-term commitment.
  • You have an established relationship with a local or mail-order pharmacy and prefer to fill prescriptions through that channel rather than a provider-integrated pharmacy.
  • You're comfortable managing multiple billing relationships (platform membership, provider visit, pharmacy, lab) and tracking medication cost separately.

Choose PlexusDx if…

  • You want to know your exact monthly cost—medication, visit, and shipping included—before you commit.
  • You prefer a single monthly charge with no separate membership fee, no per-visit billing, and no pharmacy markup.
  • You're paying out-of-pocket and need cost certainty: $189/month for compounded semaglutide injection or $289/month for compounded tirzepatide injection on the month-to-month plan.
  • You value the administrative simplicity of one bill, one provider relationship, and one shipment per month.
  • You're open to compounded GLP-1 medications (which are not FDA-approved but are prepared by licensed 503A compounding pharmacies under a provider's prescription).
  • You want transparent prepaid-plan discounts: the 6-month semaglutide injection plan drops to $149/month, a $480 annual saving versus month-to-month (our calculation: $40/month × 12).

Methodology and freshness

All PlushCare pricing—membership fees (monthly and annual), initial visit cost, free trial period, and exclusions—was captured September 4, 2026, from plushcare.com/membership and public service pages. Intake verification was completed without payment submission to confirm published pricing. Twelve-month cost calculations, effective monthly rates, and prepaid-equivalent figures are our calculations derived from the verified pricing data. Medication and lab costs are described as variable because PlushCare sends prescriptions to external pharmacies and does not publish medication or lab pricing; actual patient cost depends on pharmacy, insurance coverage, and prescribed medication. PlexusDx pricing is current as of the publication date. No promotional codes or discount arithmetic were applied; all figures reflect standard or explicitly labeled introductory rates with verification dates. This article was published September 17, 2026, and will be reviewed if PlushCare updates its membership terms or visit fees.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does PlushCare's monthly membership include medication?

No. PlushCare's $19.99/month membership covers platform access and prior-authorization support but excludes medication, provider visits, and lab work. Medication cost is determined by the external pharmacy that fills your prescription and varies by drug, pharmacy, and insurance coverage.

How much does medication cost through PlushCare?

PlushCare does not publish medication pricing because prescriptions are sent to external pharmacies. Branded GLP-1 medications like Wegovy and Ozempic typically cost $200–$400/month with discount cards (GoodRx, SingleCare) or $1,000+ without insurance or manufacturer coupons. Final cost depends on your pharmacy and coverage.

Is the $129 initial visit fee charged every month?

No. The $129 charge applies to the initial provider consultation. Follow-up visit costs are not specified in PlushCare's published pricing, but telehealth follow-ups typically incur separate per-visit charges if your provider schedules them for dose adjustments or monitoring.

Can I use my insurance with PlushCare?

PlushCare supports insurance for medication coverage and provides prior-authorization assistance as part of the membership. However, the $19.99 membership fee and $129 initial visit are self-pay charges; insurance does not reimburse the platform fees. Medication cost depends on your pharmacy benefit and the specific GLP-1 prescribed.

How does PlexusDx's all-in pricing compare to PlushCare's layered fees?

PlexusDx's $189/month (compounded semaglutide injection, month-to-month) includes the provider visit, prescription, medication, and shipping with no separate membership or visit charge. PlushCare's service fees total $29/month over 12 months (membership + one initial visit, our calculation), but medication and labs are excluded and billed separately by the pharmacy and lab, often adding hundreds per month.

Sources

  • PlushCare Membership Pricing. plushcare.com/membership. Accessed September 4, 2026.
  • PlushCare Weight Loss Program Overview. plushcare.com public service pages. Accessed September 4, 2026.
  • PlexusDx Product Pricing. plexusdx.com. Current as of September 17, 2026.

Ready to see your total monthly cost upfront?

One all-inclusive price covers your online provider visit, prescription, medication, and shipping—no membership, no hidden fees. Complete a short intake and a licensed provider reviews your fit.

Start My Intake →

Compounded medication disclosure: Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient. PlexusDx works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies.

Medical and Editorial Standards

Medical review process: This article was reviewed for medical accuracy, scientific clarity, evidence alignment, and appropriate discussion of genetics, medications, supplements, biomarkers, and health-related claims.

Sources and evidence: PlexusDx educational content is developed using peer-reviewed research, clinical literature, reputable medical references, and, where applicable, public health or regulatory guidance. References are included at the end of the article when scientific, medical, or health-related claims are discussed.

Commercial transparency: PlexusDx offers genetic testing, blood biomarker testing, personalized supplement recommendations, and related precision wellness services. Product mentions are intended to help readers understand available options and should not be interpreted as medical advice.

Important disclaimer: PlexusDx educational content is for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before making decisions about medications, supplements, genetic testing, lab testing, or health-related care.

Real prescribers. Published prices. No surprises.

Licensed providers in all 50 states. Online intake. No insurance, no membership required.

Start My Intake

~60 seconds · $0 charged until your provider approves