Last reviewed: September 24, 2026 Last updated: September 24, 2026

Written by: Jay Hastings, CEO of PlexusDx

Jay Hastings is the CEO of PlexusDx, a precision health company focused on genetic testing, blood biomarker insights, and personalized wellness recommendations. He has more than 20 years of experience across healthcare innovation, genomics, laboratory operations, healthcare investing, and strategic finance. His work has included scaling healthcare startups, leading CLIA lab integrations, and helping expand consumer access to precision health tools.

Medically reviewed by: Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA

Jayden Lee, PharmD, EMBA, is the PlexusDx Medical Science Liaison with a PharmD and MBA specializing in pharmacogenomics and clinical product development, with a proven ability to bridge the gap between genomic research and practical patient outcomes. Dr. Lee has more than 10 years of professional experience in clinical pharmacy, academia, and research.

PlexusDx publishes this comparison and is one of the providers discussed. We use the same evidence rules for our own program and competing programs.

The short answer

LifeMD operates a cancel-anytime model with no contract commitment, and charges are billed monthly. The program uses a two-part billing structure: a Weight Management membership ($39 first-month introductory rate, then $149/month ongoing) and separate medication charges. While LifeMD states members can cancel anytime, the evidence we captured does not specify partial-month refund policies, billing-cycle cutoff deadlines, or first-month guarantee terms. Readers should confirm these details directly with LifeMD at checkout or before initiating service.

Comparing LifeMD's two-part billing to all-inclusive GLP-1 pricing?

PlexusDx bundles provider visit, prescription, medication, and shipping in one monthly price—no separate membership fee.

Compare weight-management protocols →

LifeMD cancellation and billing structure at a glance

Cancellation Term LifeMD Policy Evidence Date
Contract commitment Cancel anytime 2026-09-04
Billing cadence Monthly 2026-09-04
Membership first month $39 (introductory rate) 2026-09-04
Membership ongoing $149/month 2026-09-04
Medication billing Separate charge, varies by medication 2026-09-04
Partial-month refunds Not specified in captured evidence —
Cancellation deadline Not specified in captured evidence —

What "cancel anytime" means in practice

LifeMD's publicly available terms state that members may cancel anytime without a long-term contract. However, two details matter for planning:

  1. Two separate charges: Membership ($149/month after the first month) and medication (prices vary) bill as distinct line items. Canceling one does not automatically cancel the other.
  2. Billing-cycle mechanics: The evidence does not document whether LifeMD refunds unused days if you cancel mid-cycle, or whether cancellation takes effect immediately versus at the next renewal date. Confirming these details before signing up—or before canceling—avoids surprise charges.

Captured pricing as of September 4, 2026, shows the first-month membership introductory rate at $39, then $149/month ongoing. Medication examples include Wegovy pill (semaglutide oral) at $149/month for the 1.5 mg dose and Zepbound vial (tirzepatide injection) starting at $299/month for the starting dose; higher tirzepatide doses may cost more.

Twelve-month cost breakdown: membership, medication, and combined

Understanding the effective monthly cost over a full year—rather than focusing only on the first-month introductory rate—clarifies the financial commitment. All figures below are our calculations based on the pricing and billing structure captured September 4, 2026.

Membership only (no medication)

  • Month 1: $39 (introductory rate)
  • Months 2–12: $149 × 11 = $1,639
  • 12-month total: $1,678 (our calculation)
  • Effective monthly cost: $139.83/month (our calculation)

Membership + Wegovy pill 1.5 mg (semaglutide oral)

  • Month 1: $39 membership (introductory rate) + $149 medication = $188
  • Months 2–12: ($149 + $149) × 11 = $3,278
  • 12-month total: $3,466 (our calculation)
  • Effective monthly cost: $288.83/month (our calculation)

Membership + Zepbound (tirzepatide injection starting dose)

  • Month 1: $39 membership (introductory rate) + $299 medication = $338
  • Months 2–12: ($149 + $299) × 11 = $4,928
  • 12-month total: $5,266 (our calculation)
  • Effective monthly cost: $438.83/month (our calculation)

These calculations assume constant medication pricing each month. Dose adjustments or step-up titration may change the medication charge; LifeMD's evidence notes that higher Zepbound doses vary in price.

PlexusDx for comparison

PlexusDx uses an all-inclusive pricing model: no separate membership fee, and every dose of a given medication costs the same. As of September 24, 2026:

  • Semaglutide injection: $189/month month-to-month, $169/month on a 3-month plan (prepaid $507 total), $149/month on a 6-month plan (prepaid $894 total)
  • Tirzepatide injection: $289/month month-to-month, $269/month on a 3-month plan (prepaid $807 total), $249/month on a 6-month plan (prepaid $1,494 total)

Twelve-month cost at the month-to-month rate:

  • Semaglutide injection: $189 × 12 = $2,268 total, $189/month effective (our calculation)
  • Tirzepatide injection: $289 × 12 = $3,468 total, $289/month effective (our calculation)

PlexusDx holds a 4.3-star rating on Trustpilot, with 79% of reviews at five stars and 83% at four stars or higher (captured September 9, 2026; trustpilot.com/review/plexusdx.com).

See your all-inclusive monthly rate in about 60 seconds

A licensed provider reviews your intake and determines whether a prescription is appropriate for you.

Start My 60-Second Intake →

About 60 seconds · $0 charged until provider approval.

What the evidence does—and does not—tell us about refunds

Our capture of LifeMD's publicly available terms (September 4, 2026) does not document:

  • Whether partial-month membership or medication charges are refundable if you cancel mid-cycle.
  • Whether the first-month $39 introductory rate is guaranteed or subject to satisfaction/refund conditions.
  • The billing-cycle cutoff: for example, whether you must cancel by a certain day of the month to avoid the next charge.

If these details matter to your decision—particularly if you are evaluating LifeMD for short-term use or want to minimize financial risk during an initial trial—ask LifeMD's support team for written clarification before payment.

Renewal mechanics: what happens each month

LifeMD bills monthly, and the two charges (membership and medication) renew on a recurring basis until you cancel. Key points:

  • Separate renewal cycles: Membership and medication may bill on the same date if you start both simultaneously, but they are distinct subscriptions. Pausing medication does not pause membership, and vice versa.
  • Automatic renewal: Both charges continue until you explicitly cancel. There is no automatic end date or re-authorization requirement.
  • First-month pricing is one-time: The $39 introductory membership rate applies only to month one. Month two and every subsequent month bill at $149 for membership (as of September 4, 2026).

Because the evidence does not specify how LifeMD handles dose changes or medication substitutions within a billing cycle, confirm with the provider whether switching from one medication to another (for example, Wegovy to Zepbound) triggers a new cycle or adjusts the current one.

LifeMD strengths: flexibility and FDA-approved medication access

LifeMD's cancel-anytime policy offers scheduling flexibility that multi-month prepaid plans do not. If your weight-management timeline is uncertain—or if you want to trial the service for one or two months before committing to a longer period—monthly billing reduces upfront financial exposure.

LifeMD also provides access to FDA-approved branded medications (Wegovy, Zepbound) in addition to compounded formulations. Patients who prefer brand-name drugs, or whose insurance may cover part of the cost, may find this optionality valuable. (Insurance coverage for weight-loss medications varies widely; confirm your plan's formulary and prior-authorization requirements before assuming coverage.)

LifeMD gaps: two-part billing complexity and limited refund transparency

The separation of membership and medication charges introduces administrative complexity. You pay for clinical access whether or not you fill a prescription that month, and you must manage two cancellation decisions if you want to pause or stop service entirely.

The lack of publicly documented refund terms is a transparency gap. Competing telehealth platforms often publish first-month satisfaction guarantees or specify that charges are non-refundable after a certain point in the billing cycle. LifeMD's silence on these points leaves the refund question open until you ask directly.

Choose LifeMD if…

  • You want access to FDA-approved branded medications (Wegovy, Zepbound) and are willing to pay both membership and medication fees.
  • You prefer monthly billing with no upfront multi-month commitment.
  • You value ongoing clinician access, coaching, and lab support as separate service components included in the membership fee.
  • You are comfortable confirming refund and billing-cycle details directly with the provider before starting.

Where PlexusDx fits: all-inclusive pricing and dose-agnostic cost

PlexusDx bundles the provider visit, prescription, compounded medication, and shipping into a single monthly price. There is no separate membership fee, and every dose of a given compound costs the same—no surprise step-up charges when titrating.

For members using compounded semaglutide injection, PlexusDx's month-to-month rate of $189 compares to LifeMD's combined membership + Wegovy pill cost of approximately $298/month (our calculation: $149 membership + $149 medication). For compounded tirzepatide injection, PlexusDx's month-to-month rate of $289 compares to LifeMD's combined membership + Zepbound starting-dose cost of approximately $448/month (our calculation: $149 membership + $299 medication).

PlexusDx also offers prepaid 3-month and 6-month plans at lower effective monthly rates, with the understanding that prepaid periods are non-refundable. Month-to-month members may pause or cancel without prepayment penalties.

Methodology and freshness

This analysis is based on LifeMD's publicly available pricing and cancellation terms captured September 4, 2026, and PlexusDx pricing captured September 24, 2026. Twelve-month cost totals and effective monthly rates are our calculations, derived by summing the first-month introductory membership rate, ongoing membership charges, and medication charges over a 12-month period, then dividing by twelve. We label every calculated figure as "our calculation."

LifeMD's terms state "cancel anytime," but the evidence does not specify partial-month refund policies, billing-cycle cutoff deadlines, or first-month satisfaction guarantees. Readers should confirm these details with LifeMD directly before purchase. We did not capture quantitative review ratings or volume for LifeMD during this research cycle; LifeMD has a Trustpilot profile, but we have not indexed its rating or negative themes for this article. PlexusDx's Trustpilot rating (4.3 stars, 79% five-star, 83% four-star or higher) was verified September 9, 2026.

Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient. PlexusDx works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does LifeMD require a contract or long-term commitment?

No. LifeMD states members can cancel anytime, and billing is monthly. However, the evidence does not specify billing-cycle cutoff deadlines or partial-month refund policies, so confirm these details with LifeMD before starting service.

If I cancel LifeMD mid-month, do I get a refund for unused days?

The publicly available terms we captured do not address partial-month refunds. Contact LifeMD's support team directly to clarify whether membership or medication charges are prorated or refunded if you cancel before the end of a billing cycle.

What happens to my medication charge if I cancel my LifeMD membership?

Membership and medication bill separately. Canceling membership stops the $149/month recurring charge but does not automatically cancel your medication subscription. You must cancel each component independently if you want to stop both.

How does LifeMD's two-part billing compare to PlexusDx's all-inclusive pricing?

LifeMD charges a separate $149/month membership (after the first month's $39 introductory rate) plus medication fees. PlexusDx bundles provider visit, prescription, medication, and shipping in one monthly price with no separate membership fee, starting at $189/month for compounded semaglutide injection month-to-month.

Can I pause my LifeMD subscription instead of canceling?

The evidence does not document a formal pause option. If you want to stop charges temporarily without losing your account or clinical history, ask LifeMD's support team whether a pause feature exists and how it affects billing for membership versus medication.

Sources

  • LifeMD Weight Management pricing and cancellation terms, accessed September 4, 2026
  • LifeMD publicly available service terms, accessed September 4, 2026
  • PlexusDx pricing and plan terms, accessed September 24, 2026
  • PlexusDx Trustpilot profile (trustpilot.com/review/plexusdx.com), accessed September 9, 2026

Ready to see your all-inclusive monthly rate?

One all-inclusive price covers your online provider visit, prescription, medication, and shipping—no membership, no hidden fees. Complete a short intake and a licensed provider reviews your fit.

Start My Intake →

Compounded medication disclosure: Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. FDA does not review compounded drugs before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. A licensed clinician determines whether a prescription is appropriate for an individual patient. PlexusDx works with licensed 503A compounding pharmacies.

Medical and Editorial Standards

Medical review process: This article was reviewed for medical accuracy, scientific clarity, evidence alignment, and appropriate discussion of genetics, medications, supplements, biomarkers, and health-related claims.

Sources and evidence: PlexusDx educational content is developed using peer-reviewed research, clinical literature, reputable medical references, and, where applicable, public health or regulatory guidance. References are included at the end of the article when scientific, medical, or health-related claims are discussed.

Commercial transparency: PlexusDx offers genetic testing, blood biomarker testing, personalized supplement recommendations, and related precision wellness services. Product mentions are intended to help readers understand available options and should not be interpreted as medical advice.

Important disclaimer: PlexusDx educational content is for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before making decisions about medications, supplements, genetic testing, lab testing, or health-related care.

Real prescribers. Published prices. No surprises.

Licensed providers in all 50 states. Online intake. No insurance, no membership required.

Start My Intake →

~60 seconds · $0 charged until your provider approves